We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tsakane Safari Camp(Balule Nature Reserve)
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Rio Dos Elefantes River Camp(Balule Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Swadini A Forever Resort(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$565
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$778/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$733
US$531
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,062/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$1,751
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$72
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cajori Hotel(Phalaborwa)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveller rating
765
28
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
765
28
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonthe riverpicnic lunchsafari experienceattention to detailgame lodgewine cellartree housefood was amazingamazing experiencetravel agentmorning safarisouth africathe entire staffwild animalsout of this worldbush walk
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 807 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2014

We love this place! Great accommodations. The food was excellent every night. The game viewing was amazing. We saw 3 lionesses and 10 cubs devouring a kudu. We were so close...I felt like I was in a National Geographic film! Yes, you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Dear Kathleen B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Glad that you loved Pondoro and that we managed to bring National Geographic to life right next to your safari cruiser!

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2014

My family and I were in South Africa for 2 weeks on vacation. Our last four nights we stayed at Pondoro Game Lodge. It was absolutely amazing. The staff at the lodge made you feel right at home. The food was excellent!!! For the game drives my family and I had the owner, Robbie, as our ranger and Sam as our tracker. They are so knowledgeable and experienced it was truly amazing. We tracked leopards, rhinos, wild dogs, even lions! We were so close to all of the animals it took my breath away. Robbie is so dedicated to make sure his visitors see the big 5 during their stay at his lodge. He doesn't just stay on the paths during the game drives, he goes into the brush, drives over trees, anything to see an animal! He and his wife, Lize are so friendly and make sure you have a great experience at their lodge. I HIGHLY recommend this lodge to everyone and anyone who is thinking about going to South Africa. The lodge is usually for couples and honeymooners but it was a great spot for a family vacation as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Dear Jessica L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Wow it looks like you were really lucky and saw a lot of animals. African wild dogs are not seen regularly and that must be a highlight on any safari. Glad to see that the staff made you feel right at home and that you appreciated the cuisine. I will let Sam know of your appreciation.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2014

Look no further. All the reviews are true. You could spend a lot more money on game lodges, but why would you? It doesn't get better than this. The lodge and rooms are gorgeous and the food was outstanding. The best part was the staff and how friendly they all were! Our guides, Rul and Ransom, were amazing guides and managed to find all the animals in the short time we were there, which was three nights/four days. The guides were alot of fun and had a lot of knowledge of tracking animals and information about the animals. Liza and Robbie have done a fabulous job of running Pondoro as a top notch game lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank traveltoofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Dear traveltoofar,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Thank you for the accolade. Yes, happy staff is friendly staff and it gives me joy to read that the best part of your stay was the friendly staff. I will pass your gratitude onto Rul and Remson who are not just great guides, but very good people as well.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2014

From check-in to check-out Pondoro was fabulous! Liza & Robbie are top notch people and know how to run a business. Vanessa, the Assistant Manager; Andries, the tracker; the Chefs and our waitresses, Linkie & Gerish are all great. The food, wine and accommodations were 5 star! The safari drives were just outstanding. Robbie seems to know everything about everything out there in the bush! Being able to see those beautiful animals in their habitat is indescribable! Coffee with Amarula in the morning to our sundowners drinks in the evening on safari just put things over the top for me! Ponodoro is fabulous...what an experience!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Dear Ruth A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

It gives me great pleasure to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your thanks onto Vanessa, Andries, the chefs, and Linkie and Gerish. They will be thrilled!

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2014

We weren't that lucky with the wildlife on our game drives, but the lodge made it up than up for it.
The rooms are decorated in perfect detail and I felt right at home. The restaurant area also wonderful as were all the people of Pondoro. What a luxury!

Room Tip: Any room is good. The interiors ar wonderful.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VeroTop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Dear VeroTop,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad to see that you had a wonderful time with us. I read from your review that you feel that you were not lucky with wildlife during your stay, but from the sightings logbook it looks like 4 of the Big 5 were seen at least twice during your 2 night ( 4 safari drives ) stay and that you only missed out on leopard. I hope to welcome you again at Pondoro in order to rectify the situation and show you the elusive leopard.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews