We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
West Burke, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We found the inn to be quiet and peaceful. It was hard to believe we were in the middle of downtown Taos. Our room was in the courtyard area and it was wonderful to listen to the birds in the morning. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The entertainment in the bar was great. Thought it was a great location and a good price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    380
    127
    48
    23
See reviews for
182
598
79
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Overall, this is a good place. Historice old hotel w/ beam ceilings, kiva fireplaces (that don't operate) & decent prices. Close to the plaza & shops. The restraurant is good & it has the most popular bar in town. As other have stated, the bar is noisy (music every nite) so avoid the main Inn and any of the rooms outside that face the walk ways that the drunks use to get to the parking lot. But there website shows a good site plan & pictures of every room, so you should be able to get something quiet. Avoid room 202

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

A quaint inn located in the historic district of Taos. Live music nightly in the hotel bar which doubles as the check in area. The night we checked in a small band was playing and the music was wonderful, however it was difficult to communicate with the front desk due to the noise. Having to shout at each other made an otherwise simple task laborious and tedious. Once checked in we proceeded to our room. Our room faced a sidewalk on the back side of the inn so our room was very quiet once the band stopped playing and bar people headed home (approx. 10:30). The place was built as a physicians home in the 1800's and has much of the original structure in place. The bathroom is tiled in typical new mexican style and quite cozy. Plenty of hot water. Breakfast is not included with the room, but an onsite restaurant offers breakfast fare for purchase. We weren't able to check out the restaurant. Overall, this was a pleasant experience. Unfortunately, we only had one night to spend in Taos.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Inn is in a great location. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. The room itself was ok for the price we paid. Our stay was enjoyable but probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Spend one night in an unbearably hot room on 31 March. Called the front desk to let them know that the room was hot and muggy. Jason came to the room trying to turn on the AC.....only to find out they had not been turned on yet. He said the heater was off and that we should open the windows. We did and it did not help. Around midnight we realized that the heater was on and we couldn't figure out how to turn it off. Before staying there check the weather, check if the AC is on if it is warm. The location is good, but the restaurant is expensive for the quality. Several other good restaurant close by that are very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiaLOU_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here for 6 days while skiing and had a great time. The rooms were somewhat rustic, because it's an old adobe building, but they are comfortable and clean. (I always check for bedbugs- there were none.) I stayed in two different rooms because of a problem with the kiva fireplace in the first one not working right- they moved me to a room where the fireplace was working. Some of the fireplaces are strictly ornamental, but I had reserved a room with a working fireplace. The staff was very accommodating about making good when the fireplace broke.

Doc Martin's bar is fun, and coincidentally, one of their specialty margaritas (reposado tequila, lime juice, Cointreau, all in the right proportions, nothing else needed) that I had ordered showed up in Ski magazine the next issue after my trip. Good music at the bar/lobby, including a very good garage band (not really loud, though) my last night there- perfect ending.

Got the three for two deal- very affordable.

Flatlander tip- if you don't live at altitude, I recommend staying in the city of Taos instead of the resort. It's only about ~7000', a couple thousand less than the resort, and it gives you a relatively low place to catch your breath overnight after skiing at over 12,000' all day. The mountain is only about a half hour drive from town.

The Inn is within walking distance of a bunch of really GOOD restaurants.

Room Tip: Check online and reserve by room number for rooms with working fireplaces. Main building is cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I was traveling with a group recently, and we checked into the Taos Inn. Some of us were placed inside the main building which I think needs a complete overhaul. The floors were uneven, to the point if you stepped in one area you thought you were going to put your foot through the floor. The outside rooms seemed to be nicer, but do not let the pictures on the website fool you. The front desk is very hard to access when they have their open mic night as everyone crowds in a little area, thus rendering it hard to move. The music normally plays till about 9 or 10, but would really be best for guest in the main lodge to be done by 9, as you can hear EVER strum of a guitar through the walls. WiFi is not accesible from any room, instead you must climb stairs and sit in a little area outside others rooms to use the internet. This Inn is very suited for those who want to be part of the local hang out and get to know the locals (which is a younger crowd, early twenties to late 30's).

Room Tip: Ask for a room outside, not main building as as they are old old old! Very much like college dorm ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.7 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
4.8 km away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.2 km away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.6 km away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.7 km away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Property: The Historic Taos Inn
Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing