We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
44
3
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
3
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews couples massage the perfect spot on premises kitchen sink lovely couples park the car the owner hiking trail metro north train rooms are beautiful fourth floor hudson valley main street my boyfriend glass of wine boutique hotel high ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 52 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2018

We went to Beacon to check out the town and train down to the city for a few days. We are glad we chose The Inn an Spa at Beacon. The staff members were great from the start, helping to get our car parked and offering help with our luggage. Our 4th floor room in this traditional-looking, but brand-new elevator building was spacious and had everything we needed. The walk-in, stone tiled shower and excellent queen bed with a big window and beautiful shades, lighting the room were highlights. These were joined by a well chosen writing desk and chair, occasional chair, and discreetly placed flat screen TV. A nice carryout breakfast was served from 8 to 10 am. On the advice of Roger, the owner and architect of the hotel, we had a great dinner at Armacord, only a short walk away. Although We didn't try the spa facilities, we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, which is within walking distance of the Metro North station and all the shops, galleries and restaurants of Beacon's vibrant Main Street.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2018

My husband and I booked a midweek stay at the Inn for our first trip to Beacon. The Inn itself is lovely - well-decorated, clean and right in the middle of town. We booked a room on the top floor in the back with a small balcony, which was ideal for afternoon wine or morning coffee. We met the owner, Roger, in the solarium, and he let us know about rooftop yoga that night (which we would have loved to have done, but had other commitments) and upcoming plans for music/dancing on the roof as well. We both had fantastic massages from Melissa and Liz, and my husband commented that it was one of the best he's ever had. Definitely will be returning!

Room Tip: 4th floor room in back was away from the street and had a balcony
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank medeaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2018

This Inn is quirky, because of how the facilities are provided. No room service, but only water flask provided in lobby for tea only. The breakfast is laid out in the lobby, but you need to take it up to the 4th floor to seat down and eat. The rooms have the wash basin inside the bedroom, so very inconvenient when using the toilet. The staff are very pleasant, and the hotel is very clean and tidy. The air conditioning is controlled from the lobby receptionist, which is very awkward if you want to adjust in the night. However very expensive.

Room Tip: go for the main suite
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2018

Pros:
A comfortable bed
Good shower
A quiet and overall, a good size room

Cons:
No natural light (well, let's say there are glass bricks which are funnelling a small amount of light in). Also, no window to open to aid in freshening the air or controlling the temperature. The room was much too hot, and the thermostat we had did not affect the room at all.

The bed was small given the size of the room (only a double).

A woman by the name of Nadine checked us in, and it seemed like it was the first time she'd ever checked anyone in. She seemed off with the fairies. Now, this was a shame as the other woman who we saw on the front desk was lovely.

After much ado with prior emails, we were unable to book a spa appointment. This was after being told we could pick our time, and it was completely open, to then being told someone wasn't working that day then being told later that there was now someone to perform the treatment. That's all and well, but by that time, we'd made plans.

We met the owner by chance after our first night, and he pressured us to leave a positive review (specifically on Tripadvisor and Yelp) and had no interest in hearing our spa booking issue. Also, this was prompted by him asking how things were. He wasn't listening. Also, this was after the first night - so more than a bit pushy!

The bathroom sink was located in the bedroom, and overall, the room was not well thought out with the new fit out. A tiny TV was in the room as well, and if it had at least been mounted on the wall, it would have covered the unsightly wall socket. In a room of this size, there was nowhere for two people to both sit, and the bed doesn't count. The wardrobe wasn't fit for purpose. It was very shallow so that you couldn't hang clothes up properly. Would have been better fitting some hooks inside a cabinet and using the vertical space better.

Overall, this venue could be great with some fine tuning. Would I return? No - the price point does not match the quality of service provided. Plus, I had booked here so that we could have used the "spa" with ease. I can't rate the spa, but given it was just two treatment rooms, I feel that calling this a spa is false advertising.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger G, Owner at The Inn And Spa At Beacon, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2018

Dear Daniel,
I'm so very sorry that you were dissatisfied with your Snuggery Room. We have three of this room type in the hotel. Some guests love them for the filtered light, and others prefer to book one of our other rooms which have operable windows and more direct sunlight and views, but cost more. These three Snuggery glass block window rooms are supplied with fresh outside air through a mechanical system. The beds are actually regulation queen beds, 60"X80". We don't have double beds in the hotel. Most of all, I am sorry that you were unable to book a spa during your stay with us. Our spa is very popular and we do fill up early. We recommend that all guests book their spas in advance to avoid disappointment. I'm so sorry that you didn't get the chance to enjoy the spa.
. You are correct: Nadine our new front desk associate was just learning her job. She progresses every day, and she always does her best. I'm sorry that her learning curve caused you inconvenience. We regard every criticism as an opportunity to improve. Thanks for your kind and constructive suggestions. Regards, Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2018

We are so happy that we found this beautiful little oasis in Beacon! It was the perfect getaway for us. The staff was wonderful. They made us feel so at home. The rooms are beautiful, quiet, and tasteful. The bathrooms are elegant, with large stone showers and plenty of water pressure. The views from the roof deck are magnificent. We will be back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 149diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews