We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
813
29
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
813
29
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon the river safari experience picnic lunch attention to detail wine cellar food was amazing game lodge tree house amazing experience the entire staff lion cubs morning safari every meal bush walk out of this world wild animals
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 856 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2016

Our three nights at Pondoro were the end of our honeymoon, and it was the best end we could have imagined. We stayed in the buffalo suite, which was perfectly decorated, super clean and comfortable, and very romantic. We had a great shower, amazing bathtub, and outside Jacuzzi. The owner, Robby, picked us up from the airport with Champagne, and it was only uphill from there. The food was top notch and I promise you will not go hungry. The game drives were fabulous, with amazing drivers and trackers (thank you Sam and Ramson!). They went above and beyond to make our stay special - by decorating our room with flower petals and drawing a hot bath with candles as a surprise after a long game drive. We were able to both have lunch and spend the night in their treehouse hide, which is one of the coolest experiences we have ever had. You are all alone in the middle of the African bush listening to the roar of lions - doesn't get much more romantic than that! The service was incredible, and they go above and beyond to make sure everything is perfect. Every little detail was thought out and we cannot wait to go back.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbywein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Dear abbywein,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Thank you too for choosing Pondoro as part of your honeymoon vacation. Great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I will inform Sam and Remson of your appreciation. We hope to welcome you soon back at Pondoro again.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2016

We absolutely loved our stay at Pondoro Game Lodge. We had received the recommendation from one of our friends who raved about it so we thought there's no way it could exceed our already very high expectations. But it did! It really is heaven on earth.
Our rangers, Julius and Erik, were incredible and did all they could to track a wide-array of animals for us. We saw several rhinos, which we did not expect to see at all. We even came across a pack of wild dogs which is a very rare sighting! The food is also incredible. And the staff did everything they could do make our stay amazing.
We highly recommend it! And are dying to go back!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsm208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Dear tsm208,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

I am so glad that we managed to exceed your expectations. I will relay your appreciation through to Eric and Julius who will be thrilled. We are looking forward to your return.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

Only better!

We stayed in the Earth lodge and were welcomed by a family of Elephants grazing (crashing through) our back garden.

All the staff were exceptional: fun, helpful and ever present but never intrusive.

The accommodation was stunning. The lodge itself afforded total privacy enabling many first experiences; like showering outside whilst watching a troop of Baboons walk by, or sat in the hot tub watching Kudu elegantly hop through the shrub.

The game drives were beyond all expectation: Rule was our driver, with Anders tracking (I'm sorry if I've spelt those incorrectly). The pride they took in hunting down the big 5 was obvious. They made the experience exceptional, if you ever have the opportunity to ride with this pair jump at the chance- they are tireless, fun, highly skilled and on more than one occasion pretty damned brave!

Back at Pondoro it was all about attention to detail. Small touches mark it from the norm: the sherry in the room, the last night experience, the friendly extras that I don't want to write about here for fear of spoiling the surprise.

The sleep out was fabulous, as was the hide picnic experience. Sat all alone, watching rhino and elephant share the water hole as kudu and impala patiently await their turn, all whilst sipping champagne and enjoying yet more superb Pondoro food- all add up to memories never forgotten.

Game drives create a great feeling of camaraderie amongst guests; brief friendships are made as people come and go making the atmosphere exciting and ever changing.

However the staff rule supreme.

Homegrown talent in the kitchen always delighted, complimented with a fine wine cellar and the best views I have ever seen as we indulged ourselves on the 5th meal of the day. Just watch out for those cheeky monkeys over breakfast!

Our last day coincided with my wife's birthday.

The reception from the staff made her cry tears of happiness combined with sadness that we had to leave.

The singing, the cake to take away on our travels, the dancing, all of it so magical.

Truly like staying with family and we are desperate to get back and see them as soon as we can.

Thank you everybody for making the entire experience so wonderful.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank nickoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Dear nickoak,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and wonderful review. It makes all the hard work worthwhile and gives new energy to everyone when reading reviews like this. Hope to welcome you soon back again at Pondoro.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2016

There is not a single negative to our stay here. Rooms immaculate, service friendly and accommodating and amazing animals with expert guides. For the price, this place is an absolutely steal. We're now afraid to book anywhere else for fear of being let down!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanelkridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Dear Michael B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Great to read your review and to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

This place exceeded all of our expectations! My husband and I stayed in one of the suites and saw a family of elephants pass through our back porch as well as monkeys come by. The staff is absolutely the friendliest and most accommodating group of people that made our stay outstanding. In addition, the food was delicious and very well displayed. We did the treehouse picnic for lunch and saw animals around the watering hole.

Our favorite part of our experience was the safaris. We had fantastic guides, Rul (Ranger) and Andries (Tracker) that were knowledgeable and experienced, making it possible for us to see the big 5 in just the first 24 hrs of our visit! We stayed 4 nights and each time we set off on the safari, it was such a unique and exciting experience. We saw elephants, rhinos ( black & white), lions, leopards, monkeys, giraffes, hippos, zebras, buffalos, wild dogs, and much more!

I strongly recommend staying at Pondoro since everything here made our experience amazing.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bmcoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Dear bmcoad,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted to see that we managed to exceed your expectations. I will pass your appreciation through to Rul and Andries who will both be delighted.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews