We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back”
Review of Pondoro Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pondoro Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Our room did not have heat but they did provide a portable heater. Robbie and Derrick our guides took us on some excellent Safaris.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
There are newer reviews for Pondoro Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

We spent the weekend at Pondoro to celebrate my sisters birthday. Lize and Robbie you get 5 out of 5 for service, food, excellent rooms, game drives and staff attitude and much more. I would highly recommend this lodge for couples who seek a romantic time out with all the luxuries of the South African Bush. Would definately go back especially to see the Mongoose!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

It was our honeymoon, they made it so special, with a dinner for two, flowers in the bedroom, champagne. Robbie (owner and ranger) knows allot of details concerning big game as well as small species. Allthough the Balule area is not so big, we saw quite allot of game. After this we also went to Sabi Sands, but their safari's were not that nice. Sabi Sands for us felt more commercial and american. Oh, and don't forget to mention the food at Pondoro, unbelievable good food! All fresh and 5 star. Nothing we didn't like at Pondoro, great lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Our stay at the Pondoro Game Lodge was our last destination and the perfect ending of our honeymoon in South Africa! Everything was gorgeous - without exception: beautiful rooms, excellent food, great service, awesome game drives and lovely people.

Great Lodge for honeymooners!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maikaefer2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Pondoro for a part of our honeymoon trip and I cannot say enough great things about this place! The owners, ranger, tracker and entire staff were so welcoming, the lodge itself was gorgeous and the game drives were the coolest thing we've ever done! This lodge just really gets it all right :) Oh also, the food was so so so good! I can't compete with these other reviews - everything they've said is right on!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcochran18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have been traveling to the continents in search of new adventures and my experience here at the Pondoro Game Lodge was unlike any other. The lodge was very clean and tastefully decorated. The whole place had a distinct charm. The dining area, bar and living room seemed like you were in a huge home. The people were warm, attentive, friendly and relaxed making the my stay very pleasant . The spa massages after exploring the bush was a superb treat. The menu selection was also exsquisite and meals were served by the the riverside which I found quite special. The highlights of course, were the early morning and late afternoon safaris to the wilderness anticipating the excitement of what can be seen and captured in the lens of the camera. Our trackers were knowledgeable, skillful, daring and yet cautious. They provided us with tons of information about almost everything we experienced. The "sundowners" which were the cocktails served in the middle of nowhere were an added treat with the South African sundown as the back drop to this special scenery. At the lodge, there was a tiny pool which blended so well with the surroundings and was a nice way to refresh after being under the heat of the sun.
The safari experience was full of surprises. It was a perfect combination of relaxation and excitement. Timing of activities were not rushed. I would definitely go back here with my family and hopefully soon.
My visit to Pondoro was actually in February but the option for this month did not show so I chose July which was the closest to February. The weather in February was perfect for this expedition.

Room Tip: Rooms have ample space.
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melgede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

My wife and I spend part of our honeymoon in the greater Kruger and visited three different game lodges in Balule, Klaserie and Sabi Sand. Pondoro was our favorite. The lodge is very small, remote and intimate. We stayed in the Buffalo suite and the accommodation was amazing with a huge veranda overlooking the river. The staff paid attention to every little detail and made our stay very special. On one night we were surprised with dinner in the lodge’s wine cellar. What a great atmosphere! The food was always awesome – definitely on the level of a top notch restaurant. We saw plenty of game and the Big 5 within 2 days. Go on the bush walks – it’s well worth it. There are monkeys around the lodge which wake you up in the morning. A bush bock always slept next to our suite and we saw him every day. I highly recommend this great place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
30.8 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,752 reviews
1.0 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
264 reviews
35.6 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,064 reviews
7.5 km away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
662 reviews
30.0 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondoro Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondoro Game Lodge

Address: Balule Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: $926 - $1,472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pondoro Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cool riverine banks of the Olifants River (largest in Kruger) in the 40 000 ha Big 5 Balule Private Game Reserve inside the greater Kruger National Park, Pondoro offers its visitors comfort, sophistication, elegance and a canvas on which to create a truly unforgettable African safari.In this small, very exclusive 16-bed lodge ( owner managed ) you will discover the only way to experience the African bush. In addition to luxurious accommodation and the caring attention from trained professionals, our visitors are lavished upon with international fare and humble African hospitality.Meals are an extraordinary culinary experience where Traditional African Cuisine fuse effortlessly with modern European trends.To compliment the food, select any of our fine wines from our extensive wine cellar. Vegetarians are specially catered for. All meals are served on a wooden deck high up in the tree canopy overlooking the Olifants River (weather permitting).Between game drives in open safari cruisers, nature walks and peaceful afternoon naps, enjoy a dip in the sparkling rock pool, a spot of sun bathing or browse through the library. The Pondoro bar is the ideal spot to quench your thirst and grab a snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pondoro Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondoro Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Pondoro Game Lodge South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing