We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'honeymoon' chalet at oddball, unforgettable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oddballs' Palm Island Luxury Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We were there 2 nights at oddball for our honeymoon. First you go to chief island by little plane and altitude view of okavango is marvelous. You land on this little air track and you enter a new world. Camp is just in front of river full of hippos, all you see is...nature! At night noise from animals is fascinating and frightening. Staff is just perfect and so nice. Elephants can sometimes cross the camp and a leopard and his baboon preys is near the camp. The chalet is at day inhabited by bats but very comfortable! You have no chance but to love this place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank solarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

3 nights at Oddballs Enclave but we were ready for more! Excellent flight out into the Delta with a splendid overview of this mysterious area and first sightings of animals. The trip to the Enclave is a little contrived - it's only a few dozen metres from the airstrip but is done "the long way round" by mokoro - but it is a magical way to get down and personal with the water, the reeds and the wildlife. The lack of internal combustion engines and the silence are real pluses - the mokoro trips were endlessly fascinating and peaceful. Walks were a delight with a helpful guide (though his pronunciation of bird names made it a challenge - and I was pretty familiar with most of them!!).
The tents were fine - this isn't "top end" camping but we didn't want that. The beds are good and there is perfectly adequate space to move around within the tent - why would you want to be inside anyway when there are the sights and sounds of the African bush to be enjoyed? We soon got used to the loo and shower under the stars. Lying in bed and seeing the first flush of dawn through the mesh flaps was breathtaking. One night I sat outside with the guide and we watched shooting stars against the Milky Way.
Catering was excellent - the food produced from the small kitchen was splendid - thank you Florence and Georgina - though the lamb chops were VERY well done!
Although only elephants,hippos and giraffes seen in terms of big game this was a precursor to South Luangwa and was an introduction to African wildlife. Bird life was great, even on the verandah of the camp, and elephants got very close - even damaging the hot water pipes one night!
I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to see the Okavango and its ecosystems - but don't expect to see BIG game.
Qualifications - apart from the lamb chops - solar power means limited lighting in the evenings and it was not a secure supply. The addition of another battery or two cannot be beyond the ability of the site operators and would ensure a more comfortable evening/night. Also. the camp "manager" and guides ate with the guests. We learned some interesting history of Botswana and the Delta but, just occasionally, it felt as though we were being chaperoned - we weren't, it's just the feeling I had.
Oddballs Enclave is a much smaller and more intimate experience than the larger camp and I would have no hesitation in saying that, for us, it was an infinitely better choice. We loved it - the peace and tranquility of the views from the verandah and the mokoro trips have to be experienced to be believed. The flights in and out are just a bonus.

Room Tip: There are only 5 tents - all have a view over the reedbeds and are a reasonable distance from each o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We started our trip with two nights in oddballs enclave and loved it. The plane trip in was spectacular. On arrival we were welcomed warmly and introduced to KG our guide for our stay - who was amazing! We saw hippos, giraffe, elephants, zebra, wilderbeast, baboons, antelope n so many more. We loved the slow pace as it allowed us to see things we wouldn't have such as frogs,insects and small flowers as we glided in the mokoro. Loved the elephant eating the tree while I was in the outdoor shower and the experience of hiding in the reeds as a herd of elephants crossed the water in front of us.
The food was plain bit nice and plentiful, the alcohol was included and the choice quite reasonable.
We loved it, but we love outdoor adventure. It was up close n personal with nature. It wasn't 5 star but we loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Lodging: We had a tent with mattress on an elevated platform. The tent was a little tight but it worked and we had a lovely view of the delta from our porch. The weather was cool but we were warm enough inside. I wonder if you'd be too hot in the summer months?? The bucket shower was a novelty but worked as well as any other shower, I didn't even use my whole bucket.

Hospitality and food: The meals were simple but good and they offered a custom hot breakfast which is not always available at more pricey lodges. The staff was friendly and very casual.

The location: They are located right on top of the water. It was very peaceful to sit in the lounge or viewing deck and watch the water. The sunsets were really great. There is a lot of wildlife activity right in camp at night, particularly hippos. Our guide was from the local village so he had all of the local knowledge and was great for our mokoro and walking hikes. You may not see giant herds of game here, but the walks are very intimate and a refreshing change from the game drives.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wayfaringviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The three days and nights at Oddballs were one of the highlights of a three week tour through Botswana, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The Oddballs experience began with the twenty minute Delta Air light aircraft flight from Maun and landing at Oddballs airstrip. The welcome and reception set us immediately at ease. The accommodation in raised tents was basic but comfortable and the open to the sky en-suite facilities amusing but functional. The food was far from gourmet but was tasty and plentiful - breakfasts were more than adequate. The twice a day mokoro - dug out canoe - rides and the walks were, to me, pure magic even though there was not an abundance of game to view - the numbers and variety of game apparently change week by week . Skimming along the smooth crystal-clear water at surmise and sunset was an experience of a lifetime. Our guides and camp staff were caring, knowledgable, interesting, friendly and entertaining. It was a fantastic once in a lifetime experience that which I do not think I will be able to repeat. The price of wines may come as a shock at the end of the stay but other drinks are reasonably priced! Loved every minute - on the water, on land, in the camp, sitting around the camp fire, taking in the sounds and sunsets.

Room Tip: Remember your torch - preferably a head torch - as the solar powered tent lights are not reliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToGangAwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Oddballs Camp is better located than the more expensive Enclave. Breakfast is served around 11 am after morning walk and mokoro ride - basic but adequate – lunch around 2.30pm and dinner around 8pm. Meals were simple but very tasty. The staff at Oddballs Enclave are very friendly and helpful. We have never used a bucket shower before so that was a first! There was no water in the ensuite on one night, (apparently due to an oversight by the maintenance guy!) and this could not be fixed until 6am the next day which I felt was not good enough considering the cost. Hopefully this will not happen again! The place needs a bit of maintenance in general – the zip to our “door” was broken and could not be fixed. Would have been good if the flares along the path are lit at night to make it easier to walk back to the tent after dinner. Two nights is more than enough at this place. In spite of all the negatives, we enjoyed our stay as it was different from any place we have stayed at before.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thilakawathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I just stayed for 2 nights in Oddballs lodge at their honeymoon suite. It should rather be called Batcave as it is the dwelling of over 10 of those and lots of wasps, spiders and flies. I wonder who would like to spend their honeymoon in such a place. To complete the picture, we had no hot water. Activities are quite limited to short mokoro rides and long infrutiferous walks. Pony and the staff do a great job with the resources they have but for the price charged I expected more. The camp needs urgent renovation and more attention to details. Food is simple but quite good. Wine is bad. My advice: spend a bit more and choose one of the many Wilderness Safaris lodges. It is a world of difference. Delta has no idea of what great customer service is.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
0 km away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#9 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
62 reviews
0 km away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#16 of 73 in Okavango Delta
203 reviews
0 km away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#4 of 73 in Okavango Delta
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#4 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
243 reviews
0 km away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#20 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
0 km away
Jumbo Junction Camp
Jumbo Junction Camp
#52 of 73 in Okavango Delta
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddballs' Palm Island Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddballs' Palm Island Luxury Lodge

Address: Chief's Island, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: $988 - $1,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Oddballs Palm Island Hotel Okavango Delta
Oddballs' Palm Island Luxury Lodge Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing