We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good front desk staff but a shame about the location and it's management staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kayana Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kayana Bali
Ranked #18 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good front desk staff but a shame about the location and it's management staff”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This was the second time we stayed at The Kayana. We did not write a review for our first stay which was in August of 2011 but felt it was important to do so this second time. Although the location is convenient, in the heart of Seminyak, the roads surrounding The Kayana and its proximity to the new W and Potato Head, means that they cannot control the sanitation and hygiene levels of the hotel nor the noise pollution.

On our first stay in August 2011, our family had a rat problem in our room ( room 823). The first morning, I found some funny teeth marks on the apple that the hotel had placed in the fruit ubasket. I didn't think much of it but mentioned to my husband that it was odd how our little boy had taken a bite of the apple and put it back on the dish. The second night, we were rudely awaken by a funny rustling noise. We got out of bed to check the noise but couldn't find anything. We got up at least 3 times to check the rustling noise but could not figure out what it was. I seriously thought we were being robbed! The next morning, we found that the dessert we had brought back from dinner was half eaten and the box was torn apart. There was no doubt, the apple and the dessert was chewed up by a rat. We figured since next to our room was a small bridge/overpass and the sanitation of the area is not guaranteed with all the construction going on, it was not an unusual situation. I would also like to mention now that we did not sleep properly for two days as the first night, Potato Head had a huge party and the thumping from the music went on until 3 am!

Although my husband and myself were understanding of how such a situation can arise, we were in shock with the response we received from its management staff, or more correctly, the lack of
response from its top management even after we had requested to see the general manager. It was not til a couple of days later that the sales manager came to see us with an apology. After much negotiaion, they finally agreed to make up for the ruined 2 nights of sleep. But still no visit or phone call from its GM which has led us to believe that the rat and the noise must be pretty normal occurrences! We finally met the GM on our last day (6th day of our stay). In Hong Kong, if something like this happened, top management would be on top of this straightaway.

Although we were not happy with how their management staff handled the situation, we found that overall, the service staff were helpful, warm and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable but in need of a little attention ie lots of stains on the upholstery, old bath towels, furniture looked a bit used. Cleanliness of bathroom and outdoor space could be improved. Especially with the sanitation standards in the area, the outdoor space needs to be well maintained which wasn't. They didn't empty the outdoor bin and the outdoor dining table in the room had food stuck on the surface. Shuttle service around the area is great. Spa is mediocre but expensive. Food is not up to standard. Would not eat the breakfast items with ham or sausage.

We returned this April and decided to stay 5 nights at The Kayana and 3 nights at The Samaya. We had 2 comp nights from our problems during the first stay in a pool villa and decided to try their 2 bed villa to give our kids more space. We were in room 826 pool villa. The traffic noise was unbelievable. It kept our kids up at night and woke them up early in the morning. The 2 bed villa was great as the outdoor area with a larger pool is really nice. But unfortunately marred by a couple of cock roach problems, which again, we believe is a result of this location, too close to main road.

In the end we did not go to The Samaya as we went to check out the renovation and we were appalled by the progress of it. We asked The Kayana front staff if it was possible for our family to stay there for our last three nights. They agreed after a big mixup ie they told us they had space and then they came back the next day and said there wasn't any space. In the end, We gave them another 3 nights revenue totalling over uS$1000! We asked if they could include a spa treatment and their sales manager, Mr Nanda Gazali, did not get back to us even after we requested for him to give us a call. Very odd, after all we were spending a fair amount of money with them given all the problems we had experienced. We were told by the front staff, he was very busy and couldn't see us. Then we requested to see the GM and similarly, no response.

Since top management do not value their clientele nor their opinions, we can't see how this hotel can continue to do well especially given the location problems they are already experiencing.

We will not be coming back to The Kayana and would not recommend this property if sanitation, cleanliness and peace of mind (it's hard getting away from the traffic and Potato Head) are priorities.

Room Tip: Stick to even number rooms which are farther away from the road and do not stay in room 823.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Selina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayanaBali, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

We would like to express you our sincere gratitude for choosing us as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali.
Thank you very much for giving us suggestion and comment in Trip Advisor. Your attention is highly appreciated.
We do believe through your comments, we could develop our services more better in the future.
Please do let us have another opportunity to serve you again at your convenience time.

Should you have another assistance in the future, please do let us know.

Thank you for your kindness.

Best Regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    140
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
72
378
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Loved the vibe of this hotel.Highly personalized service, nice pool villas and free shuttle service around Legian and Seminyak. Location can't be beat. Highly recommend this resort. Had a package which included spa service, which is a excellent add on.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thephuketinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayanaBali, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

We would like to express you our sincere gratitude for choosing us as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali.
Thank you very much for giving us suggestion and comment in Trip Advisor. Your attention is highly appreciated.
We do believe through your comments, we could develop our services more better in the future.
Please do let us have another opportunity to serve you again at your convenience time.

Should you have another assistance in the future, please do let us know.

Thank you for your kindness.

Best Regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed at the Kayana for four nights.

Location : the Kayana is located between Potatohead beach club & W Hotel. Easy to get a cab or use the hotel shuttle to get to most places (or walk if u feel like exploring the shops along the road)

Villa: the villas are comfortable & each has its own pool. Although I feel the condition of some parts of the villa are in need of refurbishing, it still maintains its balinese charm. Cleanliness of bathrooms need more emphasis. I enjoyed my stay in villa 821.

Service : Excellent service overall. Front desk staff very knowledgeable about restaurants,sights & shopping. They will arrange for u restaurant reservations & for the hotel shuttle to drop u off & pick u up when u are done (in seminyak)
Kudos to:
Murjani & Ari @ the front desk
Dedy & Putu , the hotel drivers

Food : Sufficient options are available for breakfast (american breakfast,juices,pancakes,Indonesian style etc) good enough to start your day.

Would recommend this place if you are staying in Seminyak.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKayana, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

We would like to express you our sincere gratitude for choosing us as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali.
Thank you very much for giving us suggestion and comment in Trip Advisor. Your attention is highly appreciated.
We do believe through your comments, we could develop our services more better in the future.
Please do let us have another opportunity to serve you again at your convenience time.

Should you have another assistance in the future, please do let us know.

Thank you for your kindness.

Best Regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had our mini honeymoon here and I'm so glad that my partner picked this hotel. Although it was not cheap, I'm certain you cannot get this room or services at any other hotels. The location was also great, it's right next to the new W hotel (we had a lovely Sunday brunch there) and also a few doors down from Potato Head (very popular beach club with good cocktails!). But we were most impressed by the quality of customer services....every morning we were greeted by the staff, they tried to help us with directions, restaurant recommendations, transport (oh did I mention that they offer free shuttle services around Seminyak too!). Overall, I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKayana, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

We would like to express you our sincere gratitude for choosing us as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali.
Thank you very much for giving us suggestion and comment in Trip Advisor. Your attention is highly appreciated.
We do believe through your comments, we could develop our services more better in the future.
Please do let us have another opportunity to serve you again at your convenience time.

Should you have another assistance in the future, please do let us know.

Thank you for your kindness.

Best Regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Bored with hotels around Nusa Dua area, we stayed at this great villa. This is not a beach side villa but they compensate this with awesome service from the front desk staff to gardeners. It's clear that they work hard to make our stay memorable. Clean room, abundant amenities, nice Bose Ipod dock, lovely tropical-style bathroom. Great breakfast delivered to your room but make sure you fill out the form night before. Front desk staff is always ready to help us with suggestions on restaurant and car/shuttle arrangement. They even paid our taxi because the villa shuttles were all out. Their spa is marvelous and is included in the villa price. We've been to Bali a lot of times but the Kayana offers the best service in Bali so far.

Room Tip: If you go out very often, get villa No.801 or 802 (deluxe villas). They're close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TitforTat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKayana, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

We would like to express you our sincere gratitude for choosing us as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali.
Thank you very much for giving us suggestion and comment in Trip Advisor. Your attention is highly appreciated.
We do believe through your comments, we could develop our services more better in the future.
Please do let us have another opportunity to serve you again at your convenience time.

Should you have another assistance in the future, please do let us know.

Thank you for your kindness.

Best Regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon and was extremely impressed with the spacious and beautifully designed pool villa. Service of the staff is also top notch. They come and servive the villa twice a day and always ask you what is the preferred time to come in consideration of your privacy and schedules.

Our pool was a very good size, and we loved the outdoor shed where we could relax and have our breakfast in the morning and complementary afternoon tea.

The resort does not offer much ground space and entertainment areas but all you have to do is take a cheap cab ride out to the main Seminyak strip. They also offer a free shuttle service for that.

The beach at Seminyak is not really worth seeing in my view. Go to Jimbaran.

But we loved the Kayana.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank littlescorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKayana, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

We would like to express you our sincere gratitude for choosing us as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali.
Thank you very much for giving us suggestion and comment in Trip Advisor. Your attention is highly appreciated.
We do believe through your comments, we could develop our services more better in the future.
Please do let us have another opportunity to serve you again at your convenience time.

Should you have another assistance in the future, please do let us know.

Thank you for your kindness.

Best Regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights there, planned to stay 3 but just didn't want to leave! The pool villa is a great size, nice pool, lovely garden and grounds, wonderful breakfast with tons of options including an entire vegetarian menu - a good one! The villa is in good shape, very comfortable, and has what you need (other than good WiFi - but not many places in this area do - just get a SIM card and save yourself the hassle). The staff is polite, friendly, eager to please and respectful of private space. (We swam all the time and never used our bathing suits and our private butler never made us worry that someone was about to walk in.) We got a package from the Kayana website that included an 80 min Balinese massage for 2. A good deal and better than the rooms Agoda has available. (Nice massage - lovely spa.)

Is this place party central? Gratefully, no, but you can walk to the Potato Head Beach Club - go! - and there are great restaurants and stuff to do nearby and you are a taxi ride away from the Kuta craziness and can escape that scene just as easily. Really, worth the money for some very nice couple time. We loved it.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKayana, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

We would like to express you our sincere gratitude for choosing us as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali.
Thank you very much for giving us suggestion and comment in Trip Advisor. Your attention is highly appreciated.
We do believe through your comments, we could develop our services more better in the future.
Please do let us have another opportunity to serve you again at your convenience time.

Should you have another assistance in the future, please do let us know.

Thank you for your kindness.

Best Regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.3 km away
The Elysian
The Elysian
#10 of 143 in Seminyak
409 reviews
1.3 km away
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
#24 of 143 in Seminyak
499 reviews
0.4 km away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#25 of 143 in Seminyak
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Peppers Seminyak
Peppers Seminyak
#21 of 143 in Seminyak
692 reviews
0.6 km away
The Dusun
The Dusun
#15 of 143 in Seminyak
525 reviews
1.0 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kayana Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kayana Bali

Property: The Kayana Bali
Address: Jalan Raya Petitenget, Kerobokan Kelod | Kuta Utara, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kayana Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kayana is the one of the preferred villas in Seminyak, boasting a reputation for quality accommodation at agreeable rates. The 24 separate villas are positioned just off a winding pathway, flanked with Frangipani trees and tropical foliage. Surrounded by pristine gardens and rich in the rewards that fresh open air brings, a stay at The Kayana offers guests total privacy and tranquility. The Deluxe Villas is featuring a plunge pool as well as an outdoor dining and lounge area. Moving further, each unit of their Pool Villas is featuring a spacious 28sqm pool with outdoor dining and lounge area with pristine gardens. All of the 24 private villas is stocked with double canopy king size bed, air condition, wireless connection, safe deposit box, a plasma TV, buggy car and many more The Kayana is situated close to Potato Head, Huu Bar, Kudeta and surrounded by good restaurants and boutiques. Just 15 minutes by walking to public beach and 20 minutes by walking to Seminyak center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kayana Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kayana Bali Hotel Seminyak
Kayana Bali Seminyak
Kayana Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Kayana Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing