We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hipster irish bar!”
Review of An Beal Bocht Cafe

An Beal Bocht Cafe
Ranked #70 of 1,580 Restaurants in Bronx
Cuisines: Deli, Irish
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

On a 5 day spree in NY from Ireland, my relations brought me here. Expecting the standard tacky irish interior it was nicely kitted out, plenty of attention to detail and more of a hipster feel. The addition of intimate music made it special. Perfect place to sink a few ales

Thank Cianwhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PackieJoe, Guest Relations Manager at An Beal Bocht Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We are blushing. Hope to see you again when you visit NYC .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2016

Whats' a trip to the Northwest Bronx without a visit to the Beal?! It is definitely no Michelin star dining experience, but it's totally iconic.

They can accomodate groups, it's toally casual. My running club often goes here to chill after a race in Van Cortlandt.

I love walking by there on St Patrick's day morning and seeing all the guys in their kilts, with chartered buses outside , "preparing" for their role in the parade.

I cannot attest to the folk music at night, but my friend is a buff of that, and reports well on it. People actually commute up to Riverdale from all over the city to chill at the Beal.

Menu is pub grub, old school. Nachos, burgers. That sort of thing. You go here for the atmosphere.

I wish they'd get some gluten free beer, but in the meantime they have two kinds of cider.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank holly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PackieJoe, Guest Relations Manager at An Beal Bocht Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Thank you for your kind words . We would like to note that also on St. Patrick's Day , we have the worlds shortest St. Patrick's Day Parade , a grueling 47 feet and all monies made that day/ night goes to help fund the Irish Volunteers for the Homeless .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2016

Visited this charming neighborhood cafe on a hot Sunday afternoon in August -- literally seconds off the Henry Hudson Parkway, in the Bronx -- and caught some of the very best Irish traditional music anywhere, anytime: world-class button accordionist John Redmond and terrific guitarist Matt Diaz and flutist (whose name I didn't catch, sorry!) just killing it. Even if you're not familiar with this music, its energy is undeniable. Incredible to have this treasure and these superstars right here, for the price of a Guinness or cup of tea. The ambiance is relaxed: books, posters, other no-frills but high-humor/history decor. Waitstaff friendly and welcoming, and the cafe fills with appreciative regulars of all ages, from infants to very senior. A great vibe. Bravo -- and thanks -- to the management for contributing so generously to the culture scene in New York.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank MimiManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PackieJoe, Guest Relations Manager at An Beal Bocht Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Thank you. That flute player was Sean Tierney of the world famous trad group Girsa . John Redmond indeed does bring the best Irish Trad musicians here each Sunday .
We are one of the few venues left that encourage original music and world music .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Looks like a bar in old time Ireland. Good beer and spirit choices. Irish Breakfast/brunch every day late into day. Veggie Irish breakfast with mushrooms and beans is great.

Thank CatelynnNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PackieJoe, Guest Relations Manager at An Beal Bocht Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Thank you for your kind review .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2015 via mobile

I've been here several times and always enjoy my meal. The beer menu has several local selection this time I has blue point lager from Long Island very drinkable. Our hostess Anna was terrific and attentive she handled the bar as well as waited on tables she was great. My meal was delicious, this has to be the best Irish bar in the Bronx go and enjoy.

Thank Laurabob52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed An Beal Bocht Cafe also viewed

 

Been to An Beal Bocht Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing