We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”
Review of Pondoro Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pondoro Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Pondoro. We saw all of the Big 5. Our spotter and ranger were both fantastic. The staff was the best we've experienced. Accommodations are wonderful. We can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: As for room away from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank goldenbrown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Dear goldenbrown123,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Thank you for recommending Pondoro and great to read that the safari, guides and service was wonderful.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2016

We went there on honeymoon and the service is fantastic. They went the extra mile over and over again. The private rooms are gorgeous. The amenities are fantastic and you will be well-fed. And of course, the game drives were the best part.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andrewoverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Dear andrewoverton,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for choosing Pondoro as part of your honeymoon vacation.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the rooms, service and game drives were fantastic.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Great food and friendly staff, the rooms are decorated with natural elements. But most of them are good for couples! Because the rooms have open shower! Safari trip were very good, the safari team tried their best to show us all bug five during our trip.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Emad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Emad T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Great to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the safaris, rooms, food and service.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Wonderful accommodations, safaris and food. Catered to my husbands gluten free need. We saw every animal at least once. A lot were seen from our deck as well. Also enjoyed the pool. Pick up at airport and return went smoothly. Our guide and tracker were great.

Room Tip: Our bungelow was wonderful. Great views everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhamiltonwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear bhamiltonwright,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could cater for your husbands dietary needs.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

A really wonderful place with terrific staff at the camp and in the field. Food was fantastic and well presented, atmosphere relaxed and fun and we were lucky to have Sam as our game guard. Sam was amazing, with wonderful stories and great skill in finding game. The system of limiting numbers viewing a kill, for example, was an excellent one. Cabins were extremely comfortable and well appointed. All in all a fantastic way to see almost all of Africa's big game in their natural (and harsh) surroundings. Would love to visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were great although some had better views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear Richard L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

I will inform Sam of your compliments. He tries very hard and will be elated. We hope you find the time to visit again one day.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Ponderous has it all. The staff was exceptional, very helpful and made sure you had a wonderful experience. There are only 8 chalets (we were in "Rock") very private spread out along the Olifants River. There was a large balcony with its own hot tub and out door shower. The chalet had a large seating area and a huge bath room. The meals were a culinary delight, served on a tree top deck overlooking the river. Morning and evening safaris were in open land cruisers and because it is in a private area the vehicles could go off road and get extremely close to the animals. Saw all of the Big 5 plus many more birds and animals. The property also had swimming pool, spa, and fitness center. We also had excellent wifi and cellular connections. Could not be better.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear DAH44,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the service, rooms, safaris and our wifi.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This was my second visit to Pondoro and our honeymoon. They delivered in every category -- both on my first visit with family and on the romantic trip. Superb staff, luxurious accommodation, wonderful food. Elephants grazing feet from the elevated breakfast area. The safaris (two driven per day) are fantastic. We saw the big 5 within the first 24 hours, so we felt lucky -- but it was more that the trackers work tirelessly. Hot towels and a little sherry after a cold/dusty drive is definitely a nice touch!

We stayed at many places, but the staff and intimate touches here put this lodge above all the others. Definitely book and you will not regret. Memories for a lifetime.

Room Tip: Water Suite was beautiful and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheClevelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Dear TheClevelander,

Thank you very much for choosing Pondoro as part of your honeymoon for your second stay with us and for taking the time to write a review.

Glad that we could aid in providing special memories that will last for a lifetime.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
30.8 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,894 reviews
1 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
296 reviews
35.6 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
463 reviews
30 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
346 reviews
7.5 km away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondoro Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondoro Game Lodge

Address: Balule Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: C$882 - C$1,776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pondoro Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cool riverine banks of the Olifants River (largest in Kruger) in the 40 000 ha Big 5 Balule Private Game Reserve inside the greater Kruger National Park, Pondoro offers its visitors comfort, sophistication, elegance and a canvas on which to create a truly unforgettable African safari.In this small, very exclusive 16-bed lodge ( owner managed ) you will discover the only way to experience the African bush. In addition to luxurious accommodation and the caring attention from trained professionals, our visitors are lavished upon with international fare and humble African hospitality.Meals are an extraordinary culinary experience where Traditional African Cuisine fuse effortlessly with modern European trends.To compliment the food, select any of our fine wines from our extensive wine cellar. Vegetarians are specially catered for. All meals are served on a wooden deck high up in the tree canopy overlooking the Olifants River (weather permitting).Between game drives in open safari cruisers, nature walks and peaceful afternoon naps, enjoy a dip in the sparkling rock pool, a spot of sun bathing or browse through the library. The Pondoro bar is the ideal spot to quench your thirst and grab a snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pondoro Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondoro Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Pondoro Game Lodge South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing