We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spacious, comfy, rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumbres Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chama
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cumbres Suites
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfy, rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Loved this place! It was sort of a combo B&B/hotel, with rooms in the same building as the owner's living space. The breakfast area was large and comfy (stocked with standard, prepared breakfast items like cereal, packaged donuts, various bagel/muffin/bread items, and fruit, as well as juice and coffee) and the rooms were upstairs, overlooking the breakfast room. They had a few rooms in a separate building but I did not see them. The rooms I did see were large - about 3 or 4 times the size of a standard hotel room - well-furnished, and comfy. Don't come expecting a Sheraton - come expecting to feel like you're staying at a well-known relative's home. And we were treated as such, too! We're not normally the B&B "type" -- like to stick to ourselves - but were made to feel comfortable here. Next time we're in Chama this will be the place we stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MinneapolisPeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    23
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
25
39
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

What a great place to stay. The room was huge, clean and comfortable. The shower/tub was awesome. The staff were friendly and helpful. If your coming to the area, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jokernv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Interesting to share living quarters with in cabin inhabitants. Bed and breakfast style I guess. Just not used to that! Accommodations were adequate! Although I did come across that suspect hair on the pillow case when I pulled back the sheets when ready for bed! (As mentioned in an earlier review). I tried to reason that it was maybe from me but it couldn't have been as I have very, very short hair! Found that disgusting but I lysol sprayed the place down just to be safe!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Culturalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Outstanding hotel. Large rooms, comfortable beds. Convenient to the Cumbres & Toltec RR. I believe it is the only hotel in Chama with air conditioning. What a relief to come back to after a hot day on the train. They keep a well-stocked breakfast bar which is accessible 24/7. We changed our reservations twice, they were quite accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elphaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We weren't sure what to expect even though we had reviewed the website. It was better than we had expected in that it was like home away from home regarding the atmosphere and feeling of security and comfort. The description on the website is all accurate. The only negative thing we could say (if you can call it negative) was that the beds were like we were at someone else's house and not in our own beds. However, that's always to be expected no matter whenyou sleep anyplace other than your own home. We are already making plans to return next summer!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edjuk2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukie, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a couple days, took steam train trip (cumbres and toltec), we were made to feel so at home! They had outside patio, nice to sit on hot day. Our room was very large and comfortable. Breakfast was great. It's great to wake up to the smell of fresh coffee brewing in the morning! Everything was clean and Terri and her family could not have been more accomodating. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

Terri was a wonderful and nice lady and host. The hotel was clean and our room was twice the size of any motel room we've stayed in. The king size bed was comfortable and the entire room and hotel was decorated nice and had the 'home' feel to it. Very convient to all we wanted to do in Chama. Looking forward to an excuse to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler49lubbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chama hotels
1.7 km away
Chama River Bend Lodge
2.1 km away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#5 of 8 in Chama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.5 km away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
1.2 km away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.9 km away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbres Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbres Suites

Property: Cumbres Suites
Address: 2042 S Highway 17, Chama, NM 87520
Region: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Cumbres Hotel Chama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing