We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever😞”

White Shark Diving Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: White Shark Diving Co specializes in exclusive GREAT WHITE SHARK adventure tours in Gansbaai, Western Cape, South Africa. Rated #1 by industry peers, we strive to deliver excellence by being the only Shark Cage Diving Company to offer exclusive & private tours with limited seating capacity for extra comfort, safety and dive time! We are the exclusive carrier of all International Celebrities, VIPs and Sporting Teams. White Shark Diving Company have been advocates for the protection of the Great White Shark species; by pioneering sustainable methods of practice, founding and funding scientific research initiatives and being a key player in the development and implementation of The Great White Shark Protection Foundation of South Africa.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Sad to tell but it was my worst experience ever. We drove from Cape town for two and half hours, put wet wetsuits on the crazy wind, went down to cage, sat there for one and half hour in the freezing cold water (12°C) and seen nothing. Dirty water, fish pieces and seagulls. Another eight people who was waiting on the boat at least seen sharks from there and been in water only 5 minutes. But I've seen only shark from boat for 10 seconds before start, more like shadow and nothing else. They must reduce price if they doesn't guarantee any sharks and cannot even tell you that it's no vision under water. It was total pointless to tell us to stay in cage for so long time. Stupidest what you can do with your money. And main they doesn't care about it because you gave for them money and they will keep it with show for you or without. Maybe any other companies doing something better but definitely not this one.

1  Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time for this review. We understand your disappointment for not seeing any sharks from inside the cage and due to this unfortunate event, you have been issued with a voucher to join us again at no cost.
We're truly sorry that you weren't able to meet these amazing creatures in their natural habitat, but now you have at least one excellent reason to return to Cape Town someday!
Dealing with Mother Nature & wildlife can be quite challenging. The water temperature varies in general between 10 and 19 deg.C during this time of year, but is influenced by the current, tide, weather- and sea conditions, etc. and can unfortunately not be predicted.
Although our crew work very hard to attract the sharks close enough to the boat and cage, they do remain wild animals which we'll always treat with respect and compassion. This is no aquarium.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any further information or assistance.
Warm regards
The WSDC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017

The weather wasn't the greatest when we arrived and we worried we weren't going to see any sharks. We were also worried that if there were sharks, then they might jump into the cage! We were also worried about sea sickness... We needn't have been so worried!!

There was a very reassuring safety briefing, which followed a really good breakfast buffet. Our boat found sharks almost instantly, and we were straight into the cage seeing a Great White in the Flesh! We even saw a stingray and a Bronze Whaler shark.

Afterwards we were treated to a lovely lasagne (vegetarian available) whilst we watched a video of the morning's activities.

Overall - a great day and we really enjoyed ourselves!

Thank Liam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

We appreciate your kind words and recommendation and it was great having you on board! Our crew and staff love working with/for these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to introduce our guests to the Great Whites in their natural habitat, sharing our knowledge and passion for them.
Safety, education, respect and research (while having fun!) are our priorities! :)
Best wishes and safe travels!
The WSDC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

What a great thrill! The company was great from first answering email questions prior to booking to the most incredible morning on the boat. We saw so many sharks. My son even went out a second day with them. Crew is very knowledgeable and professional. Breakfast and lunch were very tasty .. a bucket list trip !!

Thank tillnextcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you sharing your experience with us! Our crew and staff love working with/for these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to introduce our guests to the Great Whites in their natural habitat, sharing our knowledge and passion for them.
We appreciate your kind words and recommendation and it was great having you and your son on board!
Best wishes and safe travels.
The WSDC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

WSDC is one of the best deals on a once-in-a-lifetime experience that one could ask for. I had previously priced the Guadalupe island Mexico cage dives with white sharks and they're several orders of magnitude more expensive than this.
The crew is knowledgeable and very capable and managed to attract and identify several species of shark, including two white sharks which they managed to get very near the cage. I say that this is a once-in-a-lifetime experience because I think that everyone curious about these magnificent animals owes it to themselves to do it at least once. However, I am hoping to go back again next time i'm visiting my relatives in ZA. The animals are breathtaking and have surprising degrees of individual personality and there's a marine biologist on board to answer questions you may have about behavior, home range, diet etc.
There is also a professional photographer who gets footage from outside the cage that is going to be better than anything you're going to get on your gopro without doing something unsafe and prohibited like sticking your hand out of the bars. Just pay the reasonable 350 ZAR for the thumb drive (shaped like a white shark) at the end and you'll have the best footage of the day in addition to whatever you snapped.

The experience is safe, comfortable, affordable and extremely good value. I thought the food and coffee were quite good too - although I only mention this because having read some of the other reviews I honestly can't believe this even figures into the experience, but someone was very upset that no bacon was included at breakfast. I suppose that's the sort of person who would complain that the Chilean Sea Bass served at Jurassic Park had bones in it?

For those coming from Cape Town, the drivers will likely collect you between 4 and 5 AM, but you can get another 2 hours sleep on the way to Gaansbai.

I was slightly skeptical going into this experience that we'd even see anything, since there are plenty of days that these animals will not be cooperative or the conditions won't. All in all, I couldn't be happier with the experience and the people. From start to end, this was well done, well organized, efficient and the end result was truly unforgettable and genuinely awesome.

Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

WOW! What an amazing review and testimonial - thank you Brian!
Our crew and staff love working with/for these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to introduce our guests to the Great Whites (and other wildlife) in their natural habitat, sharing our knowledge and passion for them.
Safety, education, respect and research, while having fun, are our priorities! :)
We appreciate your recommendation and kind words and we're looking forward welcoming you back on board White Shark some day soon!
Best wishes and safe travels
The WSDC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

I chose White Shark Diving Company after doing some online research and comparisons and they did not disappoint! Great communication and coordination via email leading up to the trip. We booked our trip for a Wed. but weather conditions forced us to delay the actual excursion until Friday. I recommend making sure you have a good 3 day window that could work for you. The transport was very smooth (2 1/2 drive to/from Cape Town) and everyone was very friendly, helpful, and professional. The driver was lively and informative and even made several stops on the drive back for everyone to take pictures and do some whale watching. The employees at the actual Gansbaai site were super informative and helpful. We were served a quick breakfast of eggs, cereal & fruit while getting briefed on safety procedures and what to expect while on the boat. Then it was a 15 minute boat ride to the shark cage. While the crew got the cage & bait ready, we were given wet suits to change into on the boat. It was wet & cold while we were out there, so I suggest wearing clothes that are easy to change into/out of. Make sure you already have your bathing suit on before getting on the boat, & stick to flip flops as shoes & socks will likely get wet with all the people getting in & out of water & trying to change into/out of wet wetsuits on a rocking boat. They gave everyone about 2-3 rounds of viewing the shark in the cage, which was really amazing. We were on the boat for about 1 1/2 hours & then we changed out of the wet suits & rode back to the Gansbaai site. I didn't bother trying to struggle back into my clothes on the boat, so I just stayed in my bathing suit & towel until I got back and changed in the bathroom. They served us a warm lunch of lasagna while they played the video footage of our excursion & then we all rode back to Cape Town. Great company!

1  Thank nireks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with us - it was great having you on board! Our crew and staff love working with (and for) these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to introduce our guests to the Great Whites in their natural habitat, sharing our knowledge and passion for them.
Safety, education, respect and research, while having fun, are our priorities! :)
We appreciate your recommendation and kind words.
Best wishes and safe travels!
The WSDC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Shark Diving Company also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Kleinbaai, Gansbaai
 

Been to White Shark Diving Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing