We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star rating on this lovely place in Chobe National Park”
Review of Ghoha Hills Savuti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017

This lovely place is sure to please everyone, no matter what age!! Arriving we were warmly greeted by management and staff. The accommodations were beyond what I had expected. Breathtaking views from my balcony room on the side of the mountain, where I could see the waterhole where many animals came to indulge in a drink of water! Food was delicious and plated so beautifully! We were even entertained with music and dancing by the staff of people who worked there. I want to go back in the very near future with my family for a longer stay! Thank you Abram and Nanette for a memorable experience at Ghoha Hills Savuti !!
Norma Drummond Ca'mel....Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Room Tip: All rooms have the same awesome view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nadc2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
674brettt, Marketing at Ghoha Hills Savuti, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi There

Thanks for your review. We ensure a warm and friendly greeting - a fine way to get your safari started and to make you feel part of the family.

In terms of accommodation, each of our tents have been carefully constructed to take advantage of the views and it's imperative our guests have the space to relax. A balcony overlooking the Savuti region is the perfect place to relax. The advantages of being perched on a hill!

We're glad you enjoyed our modern food with traditional flair. We couldn't let you leave our lodge without a bit of African dancing and campfire fun.

Thanks for visiting!
Warm Regards
The Ghoha Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017

Our family group of twelve arrived here after three days of mobile camping and a long, dusty trek across the Savuti Plain . When we arrived , we felt that we had landed in paradise. The location at the top of a hill with the plains below is amazing. By day, one could see elephants and other animals gathering at the watering hole below the deck and , by night, the starlit sky was not interrupted with another light as far as the eye could see. The hosts, the staff , the food and accomodations were perfect in every way. We appreciated the eco friendly atmosphere and truly felt one with the environment. Our safari guides were very knowledgeable and worked incredibly hard to share the wonders of the area. Our safari picnic lunch was also delicious. Before we left, the staff serenaded us with beautiful native songs. It was difficult to leave !

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
674brettt, Marketing at Ghoha Hills Savuti, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Hi There

Thank you so much for your glowing review. Our lodge must have been a relief after all that adventurous travel! A great way to end a safari. Our location is a major drawcard for many guests, the location on the hill giving rise to some spectacular sunset scenes and landscape vistas.

We're glad you enjoyed the local entertainment and gained vast knowledge of our area from our guides. We function as a "family" here, each person as passionate as the next with regards to the role they play.

Warm Regards
The Ghoha Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

My 11 year old daughter and I stayed for 3 nights in late June 2017 and couldn't speak more highly of our visit. The warm hospitality from Abram and Nanette and their team was so welcoming, the guide was so helpful and informative and the lodge was just so comfortable with personalised touches. The game drives in Savuti were special with plenty of lion sightings, a nice moment with a leopard relaxing under a tree and lots of other game. We would love to come and visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Steve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Reflecting over what made this an unforgettable stay at Ghoha Hills Savuti.

Was it the game drives seeing Cheetahs, Leopard, Elephants, Lions with their kill and a ton of other wildlife or learning from the rangers during our beautiful drives across Chobe National Park, or was it the wonderful Eco-lodge with the lovely “tents” overlooking the park and the waterhole at the foot of the hill or was it due to the super friendly and always service-minded smiling staff?

All very good reason in itself for an unforgettable stay but the excessive hospitality from our hosts Abram & Nanette provided this place with a very special touch of African Zen.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrotterDK1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
674brettt, Marketing at Ghoha Hills Savuti, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Hi There

Wow - it really seems as if you had quite the safari in terms of game viewing. But then again, that's not everything that makes up a safari. It's the meals, the lodge, the atmosphere and added value extras that make the experience.

We're a very passionate about the work we do and love to share the spirit of Africa with our guests!

Warm Regards
The Ghoha Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

The lodge, the people, and the food were wonderful. We were on a family adventure and the owners treated us like we were family. Everything about Ghoha Hills was outstanding. The lodge itself has gorgeous places to gather for drinks and talks, has beautiful views, and is nestled in the bush. Adam, the manager gave us great detailed information about the area and the animals and showed us the amazing African skies through his telescope.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1962oldhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
674brettt, Marketing at Ghoha Hills Savuti, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Hi There

Thanks so much for your glowing review of our lodge. Our managers Abram and Nanette always ensure that guests feel like they're at home and that their every need is catered for. Abram does have a wealth of knowledge about the area and is very passionate about Astronomy!

Warm Regards
The Ghoha Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We are a family of four and stayed at Ghoha Hills for 2 nights. After a challenging trip through the sandy pistes of Chobe NP we arrived at the lodge with a leaking tank and a flat tyre. The staff took immediate care of our car and were generally extremely friendly and helpful, just the same as the two managers. The luxurious tented accomm is pure luxury and well set out. The lounge(s) and dining areas are superb, likewise the food. The next day we went on an all-day safari and saw all the game living in the area: an abundance of elephants, lions, giraffes etc. an excellent cold lunch from the lodge was provided in the bush and our guide/driver was very knowledgable. Back at the lodge we had dinner by the campfire and a sundowner. we definitely recommend the place and are happy to have stayed there. It certainly deserved its 5 stars.

Room Tip: every tented accomm excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Katrin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
674brettt, Marketing at Ghoha Hills Savuti, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hi There

Thanks for your positive review! We always help out our fellow travellers and know all about the trials of driving through the Chobe. We're glad you came right with sorting the car out.

We always make sure that guests' are fed properly, fall asleep in absolute luxury and walk away with an in-depth knowledge of Africa.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay!

Warm Regards
The Ghoha Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We stayed for 3 nights at Ghoha Hills Savuti with 8 members of our extended family in mid July 2017. From the moment we arrived we were blown away with how beautiful this camp is. Situated on top a large rock outcrop the views from the camp (and each individual tent) are stunning. The camp is very isolated and you really feel like you are all alone perched on a beautiful mountain top with amazing savanah views.

The tents (if you could call them that) are beautifully equipped with every luxury and thoughtfully positioned to blend with the environment.

The camp itself is beautifully appointed. The main living and dining areas are large and inviting and all have stunning views. The food and service was exceptional.

The safari experience here is different to the other camps we visited. The Savuti area is beautiful and the wildlife is diverse. The camp is about a 40 minute drive to the channel and our guides Ren and Sam were fantastic and such nice people. We were able to see so many different kinds of animals and their knowledge of the flora and fauna was encyclopedic.

Aside from being expertly driven around, they were so hospitable organizing morning teas, lunches and sun downer drinks at perfect locations.

We cant speak highly enough about our hosts Abram and Nanette. Everything was perfect and they went that extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Abram is so knowledgeable and our children loved his stories as well as learning about the stars and using his telescope.

The safari experience can be hectic and this place combines a luxury safari experience with a camp that makes you feel relaxed and pampered from the moment you get off the safari vehicle.

We would definitely recommend this place and would love to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwr734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
674brettt, Marketing at Ghoha Hills Savuti, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hi There

Thanks so much for your glowing and positive review. One of huge selling points is that we are located on an elevated area overlooking the Savuti region. This makes us feel closer to the sunset and gives such a feeling of isolation in the wilderness! A slice of luxury in raw Africa.

We've kept our lodge as simple and eco-friendly as possible, while focussing on lodge luxury but not intruding on the environment.

Warm Regards
The Ghoha Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
75.6 km away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
513 reviews
21.7 km away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#10 of 21 in Chobe National Park
144 reviews
21.7 km away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#11 of 21 in Chobe National Park
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
127.2 km away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#21 of 21 in Chobe National Park
141 reviews
118.5 km away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#4 of 21 in Chobe National Park
327 reviews
123.2 km away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#20 of 21 in Chobe National Park
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghoha Hills Savuti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghoha Hills Savuti

Address: Savute area, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: $736 - $2,296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghoha Hills Savuti 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on the eastern side of the Ghoha Hills, this hilltop retreat boasts unparalleled 180 degree views across the savannah and the natural waterhole which attracts wildlife year round. To the south east of the lodge, the Savuti Marsh beckons with its unique game viewing opportunities. The Marsh is a relic of an inland lake which is fed by the Savuti channel. Covered by extensive savannah and rolling grasslands, the wildlife is dynamic year round. The dry and wet seasons change the scenery and offer sightings of the annual migrations of zebras and predators. Elegance abounds in the eleven well-appointed canvas suites, which have been elevated on wooden decks, ensuring spectacular sunrise views. An exclusive and intimate ambience permeate this understated luxury lodge affording even the most discerning of travellers to Botswana a truly unique safari experience. Ghoha Hills is an eco lodge, using solar power for minimum impact to the environment. The lodge blends into the natural environment whilst maintaining the integrity of the pristine natural bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and South African Hotels so you can book your Ghoha Hills Savuti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing