We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tangala Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Anegada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

What a wonderful experience! The game drives were fantastic, the staff was wonderful and made us feel very welcome. From giraffes walking by our room to the food, everything was just wonderful. I will never forget my time there, and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firstislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangala, Public Relations Manager at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review - it was lovely hosting you at Tangala and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    20
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
64
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DCArea
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 10th anniversary at Tangala, right outside Kruger National Park. We were surprised when we arrived to learn that there's no electricity. However, that's what we LOVED!!!! They had parrifin lamps set up throughout the lodge and it was very dreamy. The staff were exceptional! The manager, Louise, was very sweet and assured that we had a fantastic time. She arranged a special anniversary dinner on our deck. The ranger and tracker, Hendrick and Bennett were excellent. How many people can say that they saw the Big 5 in one day! The food was excellent, safari beyond our imagination and service very gracious. We would highly recommend Tangala!

Barbara and Danny

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BambisMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

This was our second visit to Tangala and for us the 'magic of this place' was even greater this time around.

Tangala has a lovely tranquil atmosphere and the staff here very much help to make it that way. However, our special thanks go to Hendrick and Bennet who respectively as our ranger/tracker team made our stay this time around extra special. Within 90 minutes of going on our first game drive at Tangals we saw the 'Big 5' - and in such close proximity that it really did 'blow our minds'. Our encounters with elephant and leopards were particularly special.Hendrik and Bennett's affinity with the animals is remarkable and just to re-inforce how good they are then following our last attempt at a 'bushwalk' (at a different lodge) we felt slightly out of our comfort zone and vowed not to do one again. However, we both felt so comfortable with Hendrik and Bennet that neither of us hesitated in doing a 'walk' when the opportunity came around.

Sure, as other reviewers have already stated then Tangala is not the place for people seeking 5 star luxury - and yes maybe the bathrooms could do with an upgrade. However, for those seeking an authentic experience in a tranquil atmosphere with good levels of comfort, food and service, then we recommend this place wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwissCandN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This was an amazing place. Mind you, there is no electricity but that was not really an issue. It added to the charm and we were prepared:) They provided kerosene lanterns and we brought our own headlamps. The chalets (rooms) were pretty dim most of the time, but you were hardly in there-so who cares?

The staff was amazing-Hendrick was our safari leader and he was personable and knowledgeable and very amusing. Bennett was our tracker who was amazing! Louise welcomed us to the camp and back from all the game drives. Stella and Elsina were the kitchen staff-Stella was an outstanding cook and I never went hungry. There was a small pool that was quite refreshing and overlooked the waterhole. One day we saw 7 giraffes visit! The place was small and we had it to ouselves for part of the stay. I would deifnitely go back and recommend to anyone looking for a unique experience. I guess if the weather is super hot, then it would be nice to have fans or AC when you sleep, but we slept with the windows open and it was pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deltafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

My husband and I just got married and we decided to spend the first two days of a 6 week business trip at a safari. We had a South African friend book our room at a safari camp based on price and reviews, so he gave us the address and we were on our way. We went during the summer/rainy season so the 20km road leading from the gate of the Thornybush camp to the gate of Tangala Safari Camp was really rough on our little rental car.

We arrived at the camp just before dusk and the hotel manager greeted us and let us know there was no electricity. They use oil lamps to light the pathways and the rooms. They served us a private dinner on the deck of our hut and the food was delicious. We were able to go on 3 safari drives and we saw all of the top 7 animals and many more. We really were incredibly lucky! The drivers, Bennett and Hendrick, were very knowledgeable about the animals and area and were able to answer all of our questions.

The experience is very authentic and the service was excellent. They made it very personalized and special for you. The camp does not have any fences to keep out the wildlife so a couple times we were walking past different antelope and we saw zebras, monkeys, a rhino and water buffalo right in or by the camp.

We would recommend the resort to our family and friends. But for those who enjoy the comforts of the modern world (AC, electricity and luxury), this might not be the place for you. There were bugs constantly and the oil lamps did make the room very hot, but we also did visit in the summer. I'm sure we will be visiting again, but hopefully next time in the spring or fall.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funnbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

When I booked our Safari I wanted it to be nice, clean and most of all in a good spot for viewing animals. I looked and hundreds of different places, there are so many to choose from and the price differerences are crazy. I was a little worried about Tangala at first as it has no eletristy and the price seemed to good to be true. But this place was just so fantastic it went above and beyond my expectations. Our room was beautiful and truly romantic, when you come back from your game drive at night your room is lit by lantins and the mosqito net it draped over your bed.
We stayed for 5 nights and saw almost all the animals, Every game drive we saw the most amazing things. A Cheetah with her cubs at a kill. Lions with a kill off a water Buffalow, Leopards 2 nights in a row, 2 hippos even Hiena.
Elephants, Giraffe, warthogs, impala all came and drank at the waterhole in front of the camp.
We had the one and only female driver in the area, Karen and she was fantastic. What most people don´t know is she used to drive for the Army so she is amazing. Bennett our tracker was great and could spot the tinyist things, even a little owl nested in the bank.
The best thing about this Safari is its small, not too many people bring there kids as there is no eletristy and you CAN¨T use you computer. YAY !!!!
But don´t worry you can charge your batterys in the office as they have solar power.The one downside to this camp is the pool, I think because there is no eletristy they have a hard time keeping it clean and its quite small.
I can honsestly say this was the most fantastic Safari. The highlight of my whole trip to South Africa.
Africa.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onestepatatime_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We stayed for two nights. Karen was our ranger and Ruben the tracker. Our hostess was Jeanette who was very kind and welcoming. Rooms are comfortable but the bathrooms could do with an upgrade. Gas/oil lamps lit at night.
Game viewing very good including seeing a cheetah kill ( highlight) , lots of lion, elephant herd, lots of white Rhino and plently of general game. Water hole in front of Tangala always had something to watch including 7 giraffe drinking one early evening.
Food average home cooking but plenty of it.

  • Liked — Friendly staff. Karen the fantastic ranger
  • Disliked — bathrooms need upgrading
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
12.2 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
399 reviews
7.0 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
437 reviews
5.9 km away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#3 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
357 reviews
7.8 km away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
182 reviews
22.5 km away
nThambo Tree Camp
nThambo Tree Camp
#4 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangala Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangala Safari Camp

Property: Tangala Safari Camp
Address: Thornybush reserve | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tangala Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate and personal experience awaits you at Tangala Safari Camp which is located in the heart of the world renowned Thornybush big 5 Game Reserve bordering the Greater Kruger. The camp boasts sweeping views overlooking an expansive and active waterhole, with the majestic Drakensberg Mountain Range forming an impressive backdrop. With our eco-friendly camp, great hosting, comfortable accommodation and thrilling game drives, guests are assured an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Tangala Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangala Safari Camp South Africa/Thornybush Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing