We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Baluleni Safari Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sausage Tree Safari Camp(Balule Nature Reserve)
US$439
US$426
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
US$472
US$426
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chacma Bush Camp(Balule Nature Reserve)
US$459
Booking.com
View Deal
Ndzuti Safari Camp(Balule Nature Reserve)
US$780
US$658
Agoda.com
View Deal
Rio Dos Elefantes River Camp(Balule Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Naledi Game Lodges(Balule Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ku Sungula Safari Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
758
28
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
758
28
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonthe riverpicnic lunchsafari experienceattention to detailspa treatmentswine cellargame lodgefood was amazingtree houseamazing experiencetravel agentmorning safarithe entire staffsouth africabush walkevery meal
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 800 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2017

Pondoro was an amazing experience. The lodging is along a river and there many animals that you could see from your room or the dining area. The rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated, and very welcoming. There was a deck off of our room with a little private jacuzzi. There were two game drives each day that lasted around 3 hours. Our ranger was amazing in making sure we saw animals each time. He would drive the jeep/rover through the bushes and trees and sometimes we were very close to lions, and elephants and other animals. We were very fortunate to see a female leopard hunt a baby impala and then take it up a tree. The staff was extremely friendly, welcoming and made you feel at home. The food was delicious and the chef introduced themselves to each of the guests. Overall an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Dear Eric B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Good to know that you were happy with the room, safaris, guide and cuisine.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2017

A good Safari has everything to do with good trackers and rangers. And that we didn't found in Pondoro. They were constantly talking with each other in there one language and often forgot that there is more to see than a Lion. No attention for the small five, birds, trees, plants etc,
The rooms and the food were good

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Hennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Dear Hennie P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Sorry to hear that you were not happy with your guide and tracker. Unfortunately we can only address issues when we are aware of a problem and it is such a pity that you did not inform us during your stay as we would have gladly rectified it immediately.

We trust that you enjoyed the extra mile that we went through during Christmas to make your stay even more memorable.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

An early 25th anniversary present to ourselves, we had an amazing stay , everything perfect, staff , food, lovely safari guides , they found the big 5 in our first 24 hours! We stayed in the water suite which was beautiful with amazing views down to the river. Would love to come back one day. Thank you .

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Dear Tracey and Gary,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Congratulations on your 25th anniversary and we are delighted that we could help in making it an unforgettable stay.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2017

I can't say enough great things about our stay at Pondoro Game Lodge. The location is amazing. The guides were very knowledgable and helped us meet our goals for viewing wildlife and birds. We enjoyed the food, and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a top notch safari experience, we recommend Pondoro Game Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwildwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Dear cwildwest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Good to see you had a fabulous time at Pondoro. Glad you found our guides knowledgeable and eager to show you all the wildlife and birds.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2017

I spent 3 nights at Pondoro Lodge and could not better the experience in any way. The highlight of course are the safaris, the driver and spotter I was with - Rul and Andres were the best - they want you to have the best experience and they do not disappoint. I saw the big 5 in the first 3 safaris - however there is no guarantee here, some outings were full of wildlife, some less so. The accommodations are incredible as are the food. Typical day when I was there in Sept: 5:15am coffee and snack and 5:30am on Safari. There is nothing like an African sunrise. We are out until about 8:45am or so, stopping for a coffee/tea with snack break mid way thru. At 9:30 a wonderful multi-course breakfast on the wonderful deck overlooking the river, just watch out for the small cheeky monkeys that want to get your muffins. At 11:00-noon a ranger led walk. Noon - 3:00 is down time for everyone including the animals and a time to enjoy your fabulous accommodation. 3:00pm is a lovely lunch on the deck and 3:30 cake and coffee. 4:00 back in the vehicles until 7:30 or so with a wine/beer break with appetizers half way thru. Drinks around 8:00 followed by a multi course fabulous dinner. If you are only there a few days, I wouldn't consider any side trips - enjoy this incredible place - I'm so glad I didn't venture out. Thanks to all the staff especially Rul and Andres for an incredible time.
Something I better understood upon getting there is that I feel this is better than going thru Kruger itself. Pondoro adjoins Kruger and like many (but not all) private reserves that adjoin Kruger there are no fences so the animals roam freely between the park and these private reserves. With Pondoro you can go off-road and follow the animals and travel after dark, things I don't think you can do in Kruger. The vehicles at Pondoro are open, seating is tiered and all great seats - niceties like blanket ponchos for the cold mornings etc.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank jenaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Dear jenaraz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Glad that we could add to your bucket list and most of all not disappoint. I will rely your appreciation to all the staff, especially Rul and Andries.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews