We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to relax and enjoy Serene Villa's!”
Review of Serene Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serene Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We found Serene Villa when searching the internet and looking for a Villa in Seminyak that would supply a temporary pool fence. The piece of mind this gave us with our 2 yr old son was invaluable. We stayed at Palm 2, it was just as their website displayed. The Villa was beautifully furnished, extremely clean and with your own private pool, what more could you ask for. We were welcomed with a fruit basket and complimentary drinks, just what is needed after flying 6 hours with a 2 yr old. Our butler and new friend Sucipta was fantastic. He was friendly and very attentive, cooking up an incredible breakfast every morning, at a time that suited us. Sucipta arranged transport for the trips that we wanted to do, suggested local restaurants after we let him know that we wanted to try local cuisine and arranged for the most amazing baby sitter anyone could hope for - Ayu. If you wanted complete privacy that is what you got. A very enjoyable holiday spot indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAM1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjkiefer, Owner at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Dear Pam,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments on your recent stay at Villa Palm. Sucipta will be delighted to hear of your satisfactions on all services rendered during your visit. Many of our guests develop long lasting friendships with the Villas staff and return often to Bali to further that bond. Come back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

We were first introduced to Space at Bali and due to it being fully booked, we were referred to her sister villa, SERENE Villa. We requested for 2-BR villa but was told that all their 2-BR were fully booked. Sumawati offered us their 3-BR, Villa Palm 1 at 2-BR rates, by shutting up one of the bedroom. Great deal, right!
It is an excellent villa if you want privacy and a time to truly unwind and relax. My children enjoy the private pool, outdoor shower experiences and the bed was exceedingly comfortable ending each day with a wonderful restful sleep.
KADEK, the butler was superb at his service towards my family. He is very attentive, speaks excellent English and whips up a fantastic breakfast every morning based on your choice of menu and desired time to be served.
KADEK welcomes us at our villa room upon our arrival with complimentary drinks, checks us in on our behalf, introduces us to a 500 movies selection, shows us the kitchen where he will personally cooks for us, proposed arrangement for transports, spa treatments, etc...all you have to do is name it and KADEK will see that it is done.
Though, currently there are renovations in the premise to have more 1 BR villas and enhancement to the villa office, it is still as serene as the villa promises us to be.
My children is thrilled and have expressed their intent to be back to Serene Villa should we decide to be in Bali again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pattan_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjkiefer, Owner at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Pattan_20
Many thanks for taking the time to give valuable feedback on your recent holiday in Seminyak. We enjoyed being able to help make your holiday a great experience;
Kadek will surely be very pleased to hear of your compliments on his services rendered during this visit. We all look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Bali soon.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We recently returned to Serene Villas after a wonderful experience in the “Villa Frangipani” in February 2011.

We have stayed at many different locations in Bali over the many years we have been holidaying in Bali, previously favouring hotels when our children were young, but have now discovered a place that offers a wonderful relaxing holiday for all. Each villa has its own private retreat with beautifully kept garden and a private pool area that is attended to daily. The open air living area, separate kitchen and rooms are large and spacious. All bedrooms are fan cooled and air conditioned; each with its own private “outdoor” style bathrooms, the main bedroom has an enormous bath.

This trip we were booked into the Villa Hibiscus, but were very kindly upgraded to the 3 bedroom Villa Palm 2 villa to minimise any noise from some renovations. (The Reception area and the Frangipani villa are currently being rebuilt). Like all accommodation after time, some small areas of the villas are starting to look a little tired but Management seem very aware of this and advised us of the extensive renovation program they are currently undertaking.

These villas are located in the perfect location, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Bali life, but still walking distance to the fabulous shopping and eating strips of Seminyak including Jln Laksmana (Eat Street). Taki’s regularly drive past the gang that the villa is located in, we never had a problem locating one to take us the short distance to the beach – 3 min trip down the road.

The staff are truly amazing; we were delighted to be visited by our butler from last year, Yudis who genuinely was happy to welcome us back. This year we were looked after by the lovely Ayu and the entertaining Sucipta. They greeted us each morning with freshly brewed coffee followed by a beautifully presented breakfast of our choice. We celebrated my husband’s birthday at the villa with several friends; the staff cooked a fabulous barbeque along with a complimentary cake, such a memorable night.

The only problem we have it that we don’t spend enough time in the villa enjoying all of the services that they offer. Maybe next year – we will definitely returning!

Room Tip: Different layouts available to suit your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjkiefer, Owner at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Leanne,
Thank you so much for taking your time commenting on your recent stay at Serene villas, and importantly for your continuous support; Indeed we are very blessed having wonderful, committed and dedicated staff always wanting to do their very best for our visitors;
Many of our guests develop long lasting friendships with the Villas staff and return often to Bali to further that bond.
Frangipani Villa renovation will fully be completed sometimes in May, do come back soon so as to enjoy its new facilities.
Wm regards;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We just returned from the most amazing 6 night holiday at Serene Villas. We stayed in the Garden Villa which was the most luxurious and impressive accomodation we have ever stayed in. The pool, cabana, 500 movies to choose from, huge comfortable air conditioned bedrooms all contributed to a relaxing week of indulgence. Our butlers, Yudi and Mini were truly amazing and meeting them both was a real highlight of our holiday. They cooked delicious breakfasts every day and dinner most nights. The best food we had in Bali was cooked by them. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjkiefer, Owner at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Helen,
Thanks you for your lovely comments which we have passed on to our staff who will greatly appreciate hearing from you. Many of our guests develop long lasting friendships with the Villas staff and return often to Bali to further that bond. Come back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

When we decided to get married in bali we searched online for weeks at the different options available in the seminyak area. So many beautiful places to choose from but we decided on serene villas in the end and made the booking for approximately 27 people in the hibiscus villa. The decision to marry my husband was a good one. The decision to get married here was not. i made the original booking in february but did not make contact again until a few months later as our wedding was to be casual and i am not one to get in a tizzy about small details. It was now that i should have heard the warning bells. There was no documentation regarding our wedding so i was asked again how many guests and when. I was then told that the maximum was 20 pax and they would have to review my booking. Great, the invites had already gone out. I then received an email stating that after "lengthy discussion" with the owners they would like to upgrade us to Villa Cendana as they believed "better for party". I went on the net, looked ok, so stupidly believed that maybe it would be better so i accepted. Villa Cendana is run down and tired and in need of a makeover.I realised my dreams of an open plan living space and lawn for our 15 month old daughter to play on were not going to become a reality as soon as i walked through the door. We arrived at midnight, and while i sat there as they set the cot up (they missed that on the email too) i burst into tears. The downstairs living area is so small, and with the couch and dining table, there is absolutely no room to move at all. The bedrooms were dark and dingy and no beds had mosquito nets, hence we woke every morning covered in bites. The villa is open from the back so you are not able to stop them coming in. Our daughter slept upstairs in the office as that is the only room on the top level with airconditioning. It was actually locked when we arrived and had to ask for it to be opened. There was another room upstairs that was locked also. Quite a weird feeling knowing your villa is used as a storeroom (or that's the feeling we got). The bedroom up there only has a fan and was way too hot for us to sleep in so it was quite unnerving knowing she was up there and the access was a staircase on the outside of the villa. The backyard is 90% pool. Quite ridiculous really as besides the wedding day there was only the 3 of us and the size of this villa is definately for a family of 5 or more.The next day I spoke to the manager and he admitted that the owner had wanted us moved away from the other villas so as not to be a disturbance. So there we were, pushed down the end of the complex with the longest drive way I have ever seen and knowing we had been duped. 22 adults and 5 children under 9 is hardly a riot. We are very understanding people and had already agreed to a time restriction with the hired stereo and would have been happy with an earlier finish and perhaps gone out somewhere else. The wedding day.....there is so much sadness and anger when i think back. Yes, we had a wonderful day but that is thanks to our friends and family who could have a good time anywhere. Several things that were included in the wedding package were not available to us based on the lack of room in the garden thanks to the olympic sized pool. No room for the traditional flower girls, no flower shower, and a wedding gift? Perhaps it's in the mail...What makes me the most sad is that we were unable to have our first dance as there was simply no where to have it. I also hired traditional balinese musicians but they were pretty much hidden behind bushes and no one could see them anyway. My husband and I are not wealthy people and we had saved long and hard for this wedding/honeymoon only for it to be the worst holiday we have ever had. We never relaxed as we were constantly having to entertain our little girl as there was no where for her to go besides fall in the pool. Yes, they had a pool fence up when we got there but there were so many gaps in it we said just to take it down. It would never have stopped her getting in. I ended up arriving back home with the worst flu I have ever had as i was so run down. At first I thought it was probably a tropical disease thanks to all the mosquito bites.
On a positive note, the staff at serene villas were amazing especially our butler.
I wrote to them after arriving home nicely expressing my thoughts and i received "thankyou for your comments and have a nice christmas". They had our money so now we should just go away. So thankyou Serene Villas for really not caring about what was our special day. If this happens to anyone else wanting to book a wedding I hope you are upfront with them so they have the option to book elsewhere. I know we would have.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yolande03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjkiefer, Owner at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Yolande,
Thank you for highlighting a number of issues pertaining to your stay at Villa Cendana and your wedding planning last December; On behalf the entire team, I, first of all, would like to convey my sincere apologies for having caused such disappointment on this special occasion that should have otherwise been totally flawless and memorable.
Unfortunately what has happened cannot be undone and presently I will not even try to find excuses. Instead I would rather prefer understanding the causes of the problem. It appears clearly that this has happened due to ineffective communication on our part; At first, Hibiscus Villa was offered to you as the venue of choice for the entire length of stay; A 25 pax-dinner was to be prepared and catered as well; If prior to confirming this venue had we ask you for more details (standing or sit down buffet? Etc.. ) then the proposed venue would have been very different since Hibiscus Villa cannot possibly accommodate such sit down party;
Later on we found out of our mistake, and we offered -what we thought then was… a better alternative - to stay in a larger villa (Cendana) with better kitchen facilities so as to meet the entire sit down diner requirements; After you have had a look at Cendana villa 's layout and details from the website, you were very happy with our recommendation and confirmed it to us on July 22; Another reason why at the time we thought of Cendana Villa as a better choice, was the weather condition affected likely with heavy rain downpours at this time of the year in December; Cendana villa offers better indoor facilities, thus preventing any possible inconveniences in case of sudden rain; I don’t think it was properly conveyed to you;
The rest is simply history, from the time you walked in to the time you left the property; A day after you arrived however you met with our Manager Wayan, expressing your dissatisfaction on the villa lay out and concept requesting to move to Hibiscus Villa as originally planned; Unfortunately the villa was occupied, Wayan did however offer you an alternative Villa (Palm2), which you inspected. After reflection you and your husband decided not to take up the offer and decided to stay at Cendana villa throughout the stay; This is truly a very painful lesson for us as everybody tried hard to make your stay as memorable as possible; In the meantime we did review the information listed on all our wedding packages 'terms and conditions, among which is to clearly mention people capacity for each and every villas should someone decide to provide catering.
Once again thank you for taking your time to pen down your observations and we truly are looking forward to welcome you back soon;
Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Serene Villas really are sensational - huge bedrooms, beautiful outdoor bathrooms, spacious entertainment areas and great sized pools. They are very clean and you walk in for the first time (actually every time!) it takes your breath away. The staff are extremely friendly and professional. Sucipta, who cooked our breakfast every morning makes the best omelettes!
The villas are in walking distance to all the great shopping areas and restaurants. We nealy didn't want to leave the villa it was so relaxing. We would definitely stay here again. In Villa massages are about $AU 20.00 for an hour and they do a great job.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjkiefer, Owner at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear Doreen,
Thanks you for your lovely comments which we have passed on to our staff, Sucipta in particular who will greatly appreciate hearing from you. Many of our guests develop long lasting friendships with the Villas staff and return often to Bali to further that bond. We are glad you have enjoyed your at Villa Palm 2; Come back soon !
warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

From the time we entered till we left, 3 nights/4 days were bliss - thanks to our butler Ayu, and driver Darma and all the other support staff - we'll be back! Very accessible location, close to lots of eateries, shops and showrooms in Seminyak.....a small tip would be to widen the in-house menu choice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atulkaul18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjkiefer, Owner at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Dear Atulkaul
Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay at Serene Villa Hibiscus;
We are very happy to read of your total satisfaction on service rendered by all our associates, especially Ayu and Darma;
We take note of your comments to extend the in-house menu;
We look forward to welcome you back i Bali soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1 km away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#26 of 148 in Seminyak
663 reviews
1.2 km away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 148 in Seminyak
761 reviews
0.1 km away
Space at Bali
Space at Bali
#4 of 426 in Seminyak
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hevea Villas
Hevea Villas
#1 of 426 in Seminyak
346 reviews
0.9 km away
Royal Samaja Villas
Royal Samaja Villas
#6 of 426 in Seminyak
200 reviews
1.2 km away
The Wolas Villas & Spa
The Wolas Villas & Spa
#9 of 426 in Seminyak
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Villas

Address: Jl. Drupadi 22, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 426 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $204 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Serene Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Serene Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Villas Hotel Seminyak
Serene Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing