We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Birthdayy EVER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simbavati River Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Simbavati River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Birthdayy EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Thanks for much for such a great birthday trip. Our guide Pete and tracker Noel went the extra mile to make the trip amazing. We saw all of the big five and loads more. The leopards were my favourite, so beautiful.

The lodge is comfortable and the staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful.

As well as seeing all the widllife on the drives, the river location means you see all sorts of animals at the lodge itself

Hearing the chorus of staff singing so beautfiully for me on my birthday was a memory that will live with me forever.

I can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbelne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    68
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
162
157
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had a really enjoyable stay at Simbavati - such a beautiful position on the river and we loved the luxury tents. Amazing to stand in our deck whilst watching elephants in the bush a few metres away. Great leopard sightings, loads of elephants, brilliant rhinos - only the lions were elusive! The lodge wasn't full when we visited so we had game drives with only one other couple which made for an intimate safari experience. Our ranger Diff had great knowledge of the local bird life which added a great additional interest. Food was tasty and plentiful and the drinks reasonably priced. Good service from all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IBB241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

This is a really great place, the view of the river, the owners, the staff in general great people. All the guest seem to gravitate to one area and you get to meet and chat. The actuall safaris were great, we were there for 2 days and saw the Big 5 both days - COOL. We had 2 great guides. We could have stayed longer....... Really enjoyed......

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mca2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Our stay in the Simbavati River Lodge was absolutely amazing! Everyone was so friendly and the location was stunning! My Fiancè and I got engaged at this Lodge, and I couldn´t have asked for a more romantic setting! Thank you all so much for making our stay so special. We will come back defenitely!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S-Bracht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

An outstanding family experience for wife and I + daughter/husband and two grandchildren 12 & 13. We have done lots of these but it was a first for them and we could not have chosen better. Super guides, great game viewing including lots of leopards, wild dogs and white lions. Elephants and Nyala almost on your decking in the morning. Both tents and lodges (2 family rooms) are very well equiped. Nice plunge pool and very good food - all buffet style which allows for great flexibility. Impromptu entertainment by the Staff is super fun and the whole atmosphere is "nothing is too much trouble".

Room Tip: Chalets for families - tents for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadingDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

we had a wonderful stay in Simbavati. We have been in the Krugerpark before, so we really enjoyed being surrounded by nature:e.g. the off the road safari drives in open jeeps, the animals just outside our rondawel like a Hyena.

the staff made us feel safe and at home. The meals were great, the rondawels very nice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter & Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed in the lodge from the 23rd of October till the 26th. We had a very nice stay in the lodge.
We stayed in the Cheetah tent, which was a very special experience for us. Especially when you can hear the rino's around your tent at night!
Many thanks to the staff whcich was absolutly wonderfull, especially Jimmy and Collins our driver and spotter.
I would recommend this lodge to anyone, it will be an experience you will never forget!

Room Tip: Take a tent instead of a chalet, the experience you will get with the outdoors is much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielenChantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
36.9 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.0 km away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.1 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
9.7 km away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
14.5 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 13 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbavati River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Property: Simbavati River Lodge
Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Simbavati River Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing