We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at Sitzmark for one night at their Family suite and had a comfortable night of rest. The motel itself is old and quaint however everything is operational and very clean.Location is fairly central and you can walk to couple restaurants. Overall recommended as a good value.

Room Tip: Family suit is very spacious and can easily accommodate 4-5 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Doubleplay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

The location is great , the owners are super nice, and It was a whole lot more than I expected! Went through NM and this was the probably one of the best hotels we stayed at. The value is great !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanW133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were very pleased w/this quaint family owned motel in Riodoso. The motel was unique & comfortable. The family lived on the premises & provided muffins in the mornings. We didnt try the hot tub, but Im sure it would have been refreshing, esp. If we had been skiing. They had the rooms reasonably priced & my husband had remembered it from years ago. Otherwise, we probably would have missed this little jewel.

Room Tip: The motel was not very busy, so we chose a room near the office & just inside the outdoor entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOTTIEmae5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I've been going to Ruidoso for over 40 years and this place has been there forever. this was my first stay at the Sitzmark. It is spotlessly clean and neat and well cared for by the current owners. They live on-site and are very friendly and helpful. Our room was the econo queen and it is TINY. I would not recommend this room during a ski holiday as there isn't enough room for all your clothing. There is no closet and no towel racks. To the owners I would suggest thinking IKEA and adding hooks, racks and shelving, because the room is inadequate as it is now. From the photos the other rooms look more comfortable. Location is convenient, and the hot tub is great after a day on the slopes. I would stay here again, but in a bigger room.

Room Tip: Econo queen room 15 is inexpensive but TINY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MLPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I booked this hotel because of good reviews and pictures of rooms with fireplaces. We were not disappointed. The weather was gorgeous the first day, and then a snowstorm hit. I loved having the fireplaces and looking out the window. The first two nights, we had two rooms with a connecting door, and that was perfect for our family to have enough space and be warmed by the fires.

The owners are super nice. It was our first time skiing, and they were helpful in getting us started out with a rental store. The morning muffins were good and perfect for a day of shopping, but you will want something hardier for physical activity. The location is convenient for driving to town or up the mountain. The hotel is along Sudderth, so we did hear traffic and emergency sirens at night.

Sitzmark Chalet is not a chain and shows uniqueness in its appearance. There are lift chairs in the front, colorful towels, actual room keys, and room heaters that you can't put luggage by. The Sitzmark was a nice break from chains, and it was perfect for our Ruidoso visit. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This is an older property that was pretty unique to start with, and has since been added onto. The folks that run the place live on site, and easy to work with. The rooms actually come with KEYS, what a concept. And the doors don't automatically lock behind you, a good point to remember. The rooms are large, clean and comfy. The bedding was fantastic. We had two rooms, both with fireplaces, very nice. I would suggest, some might want to avoid Room 26 (and I assume 16 which would be right below it). The hotel sits right on the main road through town, as in, building-sidewalk-pavement, and Room 26 is right at the end. The streeetlights lit the room up quite well, no black out curtains, and you certainly heard every vehicle going by. I can sleep through anything, so it didn't bother me, but others might have issue with such a set up.
And the prices are GREAT for what you get!

Room Tip: Watch out for 26 and 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godzilladude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I enjoyed staying at Sitzmak Chalet the past two nights. We were in Ruidoso for a Toastmaster Conference at the Inn of the Mountain Gods. We originally planned to stay at IMG, until we encountered its 1) mixed reviews, 2) high cost, and 3) smoking rooms being all that were available when I called. Sitzmark Chalet is less than 10 minutes from IMG, and other Ruidoso attractions. It is a non-smoking motel, with lots of features for the price. We enjoyed the refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, free wi-fi, breakfast muffins and comfortable beds. We did not have a fireplace in our room, but the hot tub was pleasant in the cold November weather. We had the hot tub to ourselves because it is located in an unheated uninsulated outside room with screen windows, and the temperature the nights when we used it ranged from 39 to 45 F. The owner was very friendly, provided extra towels and uncovered the hot tub for our use. The TV had lots of channels but lacked connections for the computer. The hotel and parking lot are both small, but we had no trouble finding parking.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucille F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
3.7 km away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
3.9 km away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
207 reviews
1.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
2.7 km away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Chalet Inn

Address: 627 Sudderth Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range: $71 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sitzmark Chalet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sitzmark Chalet is nestled under the tall pines of Ruidoso, NM. Our charming 17 unit inn offers the distinct personal attention that every traveler desires for a relaxing mountain get-a-way. Our classic regard to detail and customer service is something that you just can't acquire in today's cookie-cutter chain lodging atmosphere. We are located in the heart of Ruidoso close to restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. With a wonderful central location, you are close to all of the vacation activities you have been looking for. Relax on the front lawn during a summer evening on a porch swing while watching the hummingbirds, or unwind after a day on the slopes in our steam sauna. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sitzmark Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing