We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy&Friendly”
Review of Pickle Hill B&B

Pickle Hill B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Binghamton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pickle Hill B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Binghamton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 February 2010

My husband and I stayed as a mini excursion while our son was at his grand-parents for the night. We wanted something relaxed, easy and comfortable. The B&B was very convenient as it is right downtown, but is in a pleasant residential district on a quiet street. The room was clean and comfortable, there was a mountain of soft pillows on the bed and the flannel sheets were a nice touch in February. Our room was right across the hall from the bathroom which was quite large, and there were plenty of clean towels. We were also offered the use of a sitting room with a television and the porch. We got excellent directions and advice on restaurants and had no trouble getting back in after 10pm. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, the morning papers were set out and we never even had to pour the coffee ourselves. There is simply no comparison price wise, any other room in town would have been twice as much and we would not have gotten the same attentive personalized service.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartlebyIthaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2010

Tom and Leslie are experts in hospitality. Their bed and breakfast is not lavish, but very comfortable. On a quiet street, they made sure we had everything we needed in a peaceful surrounding. The beds were comfortable, the rooms as warm or cool as you prefer, the shower hot, and a fresh pot of coffee awaited every morning when we awoke. Tom and Leslie went out of their way making sure we enjoyed our stay, and even welcomed additional family members on our last day for a scrumptious breakfast of apple stuffed french toast. Thank you for making our stay even better!
Jeff and Lisa Smith

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irjagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

I traveled to Binhamton with a team mate and stayed at Pickle Hill B&B the day before our athletic event.
The owners were very friendly and gave us very sound advise regarding places to go and very good directions to wherever we wanted to go.
The room was clean and it had everything we needed.
We needed to depart early and they had no problem having breakfast ready at 7:00 AM. Breakfast was good and abundant.
Needless to say that the price was more than reasonable.
It was a nice experience and we would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank fencingdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

My girlfriends and I were looking for an inexpensive, simple B&B to have a weekend get-together and booked 3 rooms at Pickle Hill B&B. the owner told me we would have the house to ourselves and we could bring cold drinks to put in their fridge if we wished. When we arrived, we pulled into the driveway and followed the path to the back door. One look at the piles of clutter on every surface, covered with years of dust ,and we knew we should've run, but the owner came to greet us and proceeded to scold us for coming to the "servants' quarters" door. He then collected himself, made polite conversation, and carried our luggage around to the front entrance. Walking through the door, I saw nothing that looked like the bright and airy rooms on their website - rather, I saw crummy brown shag carpeting and dark paneled walls and furniture, and a dreary, dark, depressing house. I felt like we'd stepped into the 70's at its worst. But we thought we'd make the best of it and stay the one night. The rooms were clean, thankfully, but the towels were old and musty and rack-dried; my bed sheets were a mismatched topsheet thrown over the old, pilly mattress pad, with another topsheet and cat-pulled blanket over; the bathroom was dark, old barnwood, with a torn shower curtain and extra towels stored by the toilet (how sanitary!). When I inquired if there would be half-n-half for our coffee, he said he had those little packets but 'you have to shake them up because they separate'! Needless to say, I bought some fresh and asked him to use ours. The clincher was the third room which was basically a walk in closet behind the bathroom, where that guest would have to lock himself in and we would have to lock him out of the bathroom, his only way out! The final straw...when the owner said he was going to have a male guest come in Sat. night to use that room, we decided we were outa there. Oh, and the fridge he offered for our use? When he very hesitantly allowed us to go into the kitchen to get our drinks, and we saw the entire rest of the house was a cluttered, dirty mess, we knew there was no way we were eating food there. These people have no business calling themselves a B&B. Yuck... I'm still skeeved.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Weezie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinghamtonSourpuss, Owner/operator at Pickle Hill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2007

It was recently called to our attention that we were given a poor review recently on the TripAdvisor site. We were appalled at the report Weezie01 gave about us! To be fair I want to point out that there are bed and breakfast people that understand what b and b's are and there are guests who are not so informed. Weezieo1 obviously is not and my husband had a sense of that.
Had I been available that weekend perhaps her experiance would have been different but after reading her following report of going to the local Comfort Inn, I am glad she found a more suitable room. I bet she paid more than 33 dollars a night too. She can be "skeeved" all she wants, but it doesnt come close to how we feel about her response to the discounted rate she asked for and recieved.
We now know not to come home with paperwork we must do while waiting for guests to arrive and to keep private areas locked so no one will have access to our office and living quarters. Yes, we are angry that after doing this business for almost 20 years, we had to encounter someone as petty and ill natured as she was.
Thank you for providing this forum so people can hear the other side of the story.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindaroeikjaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Binghamton hotels
4.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
4.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
205 reviews
1.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Binghamton
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickle Hill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickle Hill B&B

Address: 795 Chenango St, Binghamton, NY 13901-1844
Region: United States > New York > Binghamton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Binghamton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Pickle Hill Hotel Binghamton
Pickle Hill Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing