We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value,walk to chair lift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great value,walk to chair lift”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed here for one night in February to go skiing. The room was a great price and it was clean and comfortable. We had a room with a gas fireplace, which was nice. The ski area is set up such that you could stay at several different hotel/lodges (including this one) and be within walking distance to one of the lifts.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megs828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    44
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
81
84
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have always enjoyed our stay at the Alpine. We have always chosen their cabins with the convenience of having a kitchen. This time we chose the 3 bedroom, we travel with our son and his 2 best friends - this cabin has been our favorite thus far. Very roomy, and the one bedroom has 2 bunk beds, and a king size bed, with its own bathroom. What we like was after family time later in the evening the guys hooked their game system in this room and had their time, which left my husband and I still had the living area to relax, read or watch t.v. When we were ready to go to bed it was quiet and the guys could still have their fun time. We also like the convenience of having washers and dryers on site. Location is within walking distance of the shops and ski area. Staff always makes you feel welcome. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on our annual trips to Red River.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My fiancee and I just returned from a quick ski trip to Red River. We found the Alpine Lodge online and booked a king suite based on location, pictures, and reviews. The woman who checked us in told us about the kiosk by the lift where we bought our lift tickets. Everything about the trip was so easy and convenient. The Ski Area is right next to the lodge. We rented skiis right across the street. And we ate at a steak place also across the road. It was a great weekend.

Room Tip: Pick one with a ski view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtthwsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Checking out tomorrow but wanted to share my thoughts on our stay at the Alpine so far. We could not have had a more wonderful ski vacation. The staff here has gone out of their way to make sure everything has been perfect for us. We have really enjoyed our cabin. Having a kitchen has made meals so much easier than trying to eat out every meal (and much, much cheaper!) The fireplace has been so nice in the evenings and a hit with my husband (he loves tinkering with it ) and we all have enjoyed the hot tubs and the bonfire after skiing. We must commend the staff for keeping the tubs so clean and hot (we have stayed a lot of places where the tubs were not kept up at all and we just did not feel like using them). The location here cannot be beat. The lodge is at the primary chair lift called the Platinum chair which is the only three person chair on the mountain. (The other chair that goes all the way down to town is called the Copper and it has been broken down the whole time we have been here). The 1st day was the only time we walked to the beginner slope for rentals and lesson. After that, we just took the Platinum chair to the top the rest of the time. It was so nice not having to get back in the car each day to head to the slopes. We saw so many people struggling with all their gear it was sad. We all have had an absolute blast but are dragging today so we are heading to Taos for lunch at Michael's Kitchen and then to the hot springs in Ojo Caliente. We hate the thought of having to leave tomorrow but will be back to stay at the Alpine this summer and are already looking forward to it!

Room Tip: We researched the property online first so we had a good idea of what we wanted and what the prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_BabeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Used to go skiing in Red River when I was a teen in the 80's and I think that was the last time the Alpine was updated. Had a Magnavox TV in the room that I haven't seen for years. It would occasionally cut itself off and then back on. I've seen some showers with the water reduced but this took it to new levels. I can only describe it as a "mister" shower head, I like hard mattresses but the mattress in this place was stiff as a trampoline. If you've ever stayed in a "Best Value Inn" for 39.99 it would be on about that level but since its in a ski area i suppose $100 a night is not too bad. Checkout time is 10:00 AM by the way. Don't get a room by the stairs because you will hear everyone going up and down with ski boots even though the hotel has asked them to be quiet by posting signs.

On the positive side, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The hot tubs are locked, private, and pretty nice. Best of all, you are only a couple hundred yards from the lift.

Room Tip: Stay on the end away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We went skiing in Red River, New Mexico from Jan 2-Jan 6, 2012 and we stayed at Alpine Lodge in the stand alone log cabin. We had the best time!! The cabin was great- rustic, cozy and homey inside with a wood burning fireplace!! It had a back porch, a nice yard area, where our boys created an awesome Texas snowman and a bench to sit by the river !! Red River is a traditional, non-commercialized town with local folks running the businesses and restaurants and it was awesome !! It was relaxing, simple and perfect !! We totally enjoyed our stay, and skiing & playing there, and we will go again some day !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I highly recommend the Alpine Lodge...with a special emphasis on its suitability for families. On our first full family skiing trip, we were located within walking distance from all that the town had to offer and walking distance from the slopes. The cabin in which we stayed was clean and perfect for our family of 5; warm and cozy with all of the amenities we desired. I had questions for office staff during each of my nightly visits to the office area, and they were always helpful and polite. Due to heavy snow, we requested to lodge an extra night earlier than our reservation date. There was no hesitation and no problem. The playground was filled with snow and the nightly firepit added to the ambience. The fitness center and hot tubs were on our mind and were very accesible, but we were too snuggly in our cabin and just got lazy. Check for the package deals with the ski center because the Alpine works in partnership with their offerings...great $$$ deals! Stay at the Alpine Lodge and your trip to Red River will be a joy.

Room Tip: The cabin is great for families. Two adults and three kids had plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.2 km away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
13.2 km away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
37.9 km away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 km away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 km away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
13.3 km away
The Blake
The Blake
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge & Hotel

Property: Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Address: 417 W. Main St., Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Lodge & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian lodge located on the river, at the base of the main chair lift, on Main Street near shops and restaurants, and near ATV and hiking trails. Amenities include private-use hot tubs, fitness center, dry sauna, fireplaces (gas and wood), kitchens, guest laundry, free wi-fi in lobby, and a private park along the river with campfire at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Alpine Lodge & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lodge And Hotel
Alpine Hotel Red River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing