We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
797
29
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
797
29
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon the river safari experience picnic lunch attention to detail game lodge wine cellar food was amazing tree house amazing experience travel agent lion cubs morning safari south africa the entire staff wild animals out of this world
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 840 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

Everything about Pondoro is spectacular: the riverside location teeming with wildlife, beautiful rooms and outdoor lounge where we ate lunch whilst watching elephants enjoying an afternoon swim. Over our three day stay we enjoyed dinner under the stars, a picnic in a remote tree house hideaway and most memorably explored the expanses of the surrounding game reserve with many unforgettable interactions with almost every animal imaginable.

Whilst the destination and experiences won't be forgotten any time soon, it was really the team at Pondoro that made our stay as special as it was. Ane and Lilly at the lodge did everything possible to make us comfortable, whilst our ranger Sam and tracker Ransum impressed us with a remarkable knowledge of everything we encountered on each game drive and went above and beyond to ensure we got the most intimate experience of African wildlife possible. There is so much more to be appreciated in the Greater Kruger than meets the eye and there couldn't be anyone better to show you than the team guiding us.

We can't say how much we enjoyed our time at Pondoro and look forward to returning again in the future.

Zak and Millie

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank m_macpherson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

Dear Zak and Millie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

I am grateful to read that you had an unforgettable time at Pondoro. I will relay your appreciation through to Ané and Lilly as well as your ranger/tracker team Sam and Remson. They will be elated.

I hope to welcome you back soon again.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016

Where to start. Pondoro was absolutely incredible. We stayed in Pondoro for 5 nights and celebrated my 30th birthday, had our wedding and honeymoon and the staff at Pondoro went above and beyond to ensure that everything was perfect.

The lodge is stunning, the staff are fantastic, food amazing and loads of it, the safari drives were always so exciting and the little extra touches make this place perfect.

Our wedding was arranged and went above our expectations. The owner Lize did everything she could to ensure our day was perfect and it truly was.

This is the best place we have ever stayed and don't think anything will compare to the experience we had.

Thank you so much to the Pondoro family. We will definitely we back to celebrate a wedding anniversary.

Michaela and James

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesandmichaela2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

Dear jamesandmichaela2016,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

We are honored that you chose Pondoro as your wedding venue. Congratulations once again! I will inform Lize and all the staff of your appreciation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon for your wedding anniversary.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016

We stayed at the Pondoro Game Lodge for the first 3 nights of our 2 and 1/2 week honeymoon, it was incredible!!! From the moment we arrived at the lodge we were warmly greeted and treated like royalty. We flew from London Heathrow to Joburg and opted to hire a car and drive (approx 5 hrs) to Kruger to Pondoro Lodge. Had we known the ride would be heavily 'off road' we may have opted for a 4x4 but we made it nevertheless! We stayed in the water suite which was beautifully and appropriately 'bush' furnished, the Suite itself felt like you were back to nature but with a luxurious twist. The food was excellent, every meal was amazing! The staff at Pondoro know how to look after their guests, excellent customer service and they really went above and beyond to make our honeymoon super special. One of the days we had a massage which was very relaxing, the second day we had lunch in the tree house which was lovely, sadly we didn't spot too many animals but we must have just been unlucky as other guests had spotted quite a few. I would definitely recommend the tree house lunch, try to get booked in before you arrive to guarantee your space. The game drives were excellent, the 4.50am wake up calls were no problem for us as we were so excited! The drivers and trackers are extremely knowledgeable and drive up pretty close to the animals so you can get some great shots.
Thank you to all the staff at Pondoro for making the safari experience the best we could have asked for, we definitely hope to return one day :-)

Room Tip: Book the tree house lunch
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

Dear Katie G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

We are honored that you chose Pondoro as part of your honeymoon and we are thrilled to see that you had a fabulous time.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2016

Well going to a game park you have some expectation but also a degree of circumspection. You may not see all of the big 5 ...

Essentially what you want is that they try to give you the best game viewing they can well Pondoro go much further. The ranger that took us out was committed to making each game drive an experience and he and the tracker achieved it almost all the time. We saw 2 leopards together we tracked the male a few days later again. The tracker got off the truck to track the lions and found them so that we could see them after they had killed 3 buffalo in the night. We saw the big 5 and Julius the ranger was really pumped up about that...

Then there is the food that really is very well presented and the dinner near the water plus the rooms that are unique.

To top it all this lodge is run like a family and we felt included. The staff serving food are happy and the whole place seemed in harmony with nature and each other. We had got advice that 3 days was perfect and to us it was. We left South Africa to return to Australia having had a life experience we had never dreamed of.

You will not be disappointed - we could not believe that an Elephant would stop and look at our tracker Eric only about 3 feet away. That they could get us into the perfect spot to see the animals and even make sure we got the photo we wanted.

The suites are unique as well and we stayed in 2 over the 3 days and that was a really lovely experience. Food was really good and considering it all has to be brought in we felt pampered each day.

We are definitely going to go back.

It certainly isn't the most expensive game lodge and yet I felt like it was and in fact think that we got one of the best experiences you could have.

Room Tip: The suites are very good look at the photos to decide Buffalo is at the end nearest the game park...
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JosephW2326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

Dear Joseph W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad to read that you had the best 3 days of your life at Pondoro and that you enjoyed the safaris, accommodation and food.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2016

Our three nights at Pondoro were the end of our honeymoon, and it was the best end we could have imagined. We stayed in the buffalo suite, which was perfectly decorated, super clean and comfortable, and very romantic. We had a great shower, amazing bathtub, and outside Jacuzzi. The owner, Robby, picked us up from the airport with Champagne, and it was only uphill from there. The food was top notch and I promise you will not go hungry. The game drives were fabulous, with amazing drivers and trackers (thank you Sam and Ramson!). They went above and beyond to make our stay special - by decorating our room with flower petals and drawing a hot bath with candles as a surprise after a long game drive. We were able to both have lunch and spend the night in their treehouse hide, which is one of the coolest experiences we have ever had. You are all alone in the middle of the African bush listening to the roar of lions - doesn't get much more romantic than that! The service was incredible, and they go above and beyond to make sure everything is perfect. Every little detail was thought out and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbywein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Dear abbywein,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Thank you too for choosing Pondoro as part of your honeymoon vacation. Great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I will inform Sam and Remson of your appreciation. We hope to welcome you soon back at Pondoro again.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews