We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveller rating
886
113
22
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
886
113
22
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite watering hole sabi sands bush walk luxury room wild dogs huge deck herd of elephants before dinner water hole hoedspruit airport safari experience outdoor shower three nights the reserve buffet style general staff
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2018

We consider ourself so lucky with our game drives , very knowledgeable driver who was on a mission to find wild life & did , a pride of 12 lions “just” brought a baby giraffe down but then fir another pride to come in & fight the 12 for the kill , it all kicked off & we was 6 feet away , we also see Hugh Rhino , elephants, hippo, leopard, eagle owl, Hyinas plus lots more & all that was with just 2 drives , we only stayed 1 night but wished we’d stayed 2 or 3 , food was ok but not fantastic but we didn’t go for that , so so pleased we stayed here , staff very good .

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review and compliments! I am delighted that you called us the highlight of your holiday! Please do visit us again one day. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018

We had the best three night stay! The staff couldn't do enough for us and our guide and tracker, Arnold and Derek were incredible...awesome knowledge and answered our hundreds of questions! The food was so good!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katyX88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review, for calling us an amazing stay and for mentioning that the staff could not do enough for you. I am glad that you enjoyed the food. Please do visit us again some day. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018

This was our first and so far, only, safari. It greatly surpassed our expectations, and I think a lot of that has to do with the great staff here. Their genuine enthusiasm for wildlife and the drives are hugely educational. I would definitely have no reservations staying with Elephant Plains again, and suggest a safari is an experience everyone should enjoy at least once in their lives.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad to read that your safari experience here greatly surpassed your expectations. Thank you also, for mentioning our staff's enthusiasm. Please do visit us again one day. We would love to welcome you back! Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018

It was our second trip in to Elephants Plains and again we enjoyed it so much. Wonderful People and an amazing lodge. We stayed for five nights and every gamedrive was a beautyful experience. Some days we spot the big five during the morning drive and also in the evening. Unfortunately, in the evening we sat outside the fire for dinner only once despite good weather and we have no game for lunch or dinner duriung the hole time.

Room Tip: All the rooms with view to the waterhole are beautyful.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank msprengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review and compliments. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your second stay with us. We only eat indoors in the dining room when there is rain or strong winds predicted, so I am unsure why you only enjoyed one boma dinner. We do serve game meat, it might be that you missed the venison, or maybe weren't aware that you were having it. Be that as it may, please do visit us again for a third time! We love our return guests. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018

Spent four days here and loved it all. Morning and afternoon drives were always fun and lucky for us we saw the big 5! Meals were excellent and the staff very friendly. Loved the generous bed in our comfortable room!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annieray63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review and compliments on the game drives, the meals, as well as our friendly staff. I am glad that you enjoyed your generous bed! Please do return again some day! Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews