We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful creek side cabin, near great...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The sunroom overlooks the Birch Creek
No need to go to an orchard... Please pick some tasty apples right in our front yard.
Please pick some tasty apples right in our front yard. We have 5 apple trees!
Professional Garland oven/stove
Our house is the star. You can see how close we are to Belleayre Ski Center and the Lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Big Indian, Catskill Region, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MB F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful creek side cabin, near great restaurants & fall hiking”
Reviewed December 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our midweek stay here. Tiny problem when we arrived that Stefan was able to solve instantly by phone. You can really tell how much Stefan & Sean love their house; it was attractive, comfy, immaculately clean and well stocked with all the basics. Definitely start your day with a cup of coffee on the sun porch overlooking the creek! Near some great restaurants, but if you’re there midweek, be aware that Wednesday seems to be the day that many of them close. The whole experience was just lovely, only wish we had planned to stay longer. Would try here first if we go back to this part of the state.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caitriona...
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Omg ! What can I say about this hidden gem! Stefans cabin is beautiful , immaculately kept, cutest deck with the creek babbling beneath you, it's a dream.
Location couldn't be better , 10 mins to Phoenicia one of americas nicest towns with fabulous restaurants that would make you think you are in manhattan , Phoenician steakhouse and tavern 214 were our favourites! Hunter mountain a scenic 30min drive , big Indian mountain great for hikes only 10mins away ..
check in / check out , quick and easy , Stefan is on hand for any questions you might have.
I highly recommend this cabin for a weekend break or longer if you're able , you won't regret it :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy log cabin close to lake”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The stay at the log cabin was the 1st part of our tour of NY state ( followed by NYC & then Long Island). It was a great start -the log cabin was very comfy, the bedrooms were a good size, the shower worked well & we made use of the oven/ kitchen. We arrived very late at night from the UK ( having picked up a friend from NYC at the airport) but were soon able to recover & relax. We loved the lake iwalking distance up the road where we swam & paddleborded. We also walked to Peekamoose restaurant where we had the best meal of the trip. We had fab pancakes at Sues in Phoenicia & also did a yoga class at the yoga house. Our highlight was watching the eclipse at nearby Kaaterskill waterfalls - amazing. We spoke on the phone to Stefan/Sean when we had a small problem which they were quickly resolved & were very helpful. Stefan kindly told us that some glasses had been left behind ( my daughter's)which he kindly posted to us.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marelisz
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Creekside cabin”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our family a great weekend at the cabin. Is well situated in our favorite part of the catskills. Cabin is well stoked with everything you need. At night we'd enjoyed the cozy fireplace. Our favorite part was definitely the dining room looking out to beautiful creek. Close to restaurants and supermarket. The owner was very helpful and comunication was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timekeepe...
Riverview, FL
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Everything we were looking for”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Email correspondence before ad after booking made us feel comfortable with out first time booking a cabin like this.
A house manual sent to us well ahead of our stay included everything from how to find the place to how to react to a bear encounter!
When we stepped inside for the first time, we were blown away by how spacious the place was. As we checked around we discovered how completely furnished it was.
It was so quiet and dark at night! We all slept very well. The beds are comfortable.
We did not use the outdoor fire pit because it was cold outside at night, but we had a fire going in the fireplace all evening every evening and loved it!
The sun room was my favorite place to sit and drink coffee in the mornings. Watching the water rush over the rocks, and the birds and chipmunks playing right outside the windows was entertaining and relaxing.
We enjoyed it so much that we arranged to stay an additional evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fireplace and sunroom
Liked least: that our visit was so short
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs.”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Such a Beautiful house and well equipped! Great for kids too and Close to slopes. Would definitely go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iasiandaw
Queens, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place I'd ever stayed!”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Owners are wonderful!
Their home is very homely! Very Clean! Easy to keep up. A beautiful view. We enjoyed our self so much we went back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing