We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Efficiency Cabins”
Review of Spruce Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cloudcroft
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spruce Cabins
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

We checked in with a friendly staff. We were delighted when we enter our cabin! It was newly remodelled, and was very clean. The room for two had a comfortable queen bed, a kitchen, and nice bath. The floor was tiled through out. Best of all for this cabin, the price was right! We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank SusieQ1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2015

The cabin was very awkward to live in. There were no shelves to put things up. The TV was TINY. Could not see the picture from the bed, and was at impossible angle to see from couch. The coffee maker was set up in a corner on a low table where you kicked the brick hearth every time you tried to make coffee. We had to rearrange furniture to even begin to use this cabin and keep from hurting ourselves. There was nowhere to put suitcases to live out of them...couldn't even slide them under the bed. You could not get into the bathroom without squeezing around between the toilet and the door. Again no shelves to put things on in the bathroom.

The worst thing though was the odor of the bedding! Because of the holiday, there was no where else to go, or we would have left. The blankets, pillows on the couch and bed had strong body odor. I found two spiders in the cabin...Hate spiders! The lighting was awful! You could not turn the fan light off without turning the fan off.

The only good thing I can say about this cabin was new toilet and sink worked very well and were clean and new fluffy towels. The tub drained very slowly.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttscott1160, Owner at Spruce Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2015

Thank you for letting us know your concerns. As always we want to make your stay as wonderful as possible. In the future if you have concerns, our office is open everyday 7 days a week from 9 an to 7 pm. And we do have a maintenance worker that could have addressed your problems if you had just asked. We do wash our bedding after every stay, it is unfortunate that you felt it wasn't clean. If you had asked we would have been more that happy to change it out. The TV's are mounted on the wall with most of our cabins only about 200 square feet to 400 square feet in size we try and have TV's that people can see. most are 32 inch but we do have two that are 19 inch. Each room does have a foldable luggage rack. and other than 2 cabins all have closets to hang up cloths. Cabins two and three have a additional luggage rack on the wall to hang cloths. Cabin 2 which you stayed in does have the coffee maker in the corner between the fireplace and sofa. I will make a correction to change that. You are the first that has had problems. Hopefully you will reconsider us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

This was a good stopover for us - we only stayed one night. Our cabin was tiny, but I am used to the mini bathroom on my Manhattan apartment, so no problem. The grounds are lovely and overall Cloudcroft is a peaceful and pretty place. Note that the dining options are really slim pickings.

We got to town a bit late & the key was waiting for us, though it was a little stressful beforehand because no one answered the phone most of the day when we were trying to alert our later arrival & we were worried we wouldn't be able to get in. Email communication option would be helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed in cabin #3. It has a nice bed, sofa sleeper and has been upgraded.The people are always nice and helpful.We have a family reunion here every year at the Spruce Club. Always clean, always friendly, good price!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wandalois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

If you want a low stress vacation spot Cloudcroft is the place, and the Spruce Cabins are an excellent lodging choice. The unit we stayed in was more like a duplex, but if felt like and was designed like a one room cabin. The location was convenient to Burro Street shopping and the few restaurants in Cloudcroft.

When we arrived, I was pleased to note that our cabin was spotless. The appliances were modern and the cabinets were stocked with nice, clean utensils and dishes for us to use. We had a flat screen television to watch at night. Unlike most kitchenette cabins that I have stayed in, the bed was comfortable.

The only suggestion that that I have is that room darkening blinds need to be placed over the windows since the streetlight made it bright inside the cabin at night.

One other note on Cloudcroft: Cloudcroft had no grocery store, so buy groceries before you get to town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andyriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

At our recent class reunion, we arranged with the Scott's to use their meeting room. What a great decision this turned out to be! The facility is spacious (40-50 in attendance), full-sized kitchen, and a renovation that embraces mountain cozy with a creative twist of modern! It was comfortable, it was clean, it was convenient and it was welcoming. Tim and Terri Scott, thank you and your staff for welcoming our class.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was in Cloudcroft for a weekend reunion with many friends (there was probably about 40-50 in attendance). We arranged to use the meeting room at the Spruce Cabins for our reunion for one afternoon. It was perfect; clean, spacious, with more than adequate amenities, such as tables, chairs, kitchen facilities, and more. The Scott's were very hospitable and accommodating to the group. We had a wonderful time there! I would highly recommend The Spruce Cabins/Meeting Room for a retreat or reunion gathering. Thanks to our hosts, Tim and Terri Scott.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Shirley8900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cloudcroft hotels
0.9 km away
Cloudcroft Hotel
Cloudcroft Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cloudcroft
78 reviews
0.1 km away
Dusty Boots Motel
Dusty Boots Motel
#2 of 6 in Cloudcroft
24 reviews
0.8 km away
Summit Inn
Summit Inn
#3 of 3 in Cloudcroft
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Crofting Inn
The Crofting Inn
#1 of 3 in Cloudcroft
45 reviews
0.9 km away
The Lodge Resort and Spa
The Lodge Resort and Spa
#3 of 6 in Cloudcroft
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Cabins

Address: 100 Lynx Ave., PO Box 315, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Region: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Cloudcroft
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Lincoln Nation Forest at an enchanting elevation of 9000 feet above stress level. Spruce Cabins features year round accommodations. With fifteen cabins most having fireplaces ( wood is provided), Kitchens and outside charcoal barbecue grills and picnic tables. Pets are welcome for a fee. Free Wi-Fi and all cabins have color TVs with cable. We also have Club Spruce! A gathering room for rent with kitchen, two half baths, Cable TV, Wi-Fi and computer station, with it's own outside area including picnic tables fire pit and gas grill. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing