We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2012

After staying at camps in the Okavango Delta, it was a shock to arrive at Chobe Chilwero and find that the lodge is behind an electric fence. The reason for this is understandable – elephant numbers are so high in the adjoining National Park that they are destroying much of the vegetation and can cause a lot of damage in the area. There is some wildlife within the fence, including a bushbuck which frequented the area around our room. Chobe Chilwero is a lodge, with a very different atmosphere to the safari camps we had come from, less personal and rather more like a hotel.

Our room was large and beautifully furnished and decorated, with a bath as well as both an indoor and outdoor shower. Unfortunately while we were there the water pressure was quite low – I don’t know if this is a frequent problem. The main lodge has an attractive verandah with tables and a good view, as well as the lounge and dining rooms. We found the food was good, and one night before dinner we were entertained by local dancers, which we enjoyed.

The wildlife viewing was both game drives and boat trips. Because the drives were in a national park, we were not able to go off road and had to be out of the park by dusk. The park was very bare in the dry winter season and some of the elephants looked to be in poor condition compared to the Okavango. We saw some interesting wildlife on our drives, such as sable antelope and lots of kudu as well as several leopards. However, the highlight was undoubtedly the boat trips in the afternoon, which were a welcome change from bumping about in the back of a landrover. Cruising alongside pods of sleeping hippos, seeing lots of waterbirds, watching a pride of lions at a buffalo kill right on the riverbank and of course watching the elephants at the river were great experiences. And the sunsets on the river were beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyD61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you found Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero less personal compared to the other camps you stayed at, please rest assured that this is certainly not indicative of the level of experience that we aim to provide.

Thank you for bringing the water pressure to our attention, our maintenance department is currently working on this issue and will have it resolved as soon as possible.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the game viewing and that "the highlight was undoubtedly the boat trips in the afternoon",

We appreciate your feedback in order to constantly improve our high levels of service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero soon.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

Compared with the previous places we have stayed in during our holiday, Chilwero was larger and more "hotel" style rather than an intimate camp, but the staff were friendly and the rooms were spacious and well decorated. There is airconditioning which some travellers will love, but for us it is not an issue as we are happy to experience some genuine heat whilst in Africa. There were a few small maintenence issues that were attended to promptly, some successfully and another not as successfully. The river cruises add a different aspect to game viewing and we saw lots of buffalo, elephants, crocodiles and hippos. It is relaxing and the sunset makes a nice backdrop to the photos that you will take! The game drives in Chobe National Park are restricted to being on road only, but we had sightings of lions, sable antelope, giraffes, zebras, beautiful birds.... The WiFi is faster than in some of the more remote camps so you can send your photos of your game drives to your family and friends quite quickly!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tassiefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. We had an amazing experience and would highly recommend it. The accommodation was great, large, spacious and everything to a high standard. The game drives, both on the river and in the park, were everything that you would hope for. We were kept in small groups and really felt that we were looked after. The star attractions were of course the animals and they really did not disappoint. The only animal we didn't see was a Rhino. When not on the games drives we also took advantage of the spa on a few occasions. On our final night we came back to our room to find a complimentary bottle of champagne. It really provided a great mix for a honeymoon couple and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The staff here including Brenda, Henry and Grace in particular treated me like royalty. The chef prepared a bar-b-q on our first night and even let us make our own grilled pizzas for lunch the next day. Although we couldn't go off road, our guide K.B. and Moshie made sure we saw the most spectacular elephant and lion sightings. Loved the boat trip and the hippos and crocs! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corky9108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed Chilwero. The room was beautiful, the food excellent, and the staff incredibly friendly. They all introduced themselves upon our arrival and used our names at every contact. The game viewing was absolutely fabulous. Although the guides cannot go off road in the Park, we saw incredible things. The viewing by boat was a huge highlight. The sunsets with elephants will stay in my memory forever! Mushe was a great guide. He was up to every challenge and taught us so much. I recommend the spa. I had a wonderful scrub with massage at an incredible price. Go to Chilwero! You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lghp2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We had two great days here. The service was top notch, food very good, and the game viewing excellent. My biggest complaint had to do with our transfers to and from Livingstone. No one alerted us to the fact that the transfers were by van, then water, and finally open land rover. Also the timing of the transfers meant we lost two game viewing opportunities.

Room Tip: If walking is an issue, ask for a room close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prhnjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

i can really recommend this lodge to anyone. Amazing accomodation, tremendous staff, (thank you Lesego) unbelievable food (thank you Phineas) and an exceptional guide (thank you Rodger). this lodge was impeccable. People, you would have to go to experience the luxury and still feel Africa all in one. we will certainly be going back soon. thanks to all the amazing staff who carried us hand and foot!!!!! unbelievable :)

Room Tip: all the rooms are exceptional. we were pleasantly surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2029jackie2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Quality Control Assistant at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to pass your comments onto Lesego, Phineas, Rodger and the rest of the team.

We are very pleased to read that your all round experience was such an amazing one and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
5.4 km away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
118.5 km away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
294 reviews
47.1 km away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
322.9 km away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#27 of 73 in Okavango Delta
135 reviews
140 km away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#11 of 21 in Chobe National Park
52 reviews
9 km away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#21 of 21 in Chobe National Park
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero

Address: Bordering Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: $213 - $2,514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero is a luxurious riverside retreat in the heart of the bush, with all of the facilities of a larger resort. The main area commands fabulous views over the Chobe River which borders Chobe National Park to the north. As well as the elephants for which the park is famous for, guests can relax in the split-level swimming pool, unwind with a pampering session in the spa or enjoy the gourmet food that the lodge has become known for. Each of the 14 thatched guest cottages has two showers, one inside and one outside. The ensuite bathroom also has a large free-standing bath. After a day of game viewing, what better way to relax than in your own private garden with a cocktail? Or if the fancy takes you, why not have your gourmet dinner served right here under the African sky. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. Our honeymoon suite at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero features a private plunge pool and deck area where guests will be able to enjoy private dinners for two under the stars (weather permitting) and special turn downs every night. Guests booking this room will automatically receive a private vehicle and guide for all game viewing activities. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, South African Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing