We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Aledo, TX
1 review
“Terrible hotel”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel looks good online, but is anything but. The staff is rude and the room is bad. The air conditioner front was lying in the floor, the bedspread had marker on it, there was dust an inch thick along the baseboards, the sprinkler in the bathroom was rusted, the towel racks were about to fall off the walls. I booked this room on my Choice points for one night...was going to stay an additional two nights, but cancelled as fast as I could. The staff refused to let me cancel...had to call the Choice main number to get it done. We went down the road to the Santa Claran for a wonderful room for only about $20 more than the Comfort Inn. It was definitely worth the money. Even the locatoin of the Comfort Inn is a little scary.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    19
    19
    24
    18
See reviews for
20
29
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MILAN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

It was easy check in a friendly but the heated indoor pool was cold.
Breakfast area needs more space. At 9:00 AM it is put away even if people are still eating. It was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmteacher02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My family spent a few days in Espanola, and enjoyed our stay at Comfort Inn. It was very clean and seemed to be recently renovated. The hotel staff was very friendly, and recommended Angelina's Restaurant. We are so grateful! We ate there twice during our 3 day stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnaj4916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We usually stay here one night each year on our way to Dulce for a hunting trip. I would only recommend this place if all you need is a bad bed to sleep on for a few hours. If you want any kind of descent place then keep on driving to the next town.

Don't leave anything in your cars, especially if you park in the back. Our first few times though here our vehicles were broken into and had food stolen out of them.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Espanola hotels

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

My client and I had stayed at a Comfort Inn in Truth or Consequences and had a good night's rest for under $100, so despite the bad reviews, we decided to take a chance on this Comfort Inn for less than $50. We were given a ground floor room near the lobby to make dragging luggage easy. The other guests seemed to be serious business travelers, too: a good sign of adequate accommodation. There was at least one guest with a nice dog; Comfort Inn is pet-friendly. We did not need the pool, HVAC or other frills. The TV worked. The carpet had just been cleaned. Breakfast was a little short on protein, but the coffee and raisin bran hit the spot. The staff was kind and friendly. Yes, Espanola seems a little tired, and this Comfort Inn is small and older than the one in T or C. But all we wanted was a good night's sleep and coffee and a bit of breakfast in the morning. We got that, with a smile, too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanNomadServices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Being a regular user of Choice hotels, we stayed here. For the location, which is rather down-market, it is priced high. Admittedly, the roadworks outside don't help the overall drive-up impression.

The young staff at check-in were friendly. Our ground floor room was fine, but there is an ugly fence outside the window and the grounds were sadly in need of attention. The swimming pool was out of order at the time.

The parking area's surrounds feel somewhat suspect. Surely management could do something about the "garden" area between the hotel and the Chinese restaurant. It is devoid of all plants and sadly neglected and it's the first thing you see when approaching the hotel and from the breakfast area.

We had dinner at the Chinese restaurant right on the grounds. It's a very shabby looking place from the outside and without too much imaginative decor inside, but the buffet meal was quite enjoyable and very reasonable and the restaurant staff were friendly.

The breakfast was par for the course, quite a good variety and continually refreshed.

Fairly satisfied with our night's stay there, but for goodness sake management, clean up the grounds! I wish there was a "Maybe" option to answer the question - Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? So I'll click yes, but with reservations.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Given the tourist trap nature of NM, some of this is to be expected but I have no future plans in returning, ever. We were actually looking at some retirement property and after this trip, no way will we go back.

The highway in front of the motel was being redone which isn't their fault but I could see it being difficult to get in regardless. Very overpriced for the quality of stay. Only upstairs rooms were available and it has no elevator, if you have to bring in 3 trips worth of belongings, and in this area I wouldn't leave anything in the vehicle I didn't have to.

Never did find a decent place to eat, finally heard about the Mex food joint/restaurant that was supposedly world renown----like every place we went in NM, service was poor to non-existent and the food was what I would expect at the cheaper places to eat at home. 3/10 at best.

Parking was sparse, bikes/trucks/boom-boom music heard round the clock, nothing pleasant about the atmosphere. I guess if you like casinos, this may be your place. It isn't ours and we won't be back.

Forgot about the barking dog----but I/we like dogs and can tolerate that alot easier than some of the other issues.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espanola
11.5 km away
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#53 of 60 in Santa Fe
90 reviews
21.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
15.3 km away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Alamos
15.5 km away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
937 reviews
24.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Los Alamos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 604 S Riverside Dr Ste B, Espanola, NM 87532-3474 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Espanola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Espanola
Espanola Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing