We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chrystie House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Beacon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at the Chrystie House B&B over the weekend of August 25 and 26, 2012. Had booked it a month earlier off the web. What a joy to behold upon arrival! Yuan Lee is a talented, charming and delightful host/owner with a total desire to see that his guests are comfortable and pleased with their stay.

Room Tip: With four great rooms to pick from, it's all a matter of taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

It took me forever to write this review, but I can't stop thinking about how great this place was.. It all starts with the owner who has true passion for this bed and breakfast--he has put his heart and soul into staying true to the historical aspects of the house. The rooms are so well done, and super interesting. The breakfast was so tasty, and the owner makes sure you have everything you need.

My boyfriend and I wanted a quiet, relaxing NYE weekend away from the busy city and we definitely got it....Beacon has a cute downtown, and nice little river to take a look at-- during the winter everything was picturesque...I highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This B&B grew on us the longer we stayed (three nights). Run by Mr. Lee, an artist, historian and man of many talents, he definitely aims to please. One example: he hops a cab into town every morning to bring back a freshly made breakfast from one of Beacon's best caterers. There's fresh fruit salad, a soft buttery croissant, a moist scone and a rich quiche. All very tasty and pleasantly presented.
The historic house is tastefully decorated (no precious trinkets or doodads) with an amazing library of art books.
We'd definitely stay again--and recommend it to friends who want to visit the area--but are only giving Chrystie's four stars because it's still a little rough around the edges. For example, the porch didn't seem to have been cleaned up since the previous visitors (cans of peanuts and dirty dishes were still on the table the first night we went to sit there). And the grounds, potentially beautiful on several acres, were a bit weedy and unkempt, although Mr. Lee has clearly spent a lot of time building a beautiful patio and stone walls. Seems like it has some growing-up to become a full-fledged, five-star B&B. But it's close.
Although not really walking distance to Beacon's Main Street, it is a close drive there--and to other nearby Hudson River Valley attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vatravelingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrystieHouse, Owner at Chrystie House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

I thank the encouraging review very much. I want to use the opportunity to apology to all the guests who had stayed in Chrystie House in the last two weeks of July who had walked around the ground with the conditions described on this review. The mother nature had imposed challenges for this innkeeper, and the business as usual type of the landscape contractors who had been maintaining the site: the early July heat/drought had scorched more than two acres of lawn here, the routine maintaining works had been executed by a team of workers who equipped with lawnmowers, trimmers and blowers, had been suspended by the contractor twice, the following two weeks of stormy weather conditions, not only made the recovering lawn grew unevenly, but also let all kinds of weeds, especially some newly invaded species, grew in an unbelievable pace. Realized that I could no longer depend on the process oriented contractors or myself to handle the situations, I have renegotiated the contract and contacted a few local caretakers who in this moment are working hard to make the property looks right again.
I understand the expectations from you, the guests I so enjoyed to have, and want to tell you that I am committed to do everything I can to deserve your continue supports.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have never stayed at a bed and breakfast but this experience will ensure a return visit. I have never felt so welcomed and comfortable. The inn keeper is so kind and a wealth of history and experience - we loved talking with him. Breakfast was perfect on the beautiful patio with nature surrounding us. We as patrons are lucky to have someone willing to restore and maintain our American history and keep it personable. My husband and I will be sure to encourage anyone who will listen to visit. I just loved it!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bobbi1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The owner and host, Yuan Lee, couldn't have been more accommodating at this beautiful English-styled bed and breakfast. The three-course breakfast he served on his patio was fantastic --fresh fruit, pastries and quiche, and OJ and coffee. A perfect way to start your day. (I also recommend bringing a bottle of wine to enjoy on the patio in the afternoon.) Coming from the City, I couldn't have been happier in such a serene and quiet setting. There is a nearby waterfall one can easily walk to, and getting to Main Street is a $6 cab ride (if you don't have a car). Anytime I visit Beacon, I will be sure to stay with Yuan.

Room Tip: We stayed in the William Few room -- and very much enjoyed the tempurpedic mattress, the only one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy-Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Great house and gardens. Breakfast included pastries and fruit. Very quiet bedrooms. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We reserved all four bedrooms in this beautifully restored B&B for a family reunion. Yuan Lee is an incredibly thoughtful and interesting host.
He is justifiably proud of this "work of art", and it is also delightful, as well, to see the other works of art, his beautiful paintings, through out the house. Because one member of our group is a vegetarian Yuan ordered a special quiche for our breakfast which also included fresh fruit salad, cranberry scones, orange juice, and really good coffee. The house is spotless,and in a lovely setting. We will go back there for sure!
PS. We saw two flat brown bugs while we were there....NO MORE ! After all when one is in the country one can expect some some sort of insect life! We live in NYC...goodness knows what sort of creatures lurk in some hotels here !

Room Tip: Each room is unique.Look at Yuan`s site online...the photos are very good. So just read about bed si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank citycat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beacon
1.6 km away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
13 km away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,048 reviews
7.7 km away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Roundhouse
Roundhouse
#2 of 2 in Beacon
195 reviews
14 km away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
469 reviews
33.6 km away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrystie House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrystie House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 300 South Ave, Beacon, NY 12508-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Beacon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beacon
Price Range: $286 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chrystie House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chrystie House Hotel Beacon
Chrystie House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing