We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing group experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arathusa Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“An amazing group experience”
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

Our group of 16 spent four days on safari...the staff was so welcoming, accommodations were excellent, safari far exceeded our expectations, guide and tracker (Phil and Rifos) were knowledgeable and very entertaining. We couldn't have had a better experience!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    102
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
113
503
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
motril
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Although offered everything that we could expect in terms of location, excellent, game drives, good sightings, and accommodation, really good, we were still left feeling that this was not as good as it promised. We think the reason is that it has a very corporate feel and staff are doing a job, whereas all other places it seemed that all concerned felt this was their vocation. Food was good and even offered exotic game meats which was nice to try, but, again rather pretentious. The villas are really good as are the communal service areas. Difficult to write a negative review as so much is good, but this is our laying impression.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoliversmotril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Our group of 16 friends stayed at Arathusa from March 16th through March 20th, 2012. The most amazing experience of all of our lives. The weather was perfect. We saw Leopards mating on our first game drive, along with elephants, giraffes, Impalas- just in the first 3 hours. The location on the edge of a watering hole - spectacular. Always able to view Hippos, and a wide variety of animals coming to drink.. We utilized 2 vehicles, so we had two Rangers, Phil and Ryan, and two Trackers, Rifus and I am sorry, can't remember the other ones name. They were so accommodating, knowledgeable and funny. The food was delicous,- got to try Kudu, Gnu and Impala- served in a gorgeous setting. The accommodations were large, comfortable- with views that I will remember for a lifetime. The staff couldn't have been better. Always checking if they could help with anything. Having Sundowners, under the stars overlooking the bush- It was a spiritual experience I feel so fortunate to have been able to have.

Room Tip: We had "economy rooms", and they had a better location and view then the more expensive lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyna14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I visited there about 31/2 weeks after the floods. We arrived a day late due European snow. On arrival we were not even asked how the delay had affected us , needless to say we had prepaid the night we missed,At the time we thought it would have been a nice touch to have been offered a small token in lieu of the meals we missed.I had e-mailed them to advise we would be 24 hrs.late and I understand someone else stayed in our room as a result. No mention by the Arathusa staff.
Our chalet was very nice,well furnished and spotless, the food was OK certainly not gourmet but adequate.
Communication between Rangers, guests and management on timings of meals and game drives was somewhat confusing ......on 3 occasions we were told wrong times.
Guides and Rangers did a good job in difficult circumstances.

Room Tip: Avoid the premium lodges,they are isolated and away from the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We spent three nights at Arathusa Safari Lodge, which we consider to be about the right time. We were so lucky to see all the animals we had hoped including spectacular sightings of a leopard up a tree. The lodge is very comfortable and the waterhole makes for good viewings of the hippos. Our ranger Ryan is truly an expert and he is aided by De Beer. No effort is spared to find the best viewings of the animals and also birds and insects. The rooms are very big and very well equipped, the food is very good and the staff very friendly. We think we made a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

As a camp owner, I came to Arathusa with 2 french people and everything was perfect and professional,from the Deluxe bungalow (huge and confortable)nested in the bush, to the very good food and of course the game drives.
Even after the terrible floods of January, we were lucky enough to have great sightings:wild dogs, rhino and 2 times leopards (3 of them together!);
thanks to Jason, our guide !

Room Tip: Deluxe bungalow are bigger are more private but looking at the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We spent 3 nights at the lodge and found everything to be outstanding. The food was unbelievable! The presentations were beautiful. We enjoyed Jason and Roy, our Ranger and tracker. We loved our "sundowners" during our afternoon drives.
I think the staff went out of their way to treat everyone as special guest. We had a great experience and would highly recommend Arathusa to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planningvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
27.3 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
26.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
3.4 km away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
3.2 km away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
9.0 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arathusa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathusa Safari Lodge

Property: Arathusa Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathusa Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Arathusa Safari Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Arathusa Safari
Arathusa Safari Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing