We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment.”
Review of Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village Lodge
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Reviewed 8 August 2015

If all you need is hot water and a good bed - stay here. If you require people to answer questions or handle issues, you will have to wait until 11AM to see a live person. Time wasted on vacation means you are not making any memories.

Room Tip: If you get any kind of discount, ask for updated rooms. Otherwise you will be put in a room that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ConnieJo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2014

Definitely recommend this place. It was quiet, cozy, and clean. The owner was very friendly, nice, and helpful. Only downsides seemed that the lodge is far from the mountain (it was about a 45min twisty/turny drive to Ski Apache) and the floor is a little creaky (heard people walking around upstairs at 2am). Also, the wifi wasn't great (but who really needs that on vacation anyways, right?).

Overall great! I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you do want wifi, I think the rooms closer to the office are probably better. The wifi was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2014 via mobile

Very cozy place and reasonably priced. Close to good restaurants and the drive to the slopes wasn't very bad at all. Would come back. The place was very well kept, dishes, coffee, microwave, toaster, refrigerator all included. We didn't bring our bathing suits so couldn't utilize the hot tub but it was pretty warm while we were there anyways.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2014

we stayed 3 nights and everything was good. Check in was fast,check out the office was not open but they had a drop box for the keys. We did not cook in the kitchen but did have coffee every morning and some snacks at night. Having the kitchen was good. There was a nice small living room with a fireplace. The bed was lumpy but not real bad. Everything was clean and the housekeeper changed the towels daily.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank pcc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here for a weekend and it was a great experience. They had double booked us at first but they gave us 2 rooms to resolve the problem. They have updated the rooms and made a big improvement. The kitchens are small but they get the job done, we fed a family of 7 with it. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. They have a ping pong table and a patio set that we used one night along with a grill. Overall the best experience I've had at a hotel and my family travels a lot so we see a lot of hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had stayed at this place a couple of times some years back, and it didn't rate very high with us. Because we couldn't get the dates we wanted in another place, we decided to give this one another try. In the intervening years, they'd done some worthwhile updates. The only problem is that few kitchens have received those updates, though they're gradually doing that, and you might ask for one. We found the staff very helpful, esp with an early checkin. The small condos have pocket kitchens, 3 barstools in the LR, a table with 2 chairs, + an easy chair in the BR, It's location on Mechem makes it easy to get to restaurants, even a short ride out to the Spencer Theater where we went for a Saturday night concert.

Room Tip: Ask for updated kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelbooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

we travel to Ruidoso several times a year. we saw the village lodge had very good reviews and decided to roll the dice. what a treat. beautiful grounds. quiet, even though it is right on Meacham. stayed in room 303. small living room with fireplace. small but very well equipped kitchenette and a separate king bedroom. extremely clean. would definitely stay here again and would recommend to all. would be a great place for families.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
2.4 km away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
1 km away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
2.4 km away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Pinecliff Village
Pinecliff Village
#17 of 23 in Ruidoso
86 reviews
5.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lodge

Address: 1000 Mechem Dr, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7028
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range: $97 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ruidoso, New Mexico's Village Lodge; nestled in the majestic pines in the mountain resort community of Ruidoso. Whether you come to ski, fish, hike, golf or just relax in the area's cool climate, the Village Lodge has luxury condos at budget prices. If you are coming to enjoy the local casinos,horse racing, skiing, shopping, the Village Lodge is convenient; just minutes away from dining and area attractions. All are non smoking condos that may accommodate up to six people. Our Presidential Condo is two bedrooms and accommodates up to eight people or offers a special touch for that anniversary or honeymoon. *The newest addition to our lodge is our 2600 sq. ft. all purpose building; perfect for big family reunions, weddings, military and business retreats. Also offered is a laundry room, and an on-site massage therapist. We offer on site catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing