We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Notten's Bush Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Notten's Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

My sister Carol and I had our first trip to Nottens in Sept 2011 - it came highly recommended by a friend and we certainly were not disappointed. We have travelled from the UK to Africa many times staying in many top quality safari lodges and Nottens now wins hands down. The people are amazing and we take our hat off to Dale and Chase in particular, nothing was to much trouble and they made sure we enjoyed ourself by always offering that little bit extra. All the guests at the time of our stay were wonderful. The rooms are spacious, clean and tasteful. The facilities are great and the food is excellent, we loved the way everyone was put together on one table for dinner - perfect for recounting stories of the day. If you are looking for a romantic setting you will find it here - all candlelight and oil lamps. Each room had a power point to enable you to recharge batteries. Having told Chase our Ranger of our search for Leopard over a 14 year period and 61 game-drives with no success - he said he'd do his best and on our very first game drive we saw a Leopard WOW! better still the next morning he found us another. We cannot recommend Nottens highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastGrinsteadEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
145
264
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Our book club had saved up for a special annual trip. We ended up at Nottens and I have to say they pulled out all the stops for a bunch of 9 laughing ladies!!!! We saw the BEST game I have ever seen in all my trips to the Bush. The Ranger (Chase) was knowledgable and EXTREMELY patient with us. Hyena, Leopards mating, Baby ellies....a leopard taking on a hyena...jackal, Gennit...abundant birds...and several bottles of bubbles!!!! I highly recommend this amazing spot to take your family or to go as a group!!! The staff are all so helpful and the lodge is subtle and unobtrusive. Rooms are all beautifully appointed and food is lovingly prepared and presented! Thanks Team Notten....from The Reference Chicks!!!!! Ps- Also had a massage that was to die for!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The-arnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Room 5 is my favourite. Beautiful view over the plain and water hole.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oz
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Absolutely fantastic. Everything about this camp was fantastic. I left with fantastic memories, having met fantastic people (both guests and staff), eaten fantastic food and seen some amazing wildlife and scenery. Ill definately be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmbsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and I (Canucks from Vancouver) visited Notten's in 1994, before we had kids. This was soon after the fences of Kruger Park came down so as to have Notten's adjacent lands flow contiguously and seamlessly into Krueger's lands. This meant unparalled wildlife and game viewing. The experience was absolutely first rate. It seemed every year we wanted to figure out a way to return to Notten's and sure enough, after 17 years, I did - but alas not with the better half. Completing business in Luanda, Angola, I managed with a colleague to stay for two eventful days and nights in Notten's. The camp has evolved wonderfully. The staff, food and game viewing were excellent. I cannot truly convey how superb Notten's is. It is a magical place. We are planning a return as a family (4 of us, with the kids now 16 and 12) in December or January upcoming. We have family near Pretoria and Capetown and our daughter's middle name is Karoo, so we have a more critical eye than most visiting South Africa.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toutelemonde123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
193 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We arrived in time for an afternoon tour. Next day, took morning and afternoon tours. We also took a bush walk with a guide in the early afternoon. On the last day, we took a morning tour. Summary: staff, vehicles and food were excellent. We saw many animals - no sense listing them - it was many. Staff was very responsive to guest needs. Candles and lanterns in rooms at night provided a unique, more authentic experience. We really liked this approach to be closer to nature. Also had an evening bbq ("braai"?) in the outdoor eating area "boma" (did I get these words right?). Go, if possible.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy2travelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We wanted to take our two girls on Safari whilst visiting family in South Africa. Nottens is one of a few places that welcomes children. We had three enjoyable days as a family with fun, excitement and relaxation for parents and kids. The rooms are stylish, comfortable and well appointed with beautiful linens and comfortable beds - and private decks with heavenly loungers facing the watering hole. It's all about the game drives -- these were well organized, comfortable, with our well informed guide and tracker, Thomas whose ebullient personality made it all the more fun. And we saw everything -- up close. The big 5 of course, a leopard playing with a mouse for several minutes, a giraffe's eyelashes, a baby rhino jumping boisterously after its mother... I could go on and on. Superb. The host and manager, Dale, is a friendly, warm person who genuinely seems to enjoy people and treats guests like visitors in his own home, and not customers. He certainly enhanced the evening meals with easy conversation and sublime barbecuing skills. Any criticisms? -- the coffee could be better - most folk are used to espresso coffee machines and really great coffee, not bad drip coffee. And the dining room staff could be a little less apathetic.
But that would be it -- kids felt free to be themselves, explore, enjoy and make friends. We left very happy and vowing to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Santraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
20.1 km away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
13.4 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
6.6 km away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
5.6 km away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#5 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
21.4 km away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notten's Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notten's Bush Camp

Property: Notten's Bush Camp
Address: 622 Hazyview, Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Notten's Bush Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notten’s Bush Camp is a jewel within the heart of the Sabi Sand Game Reserve in Mpumalanga, which means “the land of the rising sun” in the locally spoken language, Shangaan. Notten’s is an exclusive and private safari lodge personally run by the Notten family. This beautiful, intimate safari lodge is situated within one of South Africa’s finest natural sanctuaries the Sabi Sand Reserve and Greater Kruger National Park. It is a destination that will truly touch your heart and soul.Each private suite is elegantly styled, spacious and cooled by ceiling fans. A magical atmosphere is created with the purposeful absence of electric lighting; the ambient candlelight and lanterns capturing an enchanting spirit of romance. With splendid panoramic views, this private game lodge is the perfect place for peace and relaxation while watching animals meander past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Notten's Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notten`s Bush Camp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Notten's Bush Camp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing