We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
62
23
6
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
23
6
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room sunken tub sausage biscuits two queen beds would stay here again rooms are spacious huge room owners are great three nights air conditioner cereal cumbres recliner motel train
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 98 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband picked this place solely on the reviews from your website.
I have to say, it was different. The Manager was nice enough. But the room, first of all it was Suite #3. After checking in, we parked around the back.
Went into a common room where breakfast is served. Lots of variety to pick from. Bagels to cereal. That's were I think it's more like a bb/lodge.
We head upstairs, were we have to turn to the left and watch our heads cause that is were the roof line slopes.
Get into the room, it is spacious enough.
Clean. Everything about it is so dated.
Prefabricated sink vanity area and shower/soaking tub. Made probably in the late 70's to 80's. Also linoleum and carpet in the bathroom.
Here's were I think, (it's dangerous). The shower/soaking tub, the tub is a sunken tub. If you can picture, opening the sliding door and looking down into the tub. It is below the floor you are standing on. With no hand rails to help you get in.
On the plus side, it was quiet.
This Lodge is a "great" Candidate for the show "Hotel Makeover".
This is my honest account of the suite we sleeped in.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank milneymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2014

We stayed 2 nights, Sept. 13 & 14, 2014. Kip and Terry were great hosts. Our room was clean and neat, but basic. This place was originally set up as a hunting lodge, so it's excellent for multi-night stays. The common room, where breakfast is served, is a nice meeting place and we had good conversations with other guests. Turns out that one couple lives not far from us and we even ran into them a couple nights after we got home! The included breakfast was pretty much all you can eat, though we saw nobody abusing it. Sausage biscuits, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice and a few other things. A little more than 1/4 mile walk to the C&R RR station and "downtown" Chama.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2014

Have stayed there twice this summer. Was perfect for the train ride in July. Second time was to ride motorcycles up into Colorado. The Corey's are very helpful and fun to be around, like you are with friends. This is a great place to stay, quiet and comfortable. Lots of humming birds when sitting outside.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank donbCarrollton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We have stayed here three times over the last six years or so. The rooms are large and clean. The owners are great people who are right onsite and always asking if they can do anything to make our stay better. Breakfast and snack items are available at all times. Very close to the Cumbres and Toltec Railroad as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pharmer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here for 6 days and loved it. The rooms are large and comfortable with a little fridge. A little breakfast was also available 24 hrs and a little microwave to heat up leftovers from the many restaurants around town. Our hostess/owner Terri and grandson Bobby were very pleasant and helpful. Sitting around outside in the clear crisp Chama air watching the herd of hummingbirds that Terri fed daily was extremely relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LesB726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews