We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
363
16
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
16
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivesinfinity poolwatering holeother guestsattention to detailthe reserveextra touchesmoment you arriveoutdoor showerstayed longersouth africaknowledgeable guidefabulous foodcomfortable roomsan amazing experienceevery mealoff road
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 380 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

Toro Yaka is a fantastic place and a good way to be introduced in Africa safari. The owners, Nivole and Steve take care of everthing, to garantee a great stay. Nicole has also many tips that help you to plan your trip. The staff is lovely. Take how many game safaris you can and talk to Tomas, the guide. He has many informations about the animals, the landscape and is also available to explain.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2015

We chose Toro Yaka because of the reviews it received from TA and it's only fair that we pass on the good news to other readers of these reviews.
The place really is outstanding and every one of the 5 Star reviews gets it spot on and I don't need to repeat praise about the place. Read the reviews and you'll get a full and truthful understanding of the place.
I'll add three extras that can help people.
First up is the quality of the food. NIcole and I had a few conversations about our liking for Banting Low Carb food and she very kindly produced a whole series of meals that did the job beautifully. It was like having your own personal chef. So Advice #1 is to talk to Nicole before you arrive and get a really good personal approach to your eating.
Advice #2 is to take a walking "safari" with Steve. Much as we enjoy riding in the wagon it was a very powerful experience walking quietly in a small group and really savouring being somewhere special.
Advice #3 is to do your homework and price comparisons and then really appreciate the extraordinary value proposition that is offered at Toro Yaka.
Ridwell was a friendly and knowledgeable guide and Tom couldn't have been more helpful in answering our dumb townie questions with great good humour.
Despite being in the bundu we were still able to get on to the internet...and that was important to us...and there was still some space in the schedule to watch the Grand Prix!
We said farewell with smiles and hugs and we can't imagine not going there again. It was a 4000km round trip drive from Cape Town and well worth it.
This place really does deserve to succeed and everyone who's visited the place seems to agree.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2015

A dream !!!!

Amazing cook, amazing rooms, pool, view, camp, staff, everything is so perfect, it's unbelievable...

Nicole and Steve are so kind and attentive;

sadely too short :)

Unforgetable experience

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2015

We recently spent three days at Toro Yaka. From the moment we arrived we were made incredibly welcome. We did the morning and late afternoon jeep safaris with Steve. He was an extremely knowledgeable guide regarding all the animals and birds and it was a particular advantage that he is one of the few guides in Balule qualified to drive off road. Nicole was very friendly and helpful, the accommodation was very comfortable and the meals were all incredibly good. There was also a very nice mix of nationalities staying, generally for just 2-3 days each.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cometm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

What a place Nicole and Steve have created here. The staff are all very good and can't do enough for you. Rooms, food, company and safaris were all excellent. We didn't manage to see a leopard but saw all the other members of the big five plus more. The best thing is how up close and personal you get to the animals at one point an enormous elephant came and nudged our tracker after that he walked round the vehicle but we felt safe due to our guide's knowledge of the wildlife.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank redvanmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews