We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breath takingly beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Jemez Springs, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breath takingly beautiful”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived late at night, totally oblivous to the natural surroundings. It was a little hard to find, but well worth the effort. The cottage was incredibly comfortable and welcoming. In the morning, we were awe-struck by the majestic beauty outside our windows and awaiting on the back deck. The view is one of the prettiest in Jemez canyon

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect little house!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I met 25 years ago up in the Jemez Mountains and Desert Willow made the perfect place to celebrate this anniversary.

For just a bit more than a typical bedroom in a BnB, you get an entire house with two bedrooms, full kitchen and a private back deck. There is no breakfast but with a wee bit of planning ahead, the well-supplied kitchen will meet all your needs.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leatheran...
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dragonfly Cottage”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We rented the cottage at Desert Willow for four nights at the end of April. Loved it!!!! Jemez Springs is a little community that has it all. Scenery, vistas, hiking, hot springs, waterfalls, Native American history, Spanish mission history, mountains, shopping, galleries, restaurants and more within a charming, intimate setting. Dragonfly cottage was equally charming, very well equipped and completely comfortable. The magnificent cliff face off the back deck combined with the sounds of the burbling brook at the rear of the property was serene and relaxing. Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald E
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“We love the Desert Willow!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My wife and I and our adult son stayed here for 2 nights in December while on a get-away to New Mexico. Our son lived in Albuquerque for several years and we visited him several times during that time and really enjoyed Jemez Springs- so we returned there for our short vacation. We’ve also stayed at the Desert Willow several times and find it a relaxing “homey” place to stay.
Our reservation and subsequent check-in process went well but then we’ve done this before and Leone knows us. The cottage has a very comfortable dining area and living room that run together with a nice kitchen area. The living room has a small fireplace in it although we weren’t able to get a fire going- maybe should have had some of those waxed fire-starters. There are two bedrooms- comfortable beds. Only small complaint is there is no closet space- just hooks on the back of the door. The bathroom is decent and everything is always clean and neat.
The kitchen is well-equipped and typically there are things there like coffee and sugar, etc. We actually didn’t cook on this trip although we have on previous visits.
The cottage has a nice deck on one side with a grill for outdoor cooking. It was a little too cool in December to use it but we’ve done so in the past. Now, perhaps the best thing here is the view of the canyon from the deck area. It’s stunning! There’s nothing better than sitting on the deck, having a few beers, and enjoying that view. There is a nice little river that runs along the back of the property too with a path running down to it. It’s just a delightful spot.
So we enjoy and recommend the Desert Willow Inn. It’s a great place to stay when you’re visiting Jemez Springs- which is a great place to visit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloodsmok...
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“my most fond memories of a vaca ever.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

I stayed at this spot a few years back, and it just hit me that i had to write this review. I was blown away. it was an amazing place. amazing location. a little bit hard to find, but when we woke up in the morning, we were on the bottom of a majestic cliff. there was a stream we could hear as we stepped out into the light snow. The steam was coming off the hot tub and was so inviting. the breakfast was amazing. I loved it and i will go back to visit soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wannagoto...
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Desert Willow, Jemez Springs, NM”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from our first visit to Jemez and found the Desert Willow to be a perfect base to enjoy day trips in the area with our Albuquerque daughter and her family. We found the cottage very comfortable for four adults and one six year old. The location is excellent with astounding scenery to enjoy from the deck over coffee and tea in the morning and dinner in the evening. Don’t forget to bring your binoculars for ID’ing the birds!
The kitchen was well equipped for our meal prep to pack lunches for outings and simple evening dinners. Breakfast provided at Hiway 4 Café was enjoyed by all. The breakfast burritos were very good, as were the quiche (our grandson said they were delicious) and the baked oatmeal with fruit and yogurt.
If you visit during warm weather be sure to check out the river/stream out back. We were all six years old again playing in the water in the evening and our grandson is still talking about the “ridiculous” time we had with the crawdads we caught in the stream!
Thanks to Leone for providing a reasonably priced, private place where families can let their hair down, unwind, enjoy each other’s company and make wonderful memories.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyH267
Lubbock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Private, wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed December 28, 2011 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

This is the best place to stay in Jemez Springs! The two bedroom cottage has heated floors, beautiful decor, and a full kitchen! Nice plush towels and lots of them! The beds are very firm and feature lovely quilts. The fact that it comes with breakfast as well makes it the best deal in town! The hostess, Leone, makes you feel like you are an old friend who just stopped by to visit. She even let us check out DVDs on her account at the local library since there is no video store in town.

Her husband, Bob, runs the Highway 4 Cafe up the road, which is where you go to get breakfast, and we recommend the carne avodobo burrito. The spicy red sauce will make you sweat!

Be sure to purchase your groceries in ABQ or San Ysidro since there are no grocery stores in Jemez Springs.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing