We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
831 results
Traveller rating
789
28
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
28
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon the river picnic lunch safari experience attention to detail game lodge wine cellar tree house amazing experience travel agent morning safari south africa the entire staff wild animals out of this world bush walk spent nights
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 831 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2016

This was my third visit to Pondoro, and I was as impressed as the first two times. I brought my American neighbours and they blown away by the level of service, the delicious food and the superb accomodations. The fact that they got to see the Big Five was an added bonus

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bushandsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2016

Dear bushandsea,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review as well as being such a loyal supporter. We are elated that we managed to live up to the expectations.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2016

My wife and I are reasonably experienced African travellers considering we live in Australia. Our opinions can't be compared with residents of the country. We have safaried in several countries in Africa and visited the southern end of Kruger on previous occasions. As a result we were looking for a "less crowded" experience and Pondoro is definitely exactly what we were looking for. The location, level of accomodation, staff and attention to detail are excellent. We experienced a high level of personalised service and could not find fault with anything. The game drives and other activities are of a very high standard. I couldn't recommend Pondoro more highly.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2016

Dear JJW007,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Great to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us including the exclusivity of visiting a small lodge with more personalized service.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Our honeymoon stay at the Pondoro lodge was wonderful. We stayed for a total of 3 nights - everything was super well organized and coordinated. You can tell the the hotel is very well managed and they care deeply for each guests' experience. We requested the airport transfer and Lize (one of the owners) picked us up personally at the airport - she is the sweetest person you will ever meet. She even brought us champagne for the transfer so that we can enjoy it during the one hour car transfer. I feel like these small details really help add a nice touch.

Our room was beautifully decorated. Modern, stylish, clean, and very spacious. We stayed in the water suite and our headboard was literally a small water fountain. It was so relaxing hearing the water trickle down while you nap in between game drives. On the last evening at the lodge, they were even thoughtful enough to start the bath for us while we were having dinner, so that when we got back to our room after dinner, our bath was half filled and decorated with romantic rose petals - how nice!

The meals were all fantastic - the traditional bobotie for lunch was my favorite - so tasty. Breakfast consists of many courses. Lunch is usually on the lighter side. Dinner is usually at least 3 courses and I love that they try to make dinner special every night. For the 3 nights that we were there, we dined in 3 different locations: on the river bend surrounded by candles, in the dining area, and our final night was a private dinner in their quaint and peaceful wine cellar. Everything is 5 stars here.

Our tracker Ramson and guide Sam were super knowledgeable on our game drives. They are very experienced and are very considerate (they will alternate angles for everyone in the vehicle to have a good shot of the animal sightings so every seat in the car is a good seat).

I highly recommend staying at Pondoro if you are looking for a boutique lodge that offers exceptional attention to detail, 5 star service, and overall the perfect luxe safari experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the water room and loved the décor - it is the second room from the far end.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iamysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2016

Dear iamysun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

We are elated that you enjoyed your safari with us. Good to know that you enjoyed Water suite and all the small extra touches. I will inform Lize, Sam and Remson of your complements.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Pondoro Lodge a few weeks ago. This was truly a luxury lodge and we loved it. We were in the Tree suite and it was totally luxurious including an outdoor hot tub. We had beautiful views of the river and got to see the hippos taking their baths and lying around on the beach.
The food was great...sometimes too much! The safaris were great despite the horrible drought and difficulty finding all the animals. Our ranger Sam and Tracker Ramson worked very hard to make sure we saw all there was to see. The entire staff was wonderful and I would highly recommend this lodge for the luxury treatment including a wonderful spa and hot stone massage. With the value of the US dollar...all additional costs were a great value, including great wines! We loved all the other guests, as well.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Diablo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2016

Dear Diablo27,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

We are very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I will inform Sam and Remson of your complements. Sure they will be elated.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

Everything about Pondoro is spectacular: the riverside location teeming with wildlife, beautiful rooms and outdoor lounge where we ate lunch whilst watching elephants enjoying an afternoon swim. Over our three day stay we enjoyed dinner under the stars, a picnic in a remote tree house hideaway and most memorably explored the expanses of the surrounding game reserve with many unforgettable interactions with almost every animal imaginable.

Whilst the destination and experiences won't be forgotten any time soon, it was really the team at Pondoro that made our stay as special as it was. Ane and Lilly at the lodge did everything possible to make us comfortable, whilst our ranger Sam and tracker Ransum impressed us with a remarkable knowledge of everything we encountered on each game drive and went above and beyond to ensure we got the most intimate experience of African wildlife possible. There is so much more to be appreciated in the Greater Kruger than meets the eye and there couldn't be anyone better to show you than the team guiding us.

We can't say how much we enjoyed our time at Pondoro and look forward to returning again in the future.

Zak and Millie

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank m_macpherson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

Dear Zak and Millie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

I am grateful to read that you had an unforgettable time at Pondoro. I will relay your appreciation through to Ané and Lilly as well as your ranger/tracker team Sam and Remson. They will be elated.

I hope to welcome you back soon again.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews