We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Big Indian, Catskill Region, New York

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WestTrave...
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great cabins but pretty views”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The outdoors at this place are great but the interiors of the cabins and the pool need work. Our cabin was VERY rundown, the bathroom needs a complete overhaul. The toilet causes puddles on the floor, the toilet seat was peeling, the bathroom wall had holes in it and tthe flooring was coming apart. The beds were very uncomfortable, the kitchen was poorly stocked. The dishes were put away dirty so we ended up having to clean everything again. Didn't have enough cups/dished and had to ask for more.

---On a side note, the management staff was wonderful! They took time to answer questions and get us stuff we needed.

--Note: Owners should put a little more money into repairs/better beds and you would have the NYC folks coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The interior of the cabin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank M
Washington, District of Columbia, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cabins with room for improvement”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cabin is one among 6 that are placed closely together on the large plot. If you are looking for a secluded cabin this is not the place. The beds are really bad - the springs will make themselves felt in a very uncomfortable way. These issues aside, the cabins are situated with a view to the mountains and there is plenty to explore within short driving distances. The host was very helpfull.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
We appreciate Frank's review though it took us by surprise. This guest originally booked 2 nights then asked if they could book 2 more and stay longer. There was never a complaint about the beds while the guest was here and though we were not able to give them 2 more nights, we did accommodate their request for the 3rd. night. To all guests I say: "If you have a problem with a visit, let the inn keeper know immediately and give them an opportunity to address it while you are there instead of waiting until after your trip is ended." Most of us would move earth and sky to help our guests have the happiest experience possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexaCell...
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Everything was spontaneous, we found Lodge on internet the day before the arrival, called the same day of stay and got a cabin with 2 bedrooms for 4ppl. The hostess was welcoming and friendly, she even gave us coal, grill to make BBQ for free. Also there was firewood for our use that we didn't expect to have and bought some prior the stay. The cabin had everything we wished to have plates, silverware, paper towels, microwave, soap for washing the dishes. That is amazing!!! We had everything we would wish for! Ans of course beautiful view, fresh air and quietness))) We will definitely come back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
celticmtn...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed, dirty & cobwebs, no wood or towels; felt Scott inexperienced but was trying hard.”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Scott was very friendly & seemed to try hard, but needs experience, did bring towela & 3 pieces wood. Hot water was on "vacation" so we all got cold showers. Cabin was dirty, cobwebs, mold on shower curtain, dishes were food dirty from someone else. Very disapppointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We greatly appreciate it. Once again, we strongly apologize for the uncomfortable experience. Our property manager left unexpectedly and we were not properly prepared. We wish you told us about the cleanliness during your one night stay so that we could take care of it. We have hired a new property manager with strong experience. All cabins are clean and upgraded. We hope you will give us another chance by coming back to stay with us. We are confident your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and a great experience.

Cold Spring Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacobstil...
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing to think about”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you're giving any thought as to whether or not you should book a cabin at the Cold Spring Lodge, don't bother. There is absolutely nothing to think about. This has to be one of the best locations in the catskills. It is isolated enough to enjoy peaceful days and nights without any of the chaos of the outside world. A true getaway from the city and suburbs. Take your family. My son loved this place. The owners are very friendly and are in the process of fixing this place up to become one of the finest cabin rentals in the Catskills. That being said, although some aspects of this place are dated, it is clean. What more can you ask for if you're looking for a stay in a rustic cabin. Go, enjoy and forget about your worries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery, night sky
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Reviewed 9 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing