We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mabel Dodge Luhan House
Ranked #12 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

It feels a little strange opening up the beautiful door and stepping in -like you were expected. The lady in the office/gift store was so nice and welcoming. She told us to have coffee and cookies. And we did. First time I heard about ms. luhan was in an upper division college class and the subject was the artist colonies in early 20th century America. So, I think I was a pilgrim, really. In awe. So I sat down in the chair and absorbed. And ate the cookies.

Really loved the fabulous kitchen, huge but also scaled down to just the right dimensions. Then, took pictures of the DH Lawrence privacy windows on the second floor. I thanked my college professor.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We spent the night of New Year's Eve here after an early dinner as we are past the age of excessive partying. Our room in the auxiliary building was quite spartan with no TV which was fine. We built a fire in the kiva fireplace and enjoyed a bottle of champagne which we brought. We turned in at 9 p.m., but we're awakened by loud booms at 10 p.m. Once we figured out that it was fireworks from the Plaza a few blocks away, we went back to sleep. The breakfast featured a vegetarian frittata, buckwheat pancakes, crispy bacon, oatmeal, yogurt, muffins and fresh fruit. Our table mate was a repeat visitor and we met another couple who come frequently. There is a peacefulness about the property and a peek into the simplicity of a different era.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Winger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Mabel is fascinating woman and her spirit lives on in her house. Interesting to learn about her. Each room is unique - I'd ask about which room you are getting - some better than others. Well worth the trip. Also, the food is AMAZING!

Stayed: May 2016
Thank DutchGirlTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I was expecting more from my stay.
The exterior lighting seemed extremely poor and quite unsafe when it got dark.
The grounds seemed unkempt.
My room was clean but seemed to need some updating.
The main house was interesting
The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kits90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My stay at Mable Dodge was something beyond special. Let me state right at the beginning that if you are looking for a modern hotel with hundreds of megabytes of Wi-Fi in every room and a 42" TV at the foot of every bed to entertain you without even leaving the room, then I would suggest something like the Sheraton or Hilton in Albuquerque. But if you are looking for a B&B that is wholesome, quiet, earthen, original, romantic and with direct access to the mountains of New Mexico, then this is the place for you.

Mable Doge Luhan House is a place to get away from the immediacy of life. It is a place to bathe in history (Dennis Hopper owned the property for a while) and to just enjoy being alive and enjoy the slower pace afforded by the log fires and numerous corners both outside and in where you can sit and talk or play a game or plan your next hike into the surrounding mountains. I would suggest that this is not a place for the younger, more impetuous folks looking for loud music and raucous bars. You are more likely to find calm, relaxed and serene older folk wiling away their hours, painting the surrounding views or just sharing quality time away from the rush of normal life.

I was there as part of an organised workshop retreat, the subject of which was self exploration, something well supported by the atmosphere inherent to the property. They have a fabulous yoga studio, massage rooms and a large group room for workshop activities. And for when you are not in some sort of classroom or for those there just for pleasure, there are numerous places to sit by a fire in great comfort after a long day out and about.

All of the rooms that I saw were extremely comfortable, many featuring open log fires. I was in the Robinson Jeffers room to benefit from a king-sized bed. I was very comfortable in this large room and so appreciated the stunning peace and silence at night. And I loved the relaxed nature of the old-fashioned décor; it is all so much more authentic than so many modern hotels that try so hard to create old-fashioned charm and yet fail dismally. I will just say that whilst the Solarium room has the most incredible views of the surrounding mountains, you'll need to be pretty young and nimble to climb the steep steps up to this room and you will wake with the sunrise thanks to the almost 360-degree windows without a curtain in sight.

Being there as part of a retreat group, working all day, we enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinner from their wonderful kitchen. For such a low-key and relaxedly simple B&B, the food was really something to behold. The staff were all so kind and determined to please. They looked after us so well and I can say without doubt that I have seldom enjoyed such reliably delicious food from a bed & breakfast. If you are only there for breakfast, you will not be disappointed. And coffee, tea and sweet nibbles are there to be enjoyed throughout the day for all guests.

I would return to this fabulous hideaway with hesitation. The staff are charming: the rooms are wonderfully comfortable and old-fashioned; the food is excellent; the location is perfect if getting away from the vagaries of life is your objective. It is a spiritual hideaway for those seeking serenity and authenticity. Settle in, turn off your mobile devices, breath in the stunning mountain air and enjoy life one minute at a time. Oh yes: there is Wi-Fi in the main building.... only, which means you won't be able to lie in bed checking Facebook..... thank God!!! Enjoy your stay- Mark.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely: but the rooms in the main house are linked to and closer to the dining roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

My stay here was perfect. The grounds are lovely to stroll around or sit in the courtyard. The history of this place is amazing. If your an artist you will fall in love and a must stay or visit. The staff is wonderful and very helpful with sightseeing in the area. The dining is some of the best I've had. Loved it so much I'm returning in 2017.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Absolutely loved this place. Beautiful Adobe building that is a wonderful combination of art, nativity and real Adobe workmanship, surrounded by a lovely garden. While the rest of Taos is a bit commercial, this felt like an oasis and a trip into the past when the town started to attract artists like Georgia O'Keefe. Our room was beautifully decorated, and we heard coyotes through the windows at night as the hotel is on the edge of town. First class breakfast. Staff were very friendly and relaxed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part or the room where Mabel Dodge lived
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nomadgirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.8 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,216 reviews
0.7 km away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.6 km away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Inn on the Rio
Inn on the Rio
#14 of 23 in Taos
192 reviews
1.5 km away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
536 reviews
7.4 km away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabel Dodge Luhan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabel Dodge Luhan House

Address: 240 Morada Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $22 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mabel Dodge Luhan House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, rambling adobe hotel that was once the heart of the Taos literary scene, and whose former owner enticed D.H.Lawrence to move to Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Mabel Dodge Luhan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabel Dodge Luhan House Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing