We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dusty Boots Motel(Cloudcroft)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crofting Inn(Cloudcroft)(Great Value!)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suburban Extended Stay Alamogordo(Alamogordo)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Alamogordo)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Alamogordo)
US$55
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Classic Inn Motel(Alamogordo)
US$44
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloudcroft Hotel(Cloudcroft)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Inn(Cloudcroft)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
22
8
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
8
3
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 38 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2015

The cabin was very awkward to live in. There were no shelves to put things up. The TV was TINY. Could not see the picture from the bed, and was at impossible angle to see from couch. The coffee maker was set up in a corner on a low table where you kicked the brick hearth every time you tried to make coffee. We had to rearrange furniture to even begin to use this cabin and keep from hurting ourselves. There was nowhere to put suitcases to live out of them...couldn't even slide them under the bed. You could not get into the bathroom without squeezing around between the toilet and the door. Again no shelves to put things on in the bathroom.

The worst thing though was the odor of the bedding! Because of the holiday, there was no where else to go, or we would have left. The blankets, pillows on the couch and bed had strong body odor. I found two spiders in the cabin...Hate spiders! The lighting was awful! You could not turn the fan light off without turning the fan off.

The only good thing I can say about this cabin was new toilet and sink worked very well and were clean and new fluffy towels. The tub drained very slowly.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttscott1160, Owner at Spruce Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2015

Thank you for letting us know your concerns. As always we want to make your stay as wonderful as possible. In the future if you have concerns, our office is open everyday 7 days a week from 9 an to 7 pm. And we do have a maintenance worker that could have addressed your problems if you had just asked. We do wash our bedding after every stay, it is unfortunate that you felt it wasn't clean. If you had asked we would have been more that happy to change it out. The TV's are mounted on the wall with most of our cabins only about 200 square feet to 400 square feet in size we try and have TV's that people can see. most are 32 inch but we do have two that are 19 inch. Each room does have a foldable luggage rack. and other than 2 cabins all have closets to hang up cloths. Cabins two and three have a additional luggage rack on the wall to hang cloths. Cabin 2 which you stayed in does have the coffee maker in the corner between the fireplace and sofa. I will make a correction to change that. You are the first that has had problems. Hopefully you will reconsider us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2014

This was a good stopover for us - we only stayed one night. Our cabin was tiny, but I am used to the mini bathroom on my Manhattan apartment, so no problem. The grounds are lovely and overall Cloudcroft is a peaceful and pretty place. Note that the dining options are really slim pickings.

We got to town a bit late & the key was waiting for us, though it was a little stressful beforehand because no one answered the phone most of the day when we were trying to alert our later arrival & we were worried we wouldn't be able to get in. Email communication option would be helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in cabin #3. It has a nice bed, sofa sleeper and has been upgraded.The people are always nice and helpful.We have a family reunion here every year at the Spruce Club. Always clean, always friendly, good price!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wandalois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2014

If you want a low stress vacation spot Cloudcroft is the place, and the Spruce Cabins are an excellent lodging choice. The unit we stayed in was more like a duplex, but if felt like and was designed like a one room cabin. The location was convenient to Burro Street shopping and the few restaurants in Cloudcroft.

When we arrived, I was pleased to note that our cabin was spotless. The appliances were modern and the cabinets were stocked with nice, clean utensils and dishes for us to use. We had a flat screen television to watch at night. Unlike most kitchenette cabins that I have stayed in, the bed was comfortable.

The only suggestion that that I have is that room darkening blinds need to be placed over the windows since the streetlight made it bright inside the cabin at night.

One other note on Cloudcroft: Cloudcroft had no grocery store, so buy groceries before you get to town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andyriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2014

At our recent class reunion, we arranged with the Scott's to use their meeting room. What a great decision this turned out to be! The facility is spacious (40-50 in attendance), full-sized kitchen, and a renovation that embraces mountain cozy with a creative twist of modern! It was comfortable, it was clean, it was convenient and it was welcoming. Tim and Terri Scott, thank you and your staff for welcoming our class.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews