We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveller rating
898
113
23
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
898
113
23
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite watering hole sabi sands bush walk wild dogs luxury room huge deck herd of elephants before dinner hoedspruit airport water hole outdoor shower safari experience three nights the reserve buffet style general staff
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2018

Spent three nights here where we saw a wide variety of animals, met great people, had delicious food and a wonderful room, all provided by a terrific group of folks who were interested in top quality service. Only downside was our ranger and tracker were not as good as at our previous location.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Thank you very much for you kind review and compliments on the wide variety of animals, delicious food, as well as your room. I am sorry that you found the ranger and tracker team not as good as your previous location. All our guides are highly trained and skilled professionals. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Rooms with best views. Elephant plains is one of the best places to stay at Sabai Sands. Both Roane and Anel were super host. Food was excellent and its an ideal place if you travelling with kids. The rangers were friendly and we saw the Big 5 on both the days. Would highly recommend the place to anyone visiting Greater Kruger

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank JayeshB160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Thank you very much fro your kind review and compliments on the staff, the food, as well as our rooms and the game drives. Thank you also for highly recommending us. We would love to welcome you and your family back one day. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Where to begin describing a stay in which every detail was perfect? Elephant Plains Game Lodge is beautifully situated with well tended gardens throughout. The design and decor of the Lodge, Rondavales, and Suites is just right. The food exquisite and generous. The staff could not have been better - helpful, polite, efficient and friendly. Nothing could have been too much for them. The game experience exceeded our

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KatBou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and for calling us a slice of heaven on earth. That is so kind! I am glad that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you also for all the compliments on the design and decor of the lodge, the food, the staff, as well as the game drives. Please do visit us again one day! Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018

We decided to go to South Africa in just one week. We bought the ticket and chose the Elephant Plains due to TripAdvisor reviews.

I have stayed in good resorts in Cancun and Brazil. Nothing, absolutely nothing, compares to Elephant Plains!

The staff is great! Attentive treatment from the reservation: they send the map, made contact through whatsapp, super attentive and concerned about our displacement from Johannesburg to the lodge.

And what about food? Great. The culinary, in general, is very close to Brazilian food. We loved all the dishes. The breakfast, although not so close to what we eat in Brazil, is nice. The wine offered by the hotel is good, consistent with the price.

Upon check in, we filled in the form we were celebrating on the wedding anniversary. The next day we found in our room a basket of fruit, apricot, nuts and a wonderful white wine. What to say? So Wonderful!

About the games, no comments! The feeling is indisputable, the team has a lot of knowledge and explains the lives of animals. Felines are the protagonists, but we loved to observe all animals. It is a very favorable area to observe leopards, we could see leopards on three different days. We saw the Big 5. It was great.

In summary, it was a top notch experience! Everything is so good, there is nothing to improve.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Laiane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted that you chose Elephant Plains and that you found us to be wonderful! Thank you for all the lovely compliments on the staff members, the food, as well as the game drives. It is such a nice compliment that you said there is nothing to improve. We're glad you enjoyed it. Please do visit us again one day! Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at Elephant Plains. The game drives were amazing with our guide Gert Smit. We were introduced to Tiyani and Anderson the leopard. We saw lots of lions too! The food was outstanding. The only thing I would say is the bathroom in the Rondaval we stayed in needed cleaning and maybe updating. Other than that, we had a fantastic time!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank redlocks1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for the compliments on the sightings and the food. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews