We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wonderful trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This camp was everything I could have hope for! The staff were wonderful, the food amazing and the game drives incredible! Ice, our guide was knowledgeable, funny, and made sure that we had the best day EVERYDAY! Martin was terrific, and the rest of the staff as well. Laundry was done free everyday, which was terrific! The tent was clean and very roomy. The bed was so comfortable. I would recommend this camp to everyone! We saw so many animals, lions, elephants, giraffe, zebra, baboon...and the list goes on. We had a terrific time!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

The entire team made one of our life dreams to travel to the Okavangodelta to a completely, totally satisfying, fortunate delighted stay!
Adam the guide and we have been (and still are) so lucky magnets that we have seen a leopard less than 24 hours after arriving sitting in a tree, blue sky behind and then after a while jumping into the grass strolling away along the grassland. In fact we saw them all, even hyenas with puppies...and a alarm trompeting sitatunga....
We have definitely appreciated all the meals, the singing, dancing and playing the drums staff (!) , the hot water bottle in our bed and so on.... we enjoyed our stay very very much.
Thank you BB and Adam and to the team again and we definitely hope to see you very very soon.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank TheHinderFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Excellent food, great service. We had wonderful guides who were very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna. It was a terrific family experience. Our thanks to all the staff for their hospitality. We would like to return

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susannX6956FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

This was our last lodge of our trip to Botswana. We stayed 3 nights here and loved every minute. The rooms were very comfortable with a small balcony to sit on overlooking the delta with the little extras such as port and glasses on the table to enjoy after dinner
After dark you are walked to your rooms and at night you can hear the sounds of Africa
The food and hospitality was wonderful sitting around the fire having a few drinks before dinner with fellow travellers each evening comparing notes great
The game drives were different than our previous ones with animals a little more sparse and a lot of water crossings but hey we we're in a delta. We were a group of 7 and just agreed how long we wanted to be out as we'd already seen such a lot of game it was actually nice to spend some down time at the lodge
All the meals were nice but the afternoon teas a real treat
There is a small well stocked gift shop and a nice pool area which we relaxed beside
We had a resident warthog living under the main balcony who was often seen out and on 2 nights hyenas lurking around the dining room which was great fun but soon chased away by staff,a troop of monkeys live in the trees around the lodge
I think this lodge was just perfect for us as our last one on our safari enough fellow traveller to mingle with, able to sort our game drives great food and delightful surroundings with happy staff

Stayed: June 2017
Thank rosie/oscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

The arrival experience with singing personnel and champagne, the staff carries our bags to our wonderful tent style accommodation (on there heads), wow. Our room was extremely comfortable and opens to the beauty of the Delta offering the opportunity for the wildlife to walk to our deck. Our game drives were AMAZING filled with Buffalo, Giraffes, Hippos and a male Elephant actually made 2 charges at our jeep (best guide ever), a total adrenaline rush. All the personnel were instantly like family and so happy to help with anything. Meals and drinks were just right and plenty! #loveafrica #lovesanctuaryretreats #amazingguidesafrica

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Liz950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Each day we went on a exciting safari and returned to a beautiful resort with a warm and friendly staff, delicious food and comfortable accommodations! The highlights were walking with the elephants and driving through rivers!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 973rhondam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Then same is one of the more traditional ones, small but pretty location.
The tents have come a bit of age and need some repairs and sprucing up, the food is ok and so is the service. Game runs very good end unusual sinc most in rivers

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanst9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
105.6 km away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#1 of 71 in Okavango Delta
129 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#27 of 71 in Okavango Delta
131 reviews
0.0 km away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#23 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.2 km away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#16 of 71 in Okavango Delta
156 reviews
122.1 km away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#17 of 71 in Okavango Delta
201 reviews
16.9 km away
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safar...
#13 of 71 in Okavango Delta
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Stanley's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Stanley's Camp

Address: NG32 Game Reserve, Okavango Delta, Botswana, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: $720 - $1,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Stanley's Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Stanley's is a classic tented camp with just eight tents built under an imposing African Ebony tree on a private concession overlooking the Okavango floodplains. Sanctuary Stanley's Camp is built on a 260,000 acre private concession in the renowned Okavango Delta. This traditional safari camp has a large lounge area and dining area with incredible views over the floodplains in front of camp. The main area features a bar from where refreshing drinks are always served with a smile, a small library area and curio shop. From the swimming pool - a real treat after a hot day of game viewing - guests can watch giraffe and other plains game march across the savannah and sometimes catch a glimpse of rare wild dogs. Everything about Sanctuary Stanley's Camp is built to the highest ecological standards so that we don't damage this highly sensitive area.The intimate camp features only eight safari canvas tents, each individually designed, furnished with African antiques that exude a classic and understated elegance that harks back to the explorers and colonialists of the 19th century. Each tent has a large wooden deck providing private areas where you can relax in a hammock while soaking in the surrounding sights and sounds or enjoy cocktails, before dinner is served in the spectacular dining mess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sanctuary Stanley's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Stanley`s Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing