We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hot Springs in the US” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojo Caliente
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Certificate of Excellence
Naples
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Hot Springs in the US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Ojo Caliente is a hot springs spa resort about an hour north of Santa Fe. There is not much shopping or dining nearby so it is a good thing that the resort has great food and drink. We visited in 2002 for two nights and stayed in one of the north cabins, sort of a standard room with a basic kitchen.

There are four main pools and a big lower temperature kids and social pool. The iron pool is the hottest at 104 and has a gravel base. The covered soda pool is great when it is really cold at about 101.The two round iron and arsenic pools are about 99 to 101.

This time we got a Plaza Suite so we could take advantage of a new Kiva pool that is restricted to hotel guests in the adjacent suites. It opens earlier and stays open later than the public pools in the main hot springs. I would absolutely recommend the suite section for that reason alone. Floating in the 1010 degree water and watching shooting stars was fantastic. Our suite had a fireplace and the housekeeping staff cleaned out the burned logs and reset the fire with fresh wood and paper while we soaked or hiked.

We had big breakfasts and dinners at the Ojo restaurant but ended up not having lunch as we were on a long hike one day and a day trip to Taos the next. Food is fresh and excellent; there is a good beer and wine selection. Prices were lower than what we are used to paying in Naples so we felt like it was a great deal. The staff was friendly and attentive. Really, most everyone we met in New Mexico seemed in a good mood.

The new suites and improvements to the restaurant and check in area were a great addition. We had a hot stone massage, deep tissue and a neck and back release. All three were excellent with talented therapists and lovely well appointed rooms.

We enjoyed our stay and found everything to be pretty much perfect. There was one issue that was an exception to that perfection. This is something the resort cannot readily control. There was much more loud conversation in the pools that when we were here before, maybe as it was spring break this time. The hot pools are whisper zones with signs posted etc. When you are relaxing in a lovely natural hot pool and losing yourself in the moment it can be a downer to have a couple of college kids blah blahing over their social life. Fortunately cell phones are banned in the springs and restaurant so at least any loud yakking is directed at a person not a device.

There are several good hikes from Ojo Caliente. We did the pueblo ruins and the Mica mine. Both hikes get you out in nice rugged terrain and the natural vegetation of this arid location

Room Tip: Access to the Kiva Pool is a must! Fireplace in winter only. Early morning and late afternoon best t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wethiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful and informative review. We greatly appreciate your compliments and observations concerning the Springs and our recent enhancements.

We apologize that you were disturbed by the conversation of guests during your recent stay. We’ve listened to our guest feedback and have a plan in place to create two separate Whisper environments within the Springs. Our intention is that the Iron, Soda, Cliffside Pools, the Private Outdoor Pools, and the Kiva Pool for lodging guests will be maintained as a Whisper Zone to provide the tranquil experience that Ojo is known for and what draws our visitor’s to these sacred waters. The area including the Large pool, the Aresenic Pool and a new Mud Area will be designated as a more relaxed zone, enabling more socialization among our guests. We are working to fine-tune this new policy so that all of our guests will have an enjoyable experience in the Springs.

Your comments and observations are very important to us, and we are grateful for your continued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    325
    104
    59
    49
See reviews for
145
586
64
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

The mineral springs at this hotel were great. I really enjoyed all their mineral springs and will defiantly be going back for this. The hotel was a relaxing environment, except in the room we got had no shower, needed to walk to the springs to dressing room to take shower. The room was in the old building. The big restrooms in that building were closed and had a foul Oder coming from them that could be smelled from our room. The restaurant on site was ok. The prices were high for the quality of the food. The waitress we got was horrible and acted like a child. I went with a group of women, when we asked her if we could separate the bill she said, you were supposed to tell me that before. So I said I will do it for you. That was the last we saw if her, she had other staff members come help us the rest of the evening. So all-in-all springs are Great! Other stuff needs improvement.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValerieG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed our peaceful atmosphere and healing mineral waters.

We apologize for the inconvenience of the hotel restrooms being closed during your visit. Maintenance was being done to separate pipes and this quite probably accounted for the temporary unpleasant smell. The renovations being made should be complete by the end of this week.

It is our mission to provide genuinely gracious and accommodating hospitality to all of our guests. Regretfully, it would appear that we fell short of this objective recently as it relates to service in the Artesian Restaurant. Please accept our sincerest apologies and know that this matter was immediately addressed with our Chef and Dining Room Manager. We do ask that our guests inform their server before ordering of a request for split checks. In this way, we can ensure smooth transactions and minimum disruption in the dining room. However, there is never an excuse for lackluster service. When our guests in the Artesian do not like their server FOR ANY REASON we will promptly and courteously assign a different server to the table, no questions asked.

Thank you again for your patronage and taking the time to provide us with important information relating to your recent visit; we assure you that it has been applied constructively towards our ongoing efforts to maximize customer service and guest satisfaction at Ojo. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you with the genuinely gracious and accommodating hospitality that you deserve. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you about your experience and ask that you contact me at (505) 583-3221.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I went to ojo caliente last year for a couple of hours after skiing and decided to return overnight for a more "complete" experience this year. We called on Monday for Thursday reservations and were told to book online. Online booking didn't work and so we called again and were told there was one room left in the hotel and because we had looked online they couldn't book us. After getting cut off, telling us to wait 25 minutes, the person was able to book us in the last available room. We believed them because it was right off the lobby and the sink didn't drain and the toilet ran to the point of leaking. We gave our lift tickets for 20% discount but the price wasn't adjusted until I thought about it and went back to make sure the price was right. It was crowded when we arrived...BUT all that said, once the crowds thinned out the pools were wonderful. I had a massage that was very good. Dinner and breakfast in the Artesian restaurant were both excellent ( and we are foodies)! We especially enjoyed the morning before we left as the crowds were minimal, it was quiet and very tranquil. We thought one night would be enough but we decided we needed more time to enjoy the pools, the spa and an upgraded room to truly enjoy. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljschuhm1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Ojo. We are grateful for your compliments and continued patronage!

We apologize for the difficulty you experienced with regard to making your reservations, and in reaching a representative here to assist you. Spring Break season is typically a bustling time for us; however, that is no excuse for poor service. Your comments have been addressed with our Guest Services Director to determine what caused the break-down in communication and to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. In addition, our maintenance department was made aware of the problems with your hotel room so that proper repairs can be made. We hope you took the opportunity to alert the front desk staff to these issues during your stay.

We're happy to announce that we have several improvement projects underway including new Men's Changing Areas and new Mud Area that we plan to have finished by the end of May. We hope that you will return soon and spend more time here at Ojo. We are both blessed and challenged by Ojo's increase in popularity and will continue fine-tuning our services to provide our guests with the experience Ojo is known for. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and for your suggestions and observations.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

The entire family enjoyed the trip up from Santa Fe to Ojo Caliente. The property is very nice in beautiful surroundings and has a classy spa feel. There are 6 mineral pools each with its own style and reported benefits. One of the pools is full size swimming pool at 86 degrees that the kids enjoy. My favorite pool was Iron Pool. It was 104 with three water spickets and a small stone rock bottom that really added to the experience.

They also have full service spa services and yoga classes. This would be an awesome home base for a ski trip to Taos and Santa Fe. The hot springs after a day on the slopes would be awesome.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowdyRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We hadn't been up to Ojo since the additions and remodel, and the grounds looked great. We had a great meal at the restaurant, great massage and facial too. We didn't bring our kids, and I was very glad, as the "whisper only" policy was indeed enforced by guys carrying around "Please whisper" signs. The trails above the springs are now labeled and great for biking or hiking. The only caveat: The room we stayed in at the old hotel was a bargain on a Sunday at $139, but there was a reason for that: Our room adjoined another room and we could hear everything (EVERYTHING) that was going on in the room next door. If you are accustomed to a little more privacy, definitely spring for the upgrade in rooms. We didn't mind the lack of shower and the small size of the room, but hearing conversations from the room next door was a bit much.

Room Tip: Avoid old hotel if you want privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit to Ojo and our latest enhancements. Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa is one of the most unique and authentically New Mexican experiences that one can have, and we have made a conscious effort to maintain our lodging and spa offerings so that they are accessible to as large a group of people as possible and do not become exclusive.

As you may know, the Historic Hotel was built in 1916 and has the charm and character of an older building including many original architectural features. That being said, it is our goal for all of our guests to enjoy a restful and tranquil visit, and we appreciate your feedback.

We have always welcomed well-behaved children with parental supervision to Ojo. In our effort to provide a quiet and tranquil experience for all of our guests, we offer the following accommodations for children: children under age 2 enter free with a parent or guardian; children ages 13 years old and younger are welcome with parental supervision from 10 am and 6 pm in the Large Pool only, and any time in Private Pools for an additional cost. Children must be 14 years of age to enter all other pools. In addition, we are in the process of creating two distinct noise level areas in the Springs; one with a more relaxed noise policy where our guests can be more social, while still maintaining the tranquil environment; and another area continuing the more serene Whisper Policy to provide the sacred and peaceful surroundings that have drawn people to Ojo for thousands of years.

We are most grateful for your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you again soon. If I can be of further assistance or answer any questions for you, please do not hesitate to contact me at eric@ojospa.com.


Sincerely,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

One of the most beautiful, magical places I've ever been. The spa is perfectly situated in the natural environment. Staff is friendly and polite, the food is delicious. The mineral pools are delightful. Reserving the private pool is definitely worth the money. The smell of the crackling pinon wood, the cold desert night air, millions of stars above, the cacti and cliff alongside the pool....a night I will treasure forever. Even our children, who are tween to early teen, loved everything about it, especially quietly swinging in the hammocks. We rented the small adobe house, which was gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowdog21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

A friend and I from out of town visited Ojo in Sept 2013. I've been there many times and enjoy the mineral pools, store, massages, and delicious restaurant... This time I accidentally left my jacket and blouse in the room closet. We were staying for the day, so we checked out and when I remembered later after being in the pools I asked to see if they had turned up.. Not only did they not turn up, but I waited about two weeks after calling to speak to the manager . I had called many times (had to wait for the laundry,.etc....) and was told they could not be found. Never once did the manager offer to make restitution though they did say they were sorry....I thought that Ojo had more class, but alas they are a far cry from 10,000 waves in Santa Fe!!! If you go be extremely careful with all of your belongings, double check everything!!

Room Tip: Be diligent and careful with all of your belongings, lock them in your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trischita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the problems you experienced during your recent visit. We sincerely appreciate your continued patronage and are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed Ojo on numerous occasions.

We have recently initiated a pre-service room inspection program that will be conducted by a supervisor or manager. All guest rooms will be checked for left-behind items to ensure that they promptly make it to our lost and found and to assist in preventing the frustration you experienced. It is our goal and mission to provide our guests with the highest level of customer service, and we apologize that we fell short in responding to your inquiries.

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly about your experience and ask that you call me at (505) 583-3221. Your comments and observations are very important to us, and every effort will be made to address these issues to be sure that they are resolved.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojo Caliente
34.3 km away
Santa Claran Hotel Casino
25.6 km away
Abiquiu Inn
Abiquiu Inn
#1 of 3 in Abiquiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
29.9 km away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.7 km away
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
34.7 km away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
39.7 km away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Ojo Caliente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is one of the oldest natural health resorts in the country. Our sulphur-free, geothermal mineral waters have flowed from a subterranean volcanic aquifer for thousands of years. Over 100,000 gallons per day come to the surface, revitalizing those who soak in the long believed, healing waters. We offer a variety of lodging accommodations, including new enchanting suites and charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments and private outdoor pools before you arrive. We also offer spa treatments, pools, hiking and biking trails, a wine bar and lounge and a full-service restaurant. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Heal yourself body and soul with a retreat to Ojo. Whether it's for a weekend or a longer stay, you'll leave rejuvenated and refreshed. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Hotel Ojo Caliente
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing