We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cabin, Great Location, But.....”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Jemez Springs, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
T M
Florence, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Cabin, Great Location, But.....”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our week at the Dragonfly. Cabin is just outside of "downtown" Jemez Springs and therefore centrally located for enjoying various areas / attractions of the mountains. Cabin has a great deck out back that we sat on every night. It is equipped with all you need for cooking during a stay. It was clean and beds were comfortable. No need to repeat what all the other great reviews already state.

But I will point out two items that as a renter you should be aware of:
1) The ad states the cabin has AC. It is not AC in the traditional sense that non-natives to the area understand. My wife is from New Mexico and they were raised calling this unit a "swamp cooler". It merely atomizes water into the air and the naturally dry environment evaporates the water, therefore cooling the air. In normal conditions for this area, it may be adequate, but the day we arrived, the thermometer indicated 102F. It was miserable in the cabin until 9:30 that night. The unit struggled on other days to keep up. So cabin does not have AC.
2) The ad also states that wifi internet is available. But it was totally useless. Could not connect to any website. And with our mobile service provider, we had no data signal on our phones. So be prepared for being totally disconnected. Normally not a big issue for a vacationer, but unfortunately I had to stay in contact with my employer through the week. So I had to use available wifi when visiting attractions / restaurants when we ventured out to other cities.

Even with these two disappointments, we still had a really great time and would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of AC and wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susurrade...
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and well equipped house in Jemez area-excellent value”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed the Dragonfly Cottage and would recommend it to others. The beds were extremely comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. Everything was very clean. We loved the touring materials available to read at the house. We didn't cook much but it was outfitted with a lot of utensils and condiments and spices - better than other vacation rentals we've stayed at. Two really minor drawbacks we think might be good to note. The cottage is not noisy at all but it isn't as remote as it might seem in the photos. The driveway is right off the main highway. This does make it convenient to getting to and from! Also, there is barely functioning wifi and the valley as a whole is a bit of a cell phone hole so most times at the cottage we were "not connected". There is good free wifi service at the coffee house up the road though. Owner very responsive and easy to work out check in and check out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect "homebase" during our vacation. ”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My family and I recently stayed at the Dragonfly Cottage and we loved it. It is a very bright and cheery cottage. The view out the back is amazing. The owners are building a deck on the river and when it's finished, it is going to make it hard to leave the cottage to go do anything else.

Checking in and out was a breeze. The house has everything you need, from comfortable beds to pots and pans. We stopped by a grocery on the way there and I grilled and cooked and had everything I needed. If you are a big TV watcher...you'll need to find something else to do. While there is a TV and a movie collection, the TV is the size of a laptop screen. We never even thought to turn it on. The stargazing was better than anything that would have been on.

Located on Hwy 4, the cottage is convenient to a lot of local attractions and is not too far from Albuquerque or Santa Fe. I highly recommend the Dragonfly Cottage to anyone who is going to be in that part of the state.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara_M_Ar...
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cosy cabin for getting away from it all”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A 2 night stay with my mom and step-dad in June was a delight. The 2 small bedrooms provide ample room for 4 adults and the kitchen has everything you need to cook all your meals. The back deck is lovely for eating out, with the sheer cliffs as your backdrop. Our final morning was chilly enough that we needed to use the fireplace, which was a delightful addition to our coffee!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biomarcy
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Really wonderful and restful place to stay while in the Jemez Springs/Los Alamos area. Great kitchen amenities, comfortable beds, and great sitting room suitable for enjoying a film after a day of hiking. Very quiet even though located on a main road. Would definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breath takingly beautiful”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived late at night, totally oblivous to the natural surroundings. It was a little hard to find, but well worth the effort. The cottage was incredibly comfortable and welcoming. In the morning, we were awe-struck by the majestic beauty outside our windows and awaiting on the back deck. The view is one of the prettiest in Jemez canyon

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect little house!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I met 25 years ago up in the Jemez Mountains and Desert Willow made the perfect place to celebrate this anniversary.

For just a bit more than a typical bedroom in a BnB, you get an entire house with two bedrooms, full kitchen and a private back deck. There is no breakfast but with a wee bit of planning ahead, the well-supplied kitchen will meet all your needs.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing