We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to the Okavango Delta!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2017

This was our first stop on an eight day safari with Sanctuary Retreats. What a welcome! Right after we got off the plane we were taken to a little clearing for champagne and snacks while Adam and Alan (the guides for our group of 8) explained the rules and offered us some options for that afternoon. We chose to immediately do a game drive and check in to camp later. Great decision! We saw so many animals in that first few hours! It was difficult to be excited quietly and stay seated. The ride to camp was an adventure itself as many of the roads are under water - feet up!
The accommodations are in tents but pretty glamourous. And the wildlife wanders right by. One morning we had to detour around some elephants to get to breakfast.
We opted to do the "Walking with Elephants" option. It was fantastic! We learned so much about elephants and had unforgettable experiences with them.

Room Tip: Some tents are far from the main building on a sand path. If you have mobility issues, request a ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017

The team behind the Stanley's Camp definitely knows how to craft a great experience. From the moment when we were picked up from the airstrip, every moment and detail was carefully planned. We really felt special and were spoilt by the staff.
Especially our guide Mr Ice made a huge difference in how we perceive and enjoy our tour. Definitely recommend it.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Yenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

After staying at Chobe Chilwero and Stanley's Camp with Sanctuary Retreats, now I have started to look for countries where they operate. They have taken hospitality to a different level. Just one word of caution; I have put on 4 kilos in 8 days!

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. Leave it to their desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sougata2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Guest,

We're so pleased that Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero and Sanctuary Stanley's Camp have inspired you to visit more of our camps and lodges - we can't wait to welcome you to your next Sanctuary stay :)

If you would like to keep in touch, please feel free to follow us on Facebook (Sanctuary Retreats), Instagram (@sanctuaryretreats) or Twitter (@sanctuaryret).

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

The Okavango has been on my must see list for many years, and my recent visit to the Delta and Stanley's Camp did not disappoint. The Okavango lived up to its reputation as a beautiful pristine wilderness, and I believe that staying at Stanley's was a great way to see it. Stanley's is a classic tented facility, but it does not lack for creature comforts. Each of the eight tents was spacious, with full bathrooms, electricity, and internet. The lodge area was also very comfortable with plenty of seating area for meals, a fully stocked bar, outdoor fire pit and pool. Game drives were terrific and because lodges are so spread out in the Delta, we rarely came upon another vehicle. Most significantly, all of the people at camp were wonderful, warm and welcoming. Shout outs to Martin, our guide, whose patience resulted in many great sightings that I'm sure other guides and visitors would have missed, Martin, Aaron and the rest of the Stanley's crew. Thanks for a wonderful adventure!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank GodukeAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to enjoy your long-awaited adventure in the Okavango Delta with us - we are truly honoured!

Delighted that it lived up to everything you had hoped for and we hope to welcome you back to the Delta one day soon.

If you would like to keep in touch, please feel free to follow us on Facebook (Sanctuary Retreats), Instagram (@sanctuaryretreats) or Twitter (@sanctuaryret).

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

While this camp does not exude the same level of luxury as its more famous sister camp (Chief's Camp) it certainly makes up for it with great food, solid game viewing and an exceptionally friendly staff. Camp Manager Phoebe and her staff were absolutely awesome. This camp is going to be completely refurbished in a few months and I expect it will be even better after that.

Room Tip: All the rooms have nice views. Ask for a room closer to the lodge if you do not like to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Guest,

A huge thank you from the whole team at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp for this lovely review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and cannot wait to welcome you back in the future.

If you would like to keep in touch, you can follow us on our social media channels (Facebook, Twitter and Instagram).

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

My family of 4 spend 2 nights at Stanleys camp in early March 2017. We were flying in on a small plane from Kasane where we were met at the airport by TT. Bags loaded and we were treated to a welcome drink and snack not far from the runway. Fed and watered we jumped on the back of the vehicle on our first safari drive in the Okavango Delta to find camp. The drive took around 45 minutes.

Once at camp we were traditionally welcomed by the full staff team before camp introductions and being showed to our tented room.

The tents were effectively a 4 star hotel room with tented sides. The tent has fans for air con which worked perfectly, built in electricity and lights, powerful showers and full flushing toilet. We felt very comfortable and most importantly safe. My one area for improvement is that some of the velcro on the outside windows covers of the tents needs replacing as with a windy night they can easily come open allowing in light.

The food we had at Stanleys was the best in our 16 night trip. Seeing how remote we were we felt very lucky to have eaten so well. Food here was served slightly differently to other camps, with early rise 6am ish for breakfast then on to a safari drive. Return for 3 course lunch around 2pm before afternoon tea at 4pm…. the safari drive then dinner at 8pm. You will not go hungry at all. Staff are around to cater to any dietary requirement.

While I am aware that I am reviewing this as a lodge, I feel that it is also important to review the animals and landscape around this camp too. The landscape was beautiful and so remote, we didn’t see anyone on any of our 4 safari trips. The experience of finding animals was more authentic, as a result, given that in other areas of Africa people radio in their finds. Maybe we were a bit unlucky due to an extended rainy season and a very dense bush so animals weren’t visible in abundance. We did see plenty of Elephants, Zebra, and other antelope and smaller game, as well as 1 male lion and 1 male Leopard. I think that if the weather had been drier for longer in advance of our trip we might have been luckier.

We would 100% return to Stanleys camp - it has been our most authentic safari trip in Africa to date.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AmesB1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

This was the first place we stayed at on a 8 day safari with Sanctuary. The staff, food and accommodations are all 5 star. The tent is super nice and we didn't have a problem keeping bugs out at all. There is also a very nice full bathroom. You also have a porch and a hammock overlooking the flood plain. We really enjoyed our afternoons in total peace and quiet and I did not want to leave. The game drivers are super professional and very respectful of the animal's space.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
105.6 km away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#1 of 71 in Okavango Delta
129 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#26 of 71 in Okavango Delta
131 reviews
0.0 km away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#23 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.2 km away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#17 of 71 in Okavango Delta
156 reviews
122.1 km away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#16 of 71 in Okavango Delta
201 reviews
16.9 km away
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safar...
#12 of 71 in Okavango Delta
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Stanley's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Stanley's Camp

Address: NG32 Game Reserve, Okavango Delta, Botswana, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: $722 - $1,418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Stanley's Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Stanley's is a classic tented camp with just eight tents built under an imposing African Ebony tree on a private concession overlooking the Okavango floodplains. Sanctuary Stanley's Camp is built on a 260,000 acre private concession in the renowned Okavango Delta. This traditional safari camp has a large lounge area and dining area with incredible views over the floodplains in front of camp. The main area features a bar from where refreshing drinks are always served with a smile, a small library area and curio shop. From the swimming pool - a real treat after a hot day of game viewing - guests can watch giraffe and other plains game march across the savannah and sometimes catch a glimpse of rare wild dogs. Everything about Sanctuary Stanley's Camp is built to the highest ecological standards so that we don't damage this highly sensitive area.The intimate camp features only eight safari canvas tents, each individually designed, furnished with African antiques that exude a classic and understated elegance that harks back to the explorers and colonialists of the 19th century. Each tent has a large wooden deck providing private areas where you can relax in a hammock while soaking in the surrounding sights and sounds or enjoy cocktails, before dinner is served in the spectacular dining mess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sanctuary Stanley's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Stanley`s Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing