We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Umlani Bushcamp
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)
US$66
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
StayEasy Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$84
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
435
32
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
32
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno electricitytree houseoil lampsgame drivesbush campthatched rondaveleco hutbush walkopen showerfull moonwonderful experiencereal bush experienceother guestswatering holelifetime experiencethree nightssmall camp
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our first visit to Umlani Bushcamp (situated within the Timbavati Reserve and adjacent to the greater Kruger National Park) was absolutely everything we had imagined and more! The camp owners, management and staff were absolutely fantastic! We (my wife and three boys) spent 4 memorable nights and the experience will forever be etched in our memories! We were blessed to have seen the "Big 5", not to mention an amazing host of other great wildlife and bird varieties... The trackers and rangers are extremely dedicated & well-versed and are passionate about what they do and they really go to great lengths to make you feel part of the Umlani "family". If you are looking for a genuine & relaxed "bush" experience and some well desrved "R&R", then Umlani Bushcamp is definitely the place to go... Huge "thumbs up" to the Umlani team and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

thank you appreciate the positive feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Since my first visit to Umlani in 2002 I have always wanted to go back. I finally did and wasn't disappointed as it was even better than I remembered. It is a very special experience to stay at such a rustic camp. The huts and bed are very comfortable and the outdoor shower is a special experience all by itself. The staff take such great care with each guest and were genuinely friendly and caring. From the moment we arrived our every need was taken care of. David is a fantastic manager and one of the hardest working bush camp managers I have ever seen. We truly enjoyed his company and stories at dinner. All of the staff from the cooking, house keeping and the rangers were unforgettable. They all work so hard. The food was amazing. We had a great Ranger, "Ginger" and Tracker "Robert". Our family went on a bush walk the first day and learned so much from Ginger. My husband and I spent a night in the tree house which was a memorable experience. We saw a leopard with a cub, lion cubs nursing, and a ground hornbill family. I miss Umlani and the staff already and can't wait to go back. Another very special thing about Umlani, for the environmentally conscious, is how environmentally responsible they are. No plastic bottles were used, and they even provided a metal water canister for use while in camp. They had drinking water refill stations. This camp is a great value. One of the best travel experiences ever.

Room Tip: I wish I had been in hut #8 because I heard that's where many animals like the hyenas pass by frequently.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Wow... thank you Kim an awesome review, it was great to have you back .Already looking forward to having you come back .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I can't say enough about how great a time we had at Umlani Bushcamp. If anyplace deserves the old cliche "once in lifetime experience" it's Umlani. Special kudos go out to the Camp manager David and his outstanding staff, all played their part in giving us a terrific three nights!

Umlani Bushcamp has done a great job of combining a rustic African bush experience with just the right amount of luxury to make it an easygoing experience. The camp is relatively small, only 8 traditional African huts, which makes it a very nice and intimate experience for the 16 or so guests who may be staying at any one time. The rooms are very comfortable and clean while offering a nice touch of luxury without going "over the top" with the type of pretentious luxury seen at more expensive lodges in the area. The Camp makes a very genuine effort to maintain an environmentally friendly footprint, avoiding such modern accoutrements as electricity and plastic water bottles. A nice touch is made by offering the guests reusable water bottles for their stay.

The camp is not for the squeamish, however, as it is wide open to the bush and frequently experiences nightly visits from an array of wild animals. That made it terrific fun for us, but might not do the same for less experienced travelers...but I highly recommend giving it a try..you won't soon forget it.

The food was absolutely terrific morning, noon and night. The evening meals in the small, but exquisitely festooned open air dining area as hosted by David and his staff was truly magnificent. I just can't say enough about David's attention to detail, it really made our stay that much nicer.

As far as the actual safari went...we got to see everything we came for. Our tracker, Robert, and our ranger, Ginger, offered great rides through the bush and certainly knew their stuff. We looked forward to every ride we had with these guys...great fun. The view of the Milky Way on our night drives was worth the price of admission.

Five Star Experience all around. Great job Umlani, David and the great staff.

Room Tip: Hut 8 is the farthest out from the center of camp and offers a nice little patio with chairs..We stayed in Hut 7. Hut 5 seems to be a bit bigger than 6 or 7.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank springbokny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Hey... thanks for your five star review , I am super pleased you found it to be a "once in a life time experience" and terrific fun. David was very pleased to read your review and printed it out for the team to read. Hope to have you visit again some day Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

An incredible place. The staff were fantastic, especially David, the manager. Not only is he passionate about his work, but he is a genuinely honest, hard working, knowledgeable host. Big thumbs up to our guide / driver (Ginger) and tracker, (Robert). Absolutely loved the accommodation, even although the huts are definitely not designed for tall people ;-) And remember, this place is rustic, no electricity or internet. On top of all that, the food was outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Highland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you on behalf of David and the team for the "Big thumbs up"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had 3 great nights at Umlani - the place is magical and the staff exceptional - knowledgable and friendly. What you get is a real bush experience right on your doorstep - sometimes literally. If you want electric/internet and phone - stay away!! If you want to get to know the african bush, get spoilt on views, fresh food and staff that really care about the animals and our footprint in the area, then this place is for you!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your great review of Umlani Bushcamp.Please take note that we do normally provide telephone and wireless internet at the office behind the Boma which burned down on 11 December 2011. We are waiting for insurance pay out before we rebuild and once built we will have a near by telephone and free internet hot spot for guests to use once again.
In the mean time we have phone and internet a little walk from the main facilities up at the temporary office for urgent communication.

Marco Schiess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews