We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Things aren't always as they seem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojo Caliente
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Things aren't always as they seem”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The service at this property leaves a little to be desired. From the desk clerks to the restaurant servers. We started our excursion by calling to try and re-schedule our evening massage to another day, and was told we are still going to charge you for the massage. The lunch the next day in their restaurant was met by another person who told me, that he would not be able to do what I asked and that he had the rest of the restaurant to take care of and left.
That night in the room it felt sweltering and the thermostat although said it was on cool was kicking out heat. When we informed the desk upon our check-out, they said it doesn't cool because that isn't hooked up yet, and "sorry". I suggested they might want to tell people that and maybe offer a fan. The Supervisor thought that sounded like a good suggestion.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shawnkirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori C, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We appreciate the opportunity to address the concerns you raised.

We apologize for the misunderstanding which occurred regarding the rescheduling of your spa treatments. The customer service representative you spoke with may have thought you wished to cancel your appointments. While we do have a 24-hour cancellation policy for spa treatments, we are more than happy to reschedule treatments free of charge if at all possible. Your comments regarding your dining experience were immediately shared with our Chef, as we agree that your experience was not acceptable. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention, as it is our desire and intention that all of our guests receive genuinely gracious and accommodating hospitality in all service areas.

We apologize too that your room was too warm for your comfort. We utilize geothermal technology to heat and cool the suites, and this is slower to respond than a conventional central heating and air conditioning system. It is normal for these rooms to take several hours to change temperature. As a result of your comments, we have reminded our housekeepers to verify the proper thermostat settings in all of our rooms, and we will make every attempt to provide better information to our guests as to how our systems function. In the future, please be sure to report any problems to our Front Desk staff so that our maintenance staff can immediately address them.

I would like to discuss your experience with you personally, and ask that you contact me at your convenience via my direct phone number at (505) 583-3221.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    327
    105
    60
    49
See reviews for
148
598
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Ojo Caliente feels amazing, like being transported to another place entirely. My sister and I split a "High Desert Getaway for Two" for her birthday. Since she lived in the area, we made a day trip instead of staying the night (the spa has specials for NM residents as well). Be sure to plan ahead as the private soak and massage needs to be scheduled prior to arrival. Since we had a spa package, our lockers were complimentary. We also had robes, flip flops, towels, and toiletries. If you do not have a spa package, you'll have to bring your own and pay for a locker rental on top of admission.

First we took advantage of the several pools available. Our favorite was the mud bath, which is available seasonally. I forgot to bring sunscreen, so we had to buy some in the gift shop and it was predictably expensive. The pools were amazing. Since there were several to choose from, we were able to move to a different area if we were feeling crowded.

For our private soak, we were given a small pool enclosed on three sides. The fourth side was open to the beautiful cliff-side. The desert scenery added with the breeze and the soak was the perfect combination for tranquility. My sister and I took turns floating in the tub (even though the tub was plenty big enough for more people) and reading our books on the deck chairs. We did not have a fire going in the fireplace because of burn restrictions that year. We then went to our private massage appointments (which were in separate rooms). The whole day of soaking had loosened a lot of my tension already and made the massage more effective.

We did not have a dinner reservation, but were seated immediately at the wine bar. In a way, I thought it was a little more fun because we were able to chat with the bartender as he served the wines. Our food was excellent. I would recommend a reservation, though. After we arrived, the bar area and restaurant began to fill up. My sister and I decided it was an amazing experience. Next time we plan to bring our husbands and spend a few days.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aer0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My fiancé and I got away for our birthdays after a really busy few weeks--we drove up from Santa Fe. The service is remarkable at Ojo, we felt genuinely welcomed. Our Pueblo Suite was huge and so comfy--we built a fire after dinner and it was really romantic. Private tub, spa treatments (very special Ancient Echoes treatment) and the new Kiva Pool all exceeded our expectations. This is a New Mexico spa: relaxed, rugged but refined, and totally influenced by the surrounding landscape. I felt reconnected with my home and truly felt we got away from it all even though its only a short one hour drive.

Room Tip: The Pueblo, Plaza and Cliffside Suites all get you access to the new Kiva Pool, which is totally wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenandmattsantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

During mid February my wife and I spent four wonderful days at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs in New Mexico. Our north cabin was immaculate, comfortable and quiet. Every single service staff performed beyond our expectations, treating us with courtesy and respect, going out of their way to make our stay fabulous. The hot springs themselves were everything we could have wanted, clean, healthy and fun. And, of course, the Artesian Restaurant in the old hotel served marvelous food in a gorgeous setting. The spa at night was magnificent and the pinon pine fireplaces fun to sit around. We did yoga and found the yert yoga site very restful and the instructor Cherie an expert in her field. This trip could not have been better---and we had a special deal that stretched our dollars.

Room Tip: North cabins are perfect.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylord D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Ojo was so much more than I had expected. My friend and I spent 5 wonderful days there in total relaxation. Accommodations were super and the staff was incredible....from front desk to therapists to housecleaning....I will be returning! I have spent time at many spas throughout the US and also Mexico and this spa gets an A+. Forgot to mention that the restaurant is also excellent and they even shared one of their recipes with us. Thank you again, Jorjett, spa coordinator, for making this stay so peaceful and relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabins and were quite comfortable...especially liked having the kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJeanO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Great place!! Quiet, not huge...very comfortable and the pools are great!!
The restaurant was tooooooo pricey....separate charges for salad etc. In town there is a small restaurant....cant remember the name..."___?___ View" Very good and a lot cheaper!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middletown
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Okay so my review is a bit late, my hubby and I went for 7 nights 8 days in 2010 and we loved every second of it. We are hot springs junkies and we love going to health retreats as well, so this is right up our ally. There are so many wonderful details, I could write a book so I am going to keep it short by saying you will not be disappointed by making a choice to visit Ojo. By the way, camping is not hte way too go here, stay in the hotel or cabins. We are looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pueho126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojo Caliente
25.4 km away
Abiquiu Inn
Abiquiu Inn
#1 of 3 in Abiquiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
29.9 km away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
34.7 km away
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.7 km away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
39.8 km away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Ojo Caliente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is one of the oldest natural health resorts in the country. Our sulphur-free, geothermal mineral waters have flowed from a subterranean volcanic aquifer for thousands of years. Over 100,000 gallons per day come to the surface, revitalizing those who soak in the long believed, healing waters. We offer a variety of lodging accommodations, including new enchanting suites and charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments and private outdoor pools before you arrive. We also offer spa treatments, pools, hiking and biking trails, a wine bar and lounge and a full-service restaurant. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Heal yourself body and soul with a retreat to Ojo. Whether it's for a weekend or a longer stay, you'll leave rejuvenated and refreshed. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Hotel Ojo Caliente
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing