We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why choose Impodimo?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Impodimo Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Have just finished our 4night Safari staying at Impodimo game lodge (mid September)

This lodge was not recommended to me by anyone, I just happened to choose it from a list of possible of luxury lodges that were on the game reserve and I struck lucky for a number of reasons, the first and most important one were the game drives themselves.

One must realise that seeing the Big 5, Magnificent 7 is not a 'given', but at Impodimo, unlike some lodges, you have both a ranger and a spotter on all vehicles. This improves your chances at sighting animals as you have two pairs of 'expert' eyes to look for them.
The other reason was the rest of the staff could not do enough to make your stay enjoyable.
The lodge, accommodation, food, massages, location etc were all top class.

Go and experience it for yourselves.

Thank you all at Impodimo
From the Pages & Zarpaks x

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PageytheParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

My husband and I stayed at Impodimo for 4 nights in early September - I have always wanted to do an African safari and our experience at Impodimo was everything I had hoped for and more. We saw all of the Big 5, and we saw them up so close you could almost reach out and touch them (though obviously, you should never do that). Our guide Tyrone and our tracker Sam were fantastic - they work great as a team to follow tracks etc. and locate hard to find animals like the African Wild Dogs. Tyrone knows tons of interesting facts about all of the animals - he can answer all your questions in detail (and I tend to have a lot of questions), plus he adds insightful thoughts about the animals psychology & interactions together that I appreciated as well. My husband and I were continuously impressed by their ability to predict the animals movements and thus get our jeep into the perfect position to get the most out of our time w/ each animal and to take the best picture. From the first game drive you realize that both Tyrone & Sam are very well versed in what they do - we always felt very safe and certain that they had everything under control, even when we were very, very close to the animals.

The lodge itself was wonderful - great decor and spaces to hang out in the common areas. The staff were all very friendly and efficient at their jobs. The food is FANTASTIC - great variety and superbly prepared. I cannot eat dairy and they did a wonderful job accommodating my special food needs. We stayed in Cabin 1, which seems to be one of the best rooms, as it is situated directly in front of the water hole. The room is very spacious and the adjoining bathroom is large as well, with both an indoor and an outdoor shower. My favorite part was the huge deck that overlooks the water hole - during the afternoon free time every day I could sit and watch elephants, giraffe, wart hogs, kudu etc... stroll by for a drink.

Overall, our stay at Impodimo was one of the most amazing experiences we have ever had while traveling and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 has a direct view of the water hole and it gets a good Wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We stayed for 4 night in mid August. We stayed in the family suite which is amazing. Stunning view towards Botswana and over the watering hole. Staff and service iare brilliant....nothing too much trouble. Food is really good and plentiful. Drinks really inexpensive. Good wine selection. Kids aged 10 and 12 had a great time. They will remember it for ever. Lots of special moments on safari! Tye and Sam were brilliant guiding and spotting for us. Really knowledgeable and great company. The kids loved learning the tracks and poo types. Made for great fun. The morning and evening safari stops will live long in the memory - some amazing places. You have to pinch yourself!
We saw all the animals apart from the elusive wild dogs. An amazing experience with an inquisitive rhino coming up to the truck and 70+ elephants playing in the mud.
The team arranged a special day trip for the family and the grandparents, taking special care of my mother who struggles with mobility.
Thoroughly recommend Impodimo. Not sure what to do next after a holiday that good.
Thanks for making memories...the Gordons.

Room Tip: Best rooms overlook the waterhole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andyjgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights at the lodge. The service is amazing. Staff is great. However, thebest are the two daily safari tours with your ranger and tracker. The game reserve includes the big five and I also saw them. Highly recommended place. Trank you!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Greenhorn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of august and we had an amazing experience. It was everything we hoped for and more! We were lucky enough to be paired with Sam & Tyrone for our drives and were lucky enough to see pretty much all the animals we wanted to see except the leopard, which we looked hard for. Tyrone was able to answer pretty much every question we had about animals and more... We always felt safe and taken care of. The lodge was super nice as well. All the staff were super friendly and always had a smile on their face! The food was DELICIOUS and plentiful. The rooms were large, beds were comfortable, and the outdoor shower was incredible. It was very relaxing to spending the afternoons on our porch reading a book and looking for animals. The only thing I have to say is wine at dinner is NOT included but they never mentioned anything to us every night when we ordered - never saw a wine list with prices or anything so we were a little shocked to see our final bill. Overall, a great experience and we cannot wait to return again one day!

Room Tip: Ask for one by the watering hole - rooms 1-3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

What can I say more than SUPERB about our experience at Impodimo? Beside all you will get during the days at this lodge, the most is the staff and how are they taking care about you. I was there with 5 kids and they enjoyed as never the lodge and the drives. Special mention to Rohan and Dicklan (our rangers) and Sam and Lotsie (deputy rangers)!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gustavo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We've just come back after a wonderful 2 night break spent at Impodimo Lodge - Excellent rangers Tyrone & Ruan made every game drive exciting, incredibly informative, got around to show us incredible sightings. Their effort and teamwork had us seeing the Big 5 and so many other amazing sightings. The service and friendliness of the staff was unequaled! Each night the fire in our room was lit, so after dinner came into a lovely warm room - Food, snacks, game drive breaks simply excellent! Highly recommend this lodge - I'll certainly be back - thank you all!
Try it to believe it ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️+

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank JoanneGouws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
17.5 km away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
504 reviews
21.4 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
628 reviews
27.3 km away
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#9 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
214 reviews
1.6 km away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
308 reviews
17.4 km away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impodimo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impodimo Game Lodge

Address: Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2874, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $887 - $3,190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Impodimo Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a rugged dolomite ridge overlooking a vast African wilderness, you will find a hidden treasure called Impodimo. Taken from the Tswana words Mpho Dimo, Impodimo means a gift from God, and is truly a slice of heaven on earth. Rise in the morning to an African dawn and enjoy an early morning game drive with your dedicated professional ranger. Relax as your ranger guides you through the bush on a custom made open Land Rover, searching out the Big 5 or the smaller secrets of nature. Set out on a foot safari with your armed ranger and learn the secrets of tracking African game or just enjoy the trees, birds and stunning scenery. Return from the excitement of the bush to a sumptuous breakfast or brunch and then relax at the pool or the sala overlooking the waterhole where game may come to quench their thirst. In the afternoon, when the heat of the African sun has diminished and the shadows are longer, head out again on a sundowner safari, where you will stop to watch the sun set on this bushveld paradise and enjoy your favourite sundowner drink. Once the sun has set and darkness descends, set off again for a night safari where the more nocturnal creatures now rule the bush. Return to the lodge where you will be treated to the finest Pan-African cuisine with your hosts in the open air boma, and share your days adventures, while you enjoy a night cap around the fire. Impodimo Game Lodge is set along a rocky ridge commanding stunning vistas of the reserve. It is also located at the source of a natural spring, which provides the lodge with elevated views as well as riverine serenity. The lodge offers dawn and dusk safaris. The safaris are carefully timed to ensure optimal seasonal comfort. Whilst Impodimo has 10 suites, its capacity is 16 guests. Each of the suites have been carefully positioned to ensure absolute privacy. Spacious in design, each includes a closed system fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. Your private deck allows uninterrupted views of the Madikwe Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Impodimo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impodimo Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Impodimo Game Lodge South Africa/Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing