We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
165
42
15
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
42
15
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselephant experienceguide alangame viewingchobe chilweroorphaned elephantsbeautiful staffearly marchthe main lodgetented accommodationwe loved our stayday safarilight aircraftthe general managerwelcome drinkluxury accommodationsafrican safarifantastic experience
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 223 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2017

The team behind the Stanley's Camp definitely knows how to craft a great experience. From the moment when we were picked up from the airstrip, every moment and detail was carefully planned. We really felt special and were spoilt by the staff.
Especially our guide Mr Ice made a huge difference in how we perceive and enjoy our tour. Definitely recommend it.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Yenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017

After staying at Chobe Chilwero and Stanley's Camp with Sanctuary Retreats, now I have started to look for countries where they operate. They have taken hospitality to a different level. Just one word of caution; I have put on 4 kilos in 8 days!

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. Leave it to their desk
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sougata2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

We're so pleased that Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero and Sanctuary Stanley's Camp have inspired you to visit more of our camps and lodges - we can't wait to welcome you to your next Sanctuary stay :)

If you would like to keep in touch, please feel free to follow us on Facebook (Sanctuary Retreats), Instagram (@sanctuaryretreats) or Twitter (@sanctuaryret).

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile

The Okavango has been on my must see list for many years, and my recent visit to the Delta and Stanley's Camp did not disappoint. The Okavango lived up to its reputation as a beautiful pristine wilderness, and I believe that staying at Stanley's was a great way to see it. Stanley's is a classic tented facility, but it does not lack for creature comforts. Each of the eight tents was spacious, with full bathrooms, electricity, and internet. The lodge area was also very comfortable with plenty of seating area for meals, a fully stocked bar, outdoor fire pit and pool. Game drives were terrific and because lodges are so spread out in the Delta, we rarely came upon another vehicle. Most significantly, all of the people at camp were wonderful, warm and welcoming. Shout outs to Martin, our guide, whose patience resulted in many great sightings that I'm sure other guides and visitors would have missed, Martin, Aaron and the rest of the Stanley's crew. Thanks for a wonderful adventure!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank GodukeAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to enjoy your long-awaited adventure in the Okavango Delta with us - we are truly honoured!

Delighted that it lived up to everything you had hoped for and we hope to welcome you back to the Delta one day soon.

If you would like to keep in touch, please feel free to follow us on Facebook (Sanctuary Retreats), Instagram (@sanctuaryretreats) or Twitter (@sanctuaryret).

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017

While this camp does not exude the same level of luxury as its more famous sister camp (Chief's Camp) it certainly makes up for it with great food, solid game viewing and an exceptionally friendly staff. Camp Manager Phoebe and her staff were absolutely awesome. This camp is going to be completely refurbished in a few months and I expect it will be even better after that.

Room Tip: All the rooms have nice views. Ask for a room closer to the lodge if you do not like to walk.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear Guest,

A huge thank you from the whole team at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp for this lovely review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and cannot wait to welcome you back in the future.

If you would like to keep in touch, you can follow us on our social media channels (Facebook, Twitter and Instagram).

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2017

My family of 4 spend 2 nights at Stanleys camp in early March 2017. We were flying in on a small plane from Kasane where we were met at the airport by TT. Bags loaded and we were treated to a welcome drink and snack not far from the runway. Fed and watered we jumped on the back of the vehicle on our first safari drive in the Okavango Delta to find camp. The drive took around 45 minutes.

Once at camp we were traditionally welcomed by the full staff team before camp introductions and being showed to our tented room.

The tents were effectively a 4 star hotel room with tented sides. The tent has fans for air con which worked perfectly, built in electricity and lights, powerful showers and full flushing toilet. We felt very comfortable and most importantly safe. My one area for improvement is that some of the velcro on the outside windows covers of the tents needs replacing as with a windy night they can easily come open allowing in light.

The food we had at Stanleys was the best in our 16 night trip. Seeing how remote we were we felt very lucky to have eaten so well. Food here was served slightly differently to other camps, with early rise 6am ish for breakfast then on to a safari drive. Return for 3 course lunch around 2pm before afternoon tea at 4pm…. the safari drive then dinner at 8pm. You will not go hungry at all. Staff are around to cater to any dietary requirement.

While I am aware that I am reviewing this as a lodge, I feel that it is also important to review the animals and landscape around this camp too. The landscape was beautiful and so remote, we didn’t see anyone on any of our 4 safari trips. The experience of finding animals was more authentic, as a result, given that in other areas of Africa people radio in their finds. Maybe we were a bit unlucky due to an extended rainy season and a very dense bush so animals weren’t visible in abundance. We did see plenty of Elephants, Zebra, and other antelope and smaller game, as well as 1 male lion and 1 male Leopard. I think that if the weather had been drier for longer in advance of our trip we might have been luckier.

We would 100% return to Stanleys camp - it has been our most authentic safari trip in Africa to date.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AmesB1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews