We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
119
15
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
15
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole the reserve game drives unique experience five star rating interesting information young male rooms overlook various animals once in a lifetime natural beauty fire pit spent two nights mosquito net smile on their faces per day heated beds
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 140 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2018

This place is amazing, our accommodation was a huge lodge, overlooking the wilderness and a watering hole. There are no fences so the wildlife has total access to the site, hence the elephant droppings outside your door. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The food is excellent. The lodges are very spacious and clean. The safari drives were amazing, and because it is relatively small in comparison to the major game reserves, animal sightings were plentiful. However, this reserve is if I recall correctly 22,000 hectares, so small isn't necessarily the correct terminology. We had an absolutely amazing time here can't fault it in any way.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank total-tan-seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, Public Relations Manager at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Good Day total-tan-seeker

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay at Hanglip Mountain Lodge. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the friendly staff, accommodation and game drives. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

The Hanglip Mountain Lodge was a wonderful place to go on our first safari. The sleeping accommodations were great - spacious, comfortable, large bathroom. The lodge prepared the most delicious meals we have had in some time. Our guide for the safari rides we took was outstanding.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hleeman2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, Public Relations Manager at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Good Day Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hanglip Mountain Lodge. We are delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018 via mobile

If you stay in non-malarial Entabeni, be sure to stay on the lower escarpment, such as Hanglip. It avoids repeated, hair raising rides up a steep, but spectacular ravine. The views are stunning, but it wastes time. The guides say more wildlife is present on the lower level.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stevethearchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, Public Relations Manager at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Good Day
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hanglip Mountain Lodge. We are delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

We recently spent three nights here and had a wonderful experience. We saw 4 of the “big five”. The accommodation was wonderful, food great and the staff couldn’t do enough for us. We certainly hope to visit again one day.

Room tip: All lodges excellent with views of waterhole where, elephants, zebra, wildebeest, lions and other animals clearly visible.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank barbararogers57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, Public Relations Manager at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Good day barbararogers57

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hanglip Mountain Lodge. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the accommodation, food and friendly staff. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018

We spent two nights here. We had three jeep safaris here. The guides were super. The animals were very close to our cabin. We had plenty of giraffes right outside our cabin, Also zebras were common on the grounds. We had a close encounter with a lion, that was probably only two feet away from our jeep. The food was good. We did one jeep safari to the upper escarpment. It was an exciting trip up and down the trail / road.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, Public Relations Manager at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Good day Dan M

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hanglip Mountain Lodge. We are delighted to read that you had a legendary experience and enjoyed the food, accommodation and friendly staff. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews