We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza ever!”
Review of Casa Italiana

Casa Italiana
Ranked #38 of 345 Restaurants in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Double dose of Italian flair with a creative menu created by Chef Tobia while dining at this artsy venue, featuring elegant hand-painted Barocco art wall encompassed within a contemporary design. Rediscover the pleasures of Italian cuisine in all its regional varieties with Chef Tobia’s romantic menu, his devotion to the highest quality ingredients and traditional homemade recipes prepared with a creative twist inspired by Phu Quoc adventures, allowing each flavor to shine through with elegant simplicity.
Restaurant details
Description: Double dose of Italian flair with a creative menu created by Chef Tobia while dining at this artsy venue, featuring elegant hand-painted Barocco art wall encompassed within a contemporary design. Rediscover the pleasures of Italian cuisine in all its regional varieties with Chef Tobia’s romantic menu, his devotion to the highest quality ingredients and traditional homemade recipes prepared with a creative twist inspired by Phu Quoc adventures, allowing each flavor to shine through with elegant simplicity.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We had a great dinner at the place. The chef personally came down to speak to us to make sure he understood our requirements and palate. The pizza and pasta was out of the world! Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 5shyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 58 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2018 via mobile

We ate here as in house guests on our second night, and what a great choice!

The service is truly excellent, with staff watching carefully to tend the the needs of every guest.

My husband ordered the fritto misto for the entree which was cooked to perfection and presented beautifully in a brown paper cone, while I opted for the salad, artfully draped in generous portions of excellent prosciutto. For mains, my husband opted for the pizza which was good and I ordered the fettuccine with mushrooms, which arrived in an inverted martini glass which our waitress removed at the table. It was the perfect size for me, but possibly on the small size for some. The fettuccine was al dente and the flavours were perfect.

The decor is really gorgeous and the staff could not have been more attentive. The chef (I assume) cruised the floor a couple of times during service, checking on customers.

If I could make one small criticism/suggestion... a neighbouring diner was asking for recommendations on a suitable wine to match with their meals and I got the impression that some wine education basics may be helpful for the staff. Wine in Vietnam is not cheap, so staff need to be well versed on the list to advise when needed.

1  Thank ElainePR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra N, Manager at Casa Italiana, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear ElainePR,

Thank you for dining with us and sharing such a detailed review. We are pleased that you have thoroughly enjoyed creations of Chef Tobia and we have passed on your appreciations to the team. Indeed, the restaurant interior design features some very special elements, such as handpainted wall and ceilings inspired by Renaissance art, rustic yellow and orange tones to give more authenticity to your Italian dining experience. We have noted your comment about the wine pairing, and rest assured that we are conducting our trainings on a consistent basis. Hopefully, for your next visit we will be able to showcase that knowledge for you. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly on restaurant@salindaresort.com for any further bookings. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Casa Italiana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2018

We had dinner at Casa Italiana two times during our stay at the Salinda Resort .
Chef Tobia and his staff makes you feel at ease and the food is really great .
Suggest to try out the tagliatelle ai funghi , the branzino and the very tasty pizza.
Go also for the desserts , try the chocolate's fondue.
The dinner is served outside in a very nice courtyard with a relaxing atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mirella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra N, Manager at Casa Italiana, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear Mirella M,

Thank you for dining with us on Valentine's Day and sharing such a great review. We are pleased that you have thoroughly enjoyed creations of Chef Tobia and we have passed on your appreciations to the service team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly on restaurant@salindaresort.com for any further bookings. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Casa Italiana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2018

We visited Casa Italia twice whilst staying in Phu Quoc for a week. On both visits the staff were extremely attentive and could not do enough for you.

We were a family of 5 adults and all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. From the starters we tried the mushroom soup / risotto balls / fritto mistro and insalata. For the mains: hunters style chicken/ seabass fillet / rack of lamb / rib eye steak / mushroom tagelitteli / pizza / beef cheeks.

The chef would come out too to ensure you were enjoying your meal which I thought was a really nice touch.

If you're looking for something a little more up market in a relaxing atmosphere then come and try here. It will likely be one of your more expensive meals but a lovely treat.

NB the restaurant is located inside the Salinda hotel. The taxi drivers we had didn't know the restaurant but the hotel location.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AJ4984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra N, Manager at Casa Italiana, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear AJ4984,

Thank you for dining with us and sharing such a detailed review. We are pleased that you have thoroughly enjoyed creations of Chef Tobia and we have passed on your appreciations to the team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly on restaurant@salindaresort.com for any further bookings. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Casa Italiana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2018

Tasty and good food. Also service was excellent. Wine prices are expensive. We tasted pasta and pizza.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LauriN130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra N, Manager at Casa Italiana, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear Lauri N,

Thank you for dining with us and sharing your review. We are pleased that you have thoroughly enjoyed creations of Chef Tobia and we have passed on your appreciations to the service team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly on restaurant@salindaresort.com for any further bookings. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Casa Italiana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Italiana also viewed

 
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to Casa Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing