We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hospitality at fantastic location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marebella Seafront Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gansbaai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Old basing
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great hospitality at fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

It was amazing to arrive with such a warm welcome in a location that is just awesome. The views across Walker Bay are fantastic - even a short shower brought a beautiful rainbow. our hosts made us feel at home immediately and helped organise activities - there's lots to do - and not just shark-diving.
Must return when the whales are around - being able to watch them from the balcony of our room will be brilliant!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
267
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

When we arrived in de Kelders we couldn't believe our eyes. Walker Bay was just full of whales. And our B&B was located right at the water front. What a view, both from our room as well as the deck in the upper floor. The hosts, Gerhard and Shalene are very nice and the place has a very personal touch as there are only two rooms.

Gerhard also recommended the nearby beach (about a 25 min walk) - wow! We had the place to ourselves.


I have also stayed in Hermanus before and definitely recommend to stay in de Kelders/Gansbaai instead.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeWe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had the most wonderful stay at Marebella this weekend. The rooms are beautiful with wonderful view of the ocean and the panoramic view from the upper balcony is breath taking. The hosts were incredibly friendly and made us feel so welcome and at home. We will certainly be heading back to Marebella as it was a wonderful stay

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I travel a lot and holidays are what you make of it. De Kelders and Marebella appealed to me because of the location. Having never been to Gansbaai I did not know what to expect. On arrival at Marebella I was warmly welcomed by my hosts. The view from my bedroom was a delight, imagine the the bonus of whales in season. Breakfasts on the balcony whilst looking at the sea was a pleasant start to your day. Gerhard and Shalene would gladly give you tips on things to do or see. Being South African I have the advantage of only being two hours away so Marebella can become my "Holiday home".

Room Tip: This is a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaWilliams_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We spent a night in Gansbaai prior to cage dive in the early morning and luckily found this amazing place! The folks who run the B&B are the best - extremely helpful and genuinely want you to have the best experience possible. Our only regret is that we were not able to stay longer. Their place was absolutely spotless and very up-t-date. Views were breathtaking.

Room Tip: Only two rooms, and both are the same - can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougDunkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgique
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We first went to the Hermanus area 4 years ago and found Hermanus much too busy. We stumbled upon the De Kelders area by chance and decided that, if we came back, we'd definitely stay there. Which we did. After a lot of research I decided to book at Marebella and certainly don't regret it. We had a wonderful time.
Our hosts, Shalene and Gerhard, were absolutely wonderful as well as being efficient. And this started right from the moment the booking process started. Professional service, excellent follow-up, everything went smoothly.
Our room was very well-appointed, with a nice bathroom. Everything is spotless and comfortable. The 2 rooms are downstairs, and have a terrace with a direct view over the ocean.
You can watch whales, in season, right from your own terrace or from the upstairs terrace, where the pool is located.
Gerhard is a wine connoisseur and gave us excellent advice, and Shalene directed us to a lovely and delicious restaurant on our first night there.
Breakfast is varied and good, with a view over the ocean as well.
We felt very welcome, our hosts were lovely, and this really felt like a home away from home. We're certainly going back.
Shalene, Gerhard, if you're reading this : thank you, and see you soon (hopefully).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawaddeekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Our stay at Marebella was a wonderful one. We chose de Kelders over busy Hermanus which we feel has become a bit of a tourist trap over the years. The owners of Marebella, South African Shalene and Austrian Gerhard are very enthusiastic and welcoming people who are always prepared to give advice or tips. Gerhard is very knowledgeable on wines and gave us some much valued advice on wineries to visit in the Stellenbosch area. Reservations for whale watching were made for us. At sunrise the next morning we watched a whale cow and calf swim by from the terrace outside our bedroom. Breakfast was served on the first floor terrace with a stunning view of Walker Bay. What more can one want? Both hosts made us feel very much at home. An added touch was the picture they took of us and sent us later. Don't miss this place when you are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyne54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
0.2 km away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
7.3 km away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#5 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 km away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#7 of 30 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.1 km away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
1.7 km away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#6 of 30 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marebella Seafront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marebella Seafront Guesthouse

Property: Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Address: 29 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious luxury guest rooms on the seafront with 180 degree uninterrupted panoramic sea views of Walker Bay. Whale watching from your room and private terrace from June to December. Owner-run by Gerhard and Shalene Pirker. German spoken. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing