We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,123)
Filter reviews
2,123 results
Traveller rating
1,796
266
44
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,796
266
44
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa suite game drives safari experience the reserve river lodge south africa wonderful experience hoedspruit airport buffet style lunch and dinner wild animals off road kruger park wellness centre great safari per day out of this world
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 2,123 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2017

Wow ! What a wonderful experience we had a Kapama River Lodge. My husband and I and our 22 year old daughter stayed for 3 nights in one of SPA Suites 2 weeks ago. We loved everything about our stay and the safari drives. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and at every interaction with all the staff. Our room was wonderful. Lots of natural light from 2 sets of sliding doors, huge bathroom and nice furnishings. We enjoyed the walk from the main lodge. The lobby area with the huge fireplaces were a great place to relax after lunch and dinner. The deck over looking the pool was also a wonderful place to relax in the afternoon as well.
The safari drives were the highlight. We cannot say enough about how wonderful our tracker (Bernard) and guide (Liza) were. They are a great team and made sure we were enjoying our stay. They are both so knowledgeable about all the animals, birds, plants and terrain and gave us so much insight which greatly enhanced our experience. The "sundowners" during the evening safari drives were wonderful !
So many positives about our stay:
~ Accommodations - so comfortable
~ Staff -so friendly and excellent service (including all the wait staff and housekeeping)
~ Food- great variety and all delicious and so plentiful
~ Value- Feels like a 5 star resort/lodge
~ Safari drives-we got so close to so many animals (especially lions and elephants) thanks to our tracker and guide
~Leaving wanting to stay longer....always a positive if you feel that way when you have to go.

Thank you Kapama River Lodge for a wonderful experience and stay during our first ever safari .

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank regryan113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017

Kapama lodge is a great place to be for Safari. It's not very big, so not too many people. Rooms are great: large, cozy and clean. The bathrooms are 5* hotel. They serve excellent food: breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff is super nice. Great Safari rides twice a day. Very highly recommended!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017

Kapama being a private reserve, offers you customised safari experience. Our spotter/tracker was an expert and the guide had in-depth information of flora and fauna of the park. All big 5 are in the park and is a complete open jeep safari experience. The stay was full board and the food is good too. They did some reasonable arrangements for our parents who are vegetarians.
Just a word of caution, the place seems to be fully booked all the time and its necessary to book in advance. Nevertheless when we had to postpone the trip once due to medical reasons the booking office helped us to the same. Thanks to them. The reservations service, I feel could improve a bit by having a single person handling your requests.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jayan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2017

Safari is five stars, simply because it's a private game park. With ranger and tracker, spotting big 5 in 3 days is doable. We saw lion and leopard eating their kill with spot light shining on them in the night. Can't see such when driving on your own in Kruger. Gate closed at 5:30 and no off-road driving allowed.

Staffs are excellent, special shout out to Zoe for helping me with the arrangement of a car for self drive to Kruger. 1 hour drive to Kruger, good option for a day trip. Beautiful terrain, plenty of games, spotted wild cheetah. Make my day.

Lodge feed you to max. You prob gain weight if you don't watch it. Rooms are big without tv. Good and bad. Best trip so far.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lcwra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile

Perhaps I have too high of expectation after reading so many wonderful reviews on TA. Our 2 night stay was just mediocre.

Kapama offers complimentary pick up and drop off from Hoedspruit airport. We almost missed our 1st game drive as our flight from Johannesburg was delayed for a few hours. Thankfully when we landed, our ranger was already waiting for us and got our luggages along with the others loaded in just a few minutes. Moreover, the distance to the lodge was relatively short.

When we arrived at the lodge, the receptionist was already waiting for us. Check-in was quick. Everything was already prepared for us when we arrived at the lodge, including welcome drinks.

When we first got in to our room, we could hear buzzing bee sound. We saw a half dead bee by the bathtub. We didn't have time to call housekeeping as our first game drive was about to start. That night after we returned from the room, the bee was already dead. No more buzzing sound.

The next day when we came back from morning game drive, we encountered another half dead bee with the buzzing sound by the bathtub again. After we came back from bush walk, we were trying to relax by our patio. As soon as we opened the patio door and stepped outside, we heard a lot of buzzing sounds and saw multiple bees flying around. We might have a bee nest by our patio. We quickly got out of the patio area and locked the door. We didn't want to deal with it and decided to take a nap on our bed. When we returned from the evening game drive, the same issue happened again.

I am not sure how the bees got in when all the windows and doors were closed. I don't want to put the blame solely on the Housekeeping, but I felt like Housekeeping should have been aware of the bee nest if she/he thoroughly cleaned the room, including the patio area.

I do however blame on the Housekeeping for throwing away my used shower cap but did not give me a replacement.

Food in general was flavorful. A lot of choices. All 3 meals were buffet style. We ate so much. The only complain we had is the area where they served the breakfast and lunch were quite smoky. It didn't have enough ventilation to get the smokes out from cooking. Our clothes were so smelly after we got our food.

Luckily, we stayed at Kapama Buffalo Camp for our third night. It was worth the extra money.

The game drive experience was the same between the Lodge and the Camp, other than alcoholic beverage served during the game break was already included in the price for the Camp.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank punamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews