We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“awesome location awesome people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn on the Lake
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Canandaigua
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome location awesome people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

The service is "can I say" amazing. At check in I met with Amy and She was a treasure. Got the room I asked for and loved restaurant. I know that this hotel can do events. I have had a number here and Lori can do everything. As someone who has used the property many times. I was so pleased to find that staying here is even nicer!

Room Tip: Ask for something not facing parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    146
    63
    30
    24
See reviews for
84
154
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I loved this hotel. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The suite was well appointed, the beds very comfortable. My room looked out on Lake Canandaigua, so it was a wonderful view.
The meal for the group lunch was well-prepared, and the waitress was able to accomodate my request for a special meal within ten minutes.
Located across the parking lot is the world famous NY Wine and Culinary Center, a must see for your Finger Lakes trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGKramb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

I booked 2 lake view rooms in the second week of June to bring company from out of town there. The location is ideal because it is right on the water, theres a pool, several places to eat on the property, a spa and a short drive to the main drag of Canandaigua which really is a cute little town. I booked these rooms way in advance (which you have to do to get a lake view room as there arent many and in wedding season they book up fast) and our "lake view" rooms where located directly in front of the pool. Sure you can see the water over the pool but these lakeview rooms are pricey compared to the reg rooms and of course there was a wedding on the premises so all the other lakeview rooms were booked. Also an imp note is if there is a wedding going on and you have a lake side room it can get quite noisey into the night so be aware of that. Since there is also a lakeside bar it can even get loud without a wedding going on. The last night we were there it rained very heavily and the area in front of one of our patios was all flooded. Service and food was all very good and we still had fun but I walked away feeling like I overpaid for the rooms. My advice: get a 2nd floor lakeview room and book waay in advance, and be aware there may be outdoor noise and if you can't beat em join em!

Room Tip: Book early for a lakeside room, get it on the second floor (there are only 2 floors) or if they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echodoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
472 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel, while in a very good location, needs a lot of work. The room we had was very tight for the two of us. It appeared to have been updated sometime in its history, but still need a lot. The Inn is next door to the New York Wine & Culinary Center, but a bit farther to the business district. We found plenty of free parking in the business district.
Hotel staff were generally friendly and helpful. One of the hotel restaurants that signs said was open was not. The main restaurant seemed to be quite expensive and had an unappealing menu.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed on a Friday night in August...our 'standard price' room actually had a great view of the canal and lake (from the side of the Inn), and was clean, comfortable and inviting. Best part of the Inn was the fun scene in the evening at the outdoor bar and restaurant- they had a live band and many people were dancing, or just sitting back and enjoying the music and beautiful scene with a drink (food was decent, not special, but not bad either). Lobby was very pretty, and the front desk staff were friendly and professional. The Inn is only a minute walk from the NY State Wine and Culinary center- highly recommended! There are a few restaurants and shops nearby, and you can take long walks along the lake...tons of amazing wineries all within minutes drive. Only complaint was the room service- took an hour for them just to take our order & when the food arrived (breakfast-eggs, toast, sausage), it was cold and bland....we will still go back though since it was overall a great place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EAmering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, Maryland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

I was at this hotel about 8 years ago in the winter for a ski trip and had a great view of the lake. I was there just last weekend and things have changed.
They have a beautiful lobby area with fireplace and lounge chairs and large windows that look out toward the lake, but the view is blocked by a "big white tent". If you walk down the hall to the restaurant you'll find a very nice, open dining area with large windows that look out to a "big white tent". Many of the rooms also have their views blocked by the "big white tent"
The room was nice but missing many of the things found in hotels today. No "frig" or microwave. Small bathroom. One thing I did liked was the centeral heat and air system. Not one of those loud under the window units that wake you up all night.
But back to the restaurant. Prices seemed to high. Service was poor at best. Breakfast buffet was always cold. Wait staff just seemed to ignore you unless you stood up and waved your napkin.
I would try something different next time.

Room Tip: Ask about the "big white tent".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiwithapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCHESTER NY
Level Contributor
252 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Many of the rooms with lake side/ lake view are actually given a view partially blocked by large catering wedding tent installed all summer on shore. Resstaurant Max's very nice, we ate on veranda... With view more of tent and marina than lake. We had nice Irish coffee out on the dock with the nice adirondack chairs. Rather disappointing quality small coffee maker in room of upscale hotel.... In this day of small Keurig type machines. Overall, very nice place, but less than the 5 star trip we hoped for. The notice in the rooms about "we will assess a really high charge if you take a towel" was a bit brusque!

Room Tip: Many of the rooms with lake side/ lake view are actually given a view partially blocked by large cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueMaxx14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
24.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
30.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
#1 of 2 in Fairport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.8 km away
Super 8 Canandaigua
Super 8 Canandaigua
#5 of 13 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.2 km away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Property: The Inn on the Lake
Address: 770 S Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-2296
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake has distinguished itself as a unique year-round getaway for business events and personal relaxation. Nestled on the shore of Canandaigua Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes region, The Inn on the Lake combines traditional warmth and elegance with modern-day conveniences unlike typical Canandaigua Hotels. The Inn on the Lake in Canandaigua, New York, features a wide range of indoor and outdoor event space and packages to suit New York wedding events ranging in size from 25 - 250 guest. Canandaigua is a Seneca Indian word meaning "The Chosen Spot." When you see the breathtaking beauty of Canandaigua Lake you will know why so many brides and grooms choose The Inn on the Lake to begin their lives together. As a guest of The Inn on the Lake, you will find yourself in the center of an incredible range of unique attractions. Our staff will guide you to the activities of your choice - whether you're an outdoor enthusiast, wine aficionado, history buff, shopper or arts and crafts lover. At the end of each day, join us for terrific dining at The Shore, our dining room, or lakeside at the Sand Bar Lounge. Watch the sun set over the lake, sample our world-class wine, and plan your next adventure at The Inn on the Lake Resort & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Canandaigua
Hotel On The Lake
Lake Canandaigua
On The Lake Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing