We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpine Lodge & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Rivers Edge(Red River)(Great Value!)
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Village Suites(Taos Ski Valley)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ryland(Red River)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ponderosa Lodge(Red River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
148
48
32
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
48
32
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverski areahot tubski liftin townwood stovegrounds are beautifulski tripwalking distancethe kitchenroom was clean and comfortablebedroom cabina great stayfire pitthe location is perfectowners and staffliving area
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have always enjoyed our stay at the Alpine. We have always chosen their cabins with the convenience of having a kitchen. This time we chose the 3 bedroom, we travel with our son and his 2 best friends - this cabin has been our favorite thus far. Very roomy, and the one bedroom has 2 bunk beds, and a king size bed, with its own bathroom. What we like was after family time later in the evening the guys hooked their game system in this room and had their time, which left my husband and I still had the living area to relax, read or watch t.v. When we were ready to go to bed it was quiet and the guys could still have their fun time. We also like the convenience of having washers and dryers on site. Location is within walking distance of the shops and ski area. Staff always makes you feel welcome. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on our annual trips to Red River.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaughn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My fiancee and I just returned from a quick ski trip to Red River. We found the Alpine Lodge online and booked a king suite based on location, pictures, and reviews. The woman who checked us in told us about the kiosk by the lift where we bought our lift tickets. Everything about the trip was so easy and convenient. The Ski Area is right next to the lodge. We rented skiis right across the street. And we ate at a steak place also across the road. It was a great weekend.

Room Tip: Pick one with a ski view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtthwsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Checking out tomorrow but wanted to share my thoughts on our stay at the Alpine so far. We could not have had a more wonderful ski vacation. The staff here has gone out of their way to make sure everything has been perfect for us. We have really enjoyed our cabin. Having a kitchen has made meals so much easier than trying to eat out every meal (and much, much cheaper!) The fireplace has been so nice in the evenings and a hit with my husband (he loves tinkering with it ) and we all have enjoyed the hot tubs and the bonfire after skiing. We must commend the staff for keeping the tubs so clean and hot (we have stayed a lot of places where the tubs were not kept up at all and we just did not feel like using them). The location here cannot be beat. The lodge is at the primary chair lift called the Platinum chair which is the only three person chair on the mountain. (The other chair that goes all the way down to town is called the Copper and it has been broken down the whole time we have been here). The 1st day was the only time we walked to the beginner slope for rentals and lesson. After that, we just took the Platinum chair to the top the rest of the time. It was so nice not having to get back in the car each day to head to the slopes. We saw so many people struggling with all their gear it was sad. We all have had an absolute blast but are dragging today so we are heading to Taos for lunch at Michael's Kitchen and then to the hot springs in Ojo Caliente. We hate the thought of having to leave tomorrow but will be back to stay at the Alpine this summer and are already looking forward to it!

Room Tip: We researched the property online first so we had a good idea of what we wanted and what the prices were. We also saw photos of the rooms.We could have booked online but decided to call because we still had some questions.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V_BabeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Used to go skiing in Red River when I was a teen in the 80's and I think that was the last time the Alpine was updated. Had a Magnavox TV in the room that I haven't seen for years. It would occasionally cut itself off and then back on. I've seen some showers with the water reduced but this took it to new levels. I can only describe it as a "mister" shower head, I like hard mattresses but the mattress in this place was stiff as a trampoline. If you've ever stayed in a "Best Value Inn" for 39.99 it would be on about that level but since its in a ski area i suppose $100 a night is not too bad. Checkout time is 10:00 AM by the way. Don't get a room by the stairs because you will hear everyone going up and down with ski boots even though the hotel has asked them to be quiet by posting signs.

On the positive side, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The hot tubs are locked, private, and pretty nice. Best of all, you are only a couple hundred yards from the lift.

Room Tip: Stay on the end away from the stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We went skiing in Red River, New Mexico from Jan 2-Jan 6, 2012 and we stayed at Alpine Lodge in the stand alone log cabin. We had the best time!! The cabin was great- rustic, cozy and homey inside with a wood burning fireplace!! It had a back porch, a nice yard area, where our boys created an awesome Texas snowman and a bench to sit by the river !! Red River is a traditional, non-commercialized town with local folks running the businesses and restaurants and it was awesome !! It was relaxing, simple and perfect !! We totally enjoyed our stay, and skiing & playing there, and we will go again some day !!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews