We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Fort Sumner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fort Sumner
New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not very clean”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

My family stayed at the Super 8 for two nights to attend a family member's high school graduation. The room was dirty, a peanut in plain sight next to the bed (that was not left by me), the bathroom floors felt like they had been mopped with dirty water and there was a large, empty bag of horse feed found in one of the drawers. I would not walk around barefooted in the place. It was disgusting and if it ever comes down to having to rent a room in that town again, it will be at one of the little privately own motels for $40 a night rather than the over $75.00 we paid for that place.
The breakfast was ok and the bed was surprisingly comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoNAnNa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    34
    15
    11
See reviews for
29
29
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We were tired from a long day of driving and very happy to find this standard, clean, and modern Super 8, with all the normal amenities, including wireless internet service on the plains of eastern New Mexico. It’s not expensive, but is about $20 more than the other two local motels in Fort Sumner…at least from the outside, it appears to be worth the difference. One prior reviewer commented on the noise of freight trains, which pass through Fort Sumner regularly, but the tracks are a fair distance from the Super 8, and even though you can hear the trains as they pass, they weren’t loud enough to disturb our sleep. For dinner and a drink, you can’t do better than Fred’s Lounge, across the highway and about a block to the west. Excellent breakfast can be found down the highway about ½ mile at Sadie's, although they are closed on Tuesday and Wednesday.

  • Liked — Clean, dependable and available.
  • Disliked — Nothing,
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mac_the_wild_rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

There's not alot of choice of places to stay in Fort Sumner, and they're probably all about the same. We stayed here for 1 night (which is all you would really want to) and we had a large room with 2 Queen beds and a sitting area, which was clean and functional. However, there was no soundproofing and we had noisy neighbours and we could also hear the TV from reception underneath us. Also a railway line ran nearby, with trains running regularly all night, and the trains all sounded their horns on approaching Fort Sumner. The breakfast area was tiny (2 small tables to sit at) and breakfast consisted of cereals,bagels to toast and donuts. It was all just adequate. The best thing was the laundry room with a good washer and dryer, and also ironing board and iron were provided on request. In the evening we ate at Fred's (turn right out of hotel and about 1/2 mile on opposite side of road). Full of locals and good food.

  • Liked — The laundry facilities
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffandGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
early,texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

The people were friendly and the bed was so comfortable. The trains all night long was another thing. We checked in around
1 a.m. and there must have been a train go by about every 45 minutes. Other than the trains it was great!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txblondie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

I booked 45 days in advance and called 2 weeks prior to checking in to confirm my reservation. If you stay here take website print outs from Super 8 and/or the names of people you spoke with in your transactions. The desk sent me to a smoking room which I specifically did not ask for, then to a room without frig or microwave which I did ask for. It took about 45 minutes to finally make it right. They also ended up charging me a few bucks more but I was too tired to battle that issue. On the bright side it was clean and quiet.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank najean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Kansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2006

Just a very average Super 8. Nothing wrong with it. Noting great. Clean and quiet. I'd stay again but might also checkout the Bill the Kid Motel across the street?

  • Liked — Newest place in Fort Sumner.
  • Disliked — Funky smell
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kansascloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Super 8 Fort Sumner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fort Sumner

Property: Super 8 Fort Sumner
Address: 1599 E Sumner Ave, Fort Sumner, NM 88119-9363
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Fort Sumner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fort Sumner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Fort Sumner 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Fort Sumner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ft. Sumner Hotel Fort Sumner
Super Eight Fort Sumner
Fort Sumner Super 8
Fort Sumner Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing